We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Copa Inn Beach Hotel to your Saves list
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Discount
Austin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good for the value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Spent two nights at the La Copa Inn Beach hotel. The rooms were clean and large and pretty well maintained. The mattresses were temper pedic so a little stiff for my traveling partner but fine for me. They give you 3 pillows for each bed, nice touch to have an extra pillow.

The breakfast buffet was decent, usual cereals, breads, waffles, eggs/sausage and tortillas for that breakfast taco. Assortment of juices, coffee, etc. Nothing spectacular but well worth it for being included in the cost of our room.

The hotel is adjacent to the beach with very limited rooms having a direct view. Most of the rooms are on the side of the hotel which faces other hotels and condos. Parking is very ample and staff were all nice to deal with.

Only minor problem with our room was a missing lampshade and the flat screen TV needed the cable jiggled to get it working, no biggie.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    122
    67
    39
    40
See reviews for
133
125
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

I was surprised to find an additional $21 activity fee posted after our January stay.The clerk had assured us that we would not have this tacked on as it was not on the checkout bill. I have been referred to the guest manager who never answers his phone and has a "full" voicemail box. This is the final insult after having a much less expensive room substituted for the one reserved using a Groupon
certificate. Too bad! Downgrading our "average" rating to "below average". We've been back to the island twice, but will never stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zapata, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Six ladies new to Padre Island stayed in two rooms for two nights. Rooms were clean, comfortable beds and the walkway to the beach was perfect! The only negative thing was the hottub was way too hot but the great pool was warm enough to use as a hottub! Most stores and good resturants were within walking distance. Parking facilities were more than adequate. The breakfast was very good with a large variety to chose from.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HershalP, Owner at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thanks for the wonderful review! We're glad you had fun, and we'll be sure to adjust that hot tub temperature so that it's ready for your next visit. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012 via mobile

I purchased a travelzoo voucher for this hotel and it appeared to be a good deal. I noticed in the fine print that there was a lot of blackout dates which made travel during the voucher dates very limited. I called to book the room on MAY 23rd which was a valid date and didn't fall in one of the blackout periods. I called and spoke to someone who booked the room for me and gave me a confirmation number. Then I received a call back after I had already requested vacation from my employer and was told my reservation was not valid. The voucher read "valid on ARRIVALS through MAY 24th" but since I was staying the23rd and 24th it was not valid. Even though I was arriving on the 23rd and the voucher read valid for arrivals through MAY 24th.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HershalP, Owner at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
We appreciate your interest in the La Copa Inn South Padre Island through the TravelZoo voucher program. We're sincerely sorry that you had such a poor experience. Please contact the hotel and request to speak to a manager, and we will remedy this situation promptly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012 via mobile

Our stay at the hotel was gorgeous, we had an oceanview room,the room was clean and neath, the staff at the frontdesk was very helpfull and friendly, the breakfast was very good with scrambled eggs,flour tortillas,refried beans. Defenetly we come back to la copa

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We decided for whatever bizarre reason to take our chihuahua with us on a family post-Christmas vacation, along with a 2-year-old, a 4-year-old and a teenager. Chihuahua loved the pet relief station downstairs. Teenager loved the epic Texas-shaped Belgian waffles (oh my goodness, those were good). Come to think of it, my husband did, as well. What we were after was exactly what we got: A clean (but not amazing) room with everything we needed, a good breakfast, a quick jaunt to the beach (out the back door and across a wooden walkway, and you're there!), and a price that made it worthwhile. We got oodles of drink coupons when we arrived and used precisely zero of them, but that would have been a nice perk. The concierge was helpful pointing us to various area attractions, as we'd never been there before. All in all, we had no complaints about, well...anything. We were on the 4th floor, but not beach-view side, and there was no noise to speak of. Everything seemed in good shape - comfy beds, nice little balcony, neat bathroom. Again, we had no complaints at all and would not hesitate to return to La Copa if we hit South Padre again. In fact, it's not always easy to find places that are dog-friendly, so that's a rather big plus if you do find yourself traveling with your pooch.

Room Tip: We had a 4th floor room facing an adjacent building, and could look to our left to see the beach. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

La Copa doesn't bill itself as a 5 star resort, nor did we expect one, but did expect things to be as advertised. Most places we stay either meet or exceed their advertisements, but La Copa fell short. We requested a 4th floor beach view room which at the time of booking they said ok. Upon arrival no 4th floor rooms available, but was offered a 2nd floor beach view. Good view, but more noisey as it sat over the pool area. They advertise wifi in all rooms, but to get internet we had to go out of our room, and about 30 feet into the main hallway. When we asked about this just got a blank oh well stare. Nice flatscreen TV, but most channels fuzzy. The room was nice, clean, and staff friendly although most had very little grasp of the English language, so each question was an adventure. On our next trip to South Padre we will be looking for a different hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Address: 350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Copa Inn Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel South Padre Island, Texas. Our beachside hotel across from Queen Isabella Causeway offers an affordable vacation experience in South Padre Island, with five-star resort amenities. We have Spacious Hotel Rooms all with balconies and most with ocean view. All of our rooms feature Tempur-Pedic® mattresses, HD Flat Screen TV with premium cable channels, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and iron board, hair dryer and in-room safe. Other conveniences include complimentary High-speed Internet access and local calls. We have guest rooms for every taste, from standard king or queen beds to our three-room family suite. All rooms are nonsmoking. Our hotel offers an outdoor pool surrounded by a sundeck with a spa tub, chaise lounges, gazebos, and a walkway to the beach. Enjoy our Complementary Hot Full Breakfast buffet, featuring delicious "Belgian Waffles" and the most recent addition "Omelet Station." For your convenience we have complementary Wi-Fi High Speed Internet access available through the entire hotel. A staffed activities desk to assist in planning excursions, coordinate sports-equipment rentals, and sell discounted tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Copa Inn Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Padre Island
Best Western La Copa Hotel
South Padre Island La Copa Inn
La Copa Inn Beachfront Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.