We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPI M/C Rally wknd” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Copa Inn Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% Discount
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“SPI M/C Rally wknd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Thanks to the Promoter of the event and the reason we were in S.Padre...the accommodations were great. You have to love a room that does not have carpet in it (tile), not that it would make any sense being so close to the beach. All balconies are on the N or S sides of the hotel, you can see the beach (leaning out from your balcony) but as far as beach view rooms-none. Memory foam mattresses, wonderfully soft comforter, mini fridge & microwaves, plenty of room and the rooms smell great too! Large baths with large towels. Morning breakfast goes fast, but the homemade waffles (by staff) were great & lg. portions. Tip jar for the breakfast room staff, so leave something for them. Clean, well-staffed, would stay again. DO take a walk down the wooden walkway from the hotel to the beach in the early morning for some great sunrise pictures....

Room Tip: Stay off the first floor, too much traffic, quieter on the third.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We are glad you have enjoyed your stay at La Copa Inn and that the accommodations were as expected. It was a pleasure to our staff to have had you. Thank you again for choosing La Copa Inn and we hope see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    116
    62
    34
    37
See reviews for
109
104
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temple, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Love the beds. They are so comfortable. The hotel was clean and everyone was friendly and helpful. The breakfast area was crowded though. The hotel has a convenient boardwalk to the beach. Great hotel for the price!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Starla33,

Thank you for choosing La Copa and taking the time to share your experience. We are very happy to know you loved our comfortable beds and our friendly staff. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see your again soon.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel is an average stay. The breakfast is average (scrambled eggs, tortillas, waffles, bagels and toast, re-fried beans, apples, oranges, bananas, muffins, juices, and coffee). The hallways are not air-conditioned. My room had two queen beds.The room was big and has beds along with a little sitting area with two chairs and a small sofa). The room itself is fine however, the bathroom is a different story. When I first arrived, the toilet bowl was not as clean as one would expect it to be. If you want maid service, you have to put a little door hanger on your door handle. I thought the bathroom would be cleaned a bit better after the maid had left but when I came back it hadn't changed much. Like I said before, this hotel is average but the only good thing about it is that it is along the beach and has beach access. This is definitely a plus. The hotel also gave us complimentary happy hour (3-6pm) drink passes per person. The choices for this complimentary drink are limited: draft beer, margarita on the rocks, wine, or soft drink. The margarita on the rocks was more water than margarita on the rocks. Also, do not call the front desk and ask for something to be brought to your room. We requested towels to be brought to our room but they were never brought. Your best bet would be to just go to the front and get them yourself. Furthermore, upon arrival we asked the front desk what time breakfast would be served and his answer was "I don't know." But it appears to be 7-10 am. In conclusion, it is an average stay with an average breakfast, alright room, and a big plus is the beach access.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. We are delighted to note that you had a great stay with us during your visit to South Padre Island. We are glad you found your room comfortable and roomy and had a good breakfast in the morning. We hope you choose us again the next time you visit South Padre Island.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Had a great time in South Padre Island. The hotel is clean and had good beach access. Room is comfortable and roomy. Breakfast was good but they could use a bigger area. Parking lot is a little small, but we never had any problem finding a spot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Location is great, right in the beach. Our room was nice and big, but we didn't get any maid service at all.

They have a big poster inside the front door that says they have a "full" breakfast with homemade omelets. Complete lie. Just a regular hotel breakfast with waffles, fruit, cereal and scrambles eggs. They have a large clientele from Mexico, so their breakfast had a Spanish style offering of scrambled eggs with sausage, salsa and tortillas which was pretty good.

In the room there is instructions that say to call the front desk to get their Wi-Fi password. Don't bother because they won't answer. I tried 4 times and finally just went down to the front desk to find everyone just sitting around doing nothing. They were happy to give me the password though.

Their Bar and Grill is a joke. Not resort quality at all. Our second night we went out to eat and when we returned about 7pm the bar was closed.

It's not a bad place, it just seems to be very poorly managed. I doubt we'll go back. Even in the off season it wasn't worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband and I took a 3 day weekend with out the kids for a romantic stay in South Padre. We got our room for $199 for a 2 night stay from travel zoo. This hotel is very pretty once you pull into the driveway. Lots of palm trees and plenty of flowers. The lobby is average looking. The elevators seem a little old. I didn't eat the free breakfast cause I don't care for the type of food anyway. The room is large and very spacious. I am actually typing this up in the room as we speak. Lol anyway the floor was not mopped and the bathroom needs some paint in some areas. Overall I loved the location. We went to the Coral Reef down the street for karaoke and the walkway that leads you to the beach is convenient. If I had to pay original price I would not be as happy about it but since I got my rate on a special, I can say I would definitely recommend this hotel. :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We just stayed at this hotel and it was ok. The good - the room was pretty nice...was a good size and clean, slightly outdated but good anyway. Convenietly located, decent pool and hot tup. You can walk to the beach via their walkway. They have a fitness center and WiFi.

The cons - their complementary breakfast location is a nightmare. The line was so long each morning we elected to go elsewhere. The room is crowded with tables and folks were squeezing in to get to the coffee and food items. The layout was horrible...If they just put the stations in separate areas the flow could be improved greatly.

Another con - their "bar & grill" is a tiny place with slow service and limited hours. It has the potential to be so much better! We also bought our stay as a package that was to include a free drink each day - the so-called drink was the size of a dixie cup! Not kidding. We were also disappointed that there was no parking spots when we returned to the hotel Saturday evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Address: 350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Copa Inn Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel South Padre Island, Texas. Our beachside hotel across from Queen Isabella Causeway offers an affordable vacation experience in South Padre Island, with five-star resort amenities. We have Spacious Hotel Rooms all with balconies and most with ocean view. All of our rooms feature Tempur-Pedic® mattresses, HD Flat Screen TV with premium cable channels, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and iron board, hair dryer and in-room safe. Other conveniences include complimentary High-speed Internet access and local calls. We have guest rooms for every taste, from standard king or queen beds to our three-room family suite. All rooms are nonsmoking. Our hotel offers an outdoor pool surrounded by a sundeck with a spa tub, chaise lounges, gazebos, and a walkway to the beach. Enjoy our Complementary Hot Full Breakfast buffet, featuring delicious "Belgian Waffles" and the most recent addition "Omelet Station." For your convenience we have complementary Wi-Fi High Speed Internet access available through the entire hotel. A staffed activities desk to assist in planning excursions, coordinate sports-equipment rentals, and sell discounted tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your La Copa Inn Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Padre Island
Best Western La Copa Hotel
South Padre Island La Copa Inn
La Copa Inn Beachfront Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.