We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good beer. Good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Padre Island Brewing Co.

Padre Island Brewing Co.
3400 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7002
(956) 761-9585
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Portland OR
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pretty good beer. Good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

So I am from the NW and we are all kind of beer snobs up here, but with that bieng said SPI Brewery was pretty good. I have had better but the sampler was nice. For the price it cant be beat. They were large portioned samplers, enough that i had a little buzz going by the time i finished the sampler and had a regular size beer. The food was very good. Had a burger and it was yummy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    100
    109
    54
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mukilteo, Washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Healthy sampler pours, marginal food and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I confess I am a bit of a microbrew snob, so I thought the beers were just ok, but the pours are huge. We stopped in on a Saturday for a beer and a snack, sat at the bar, and the bartender acted put out the entire time we were there. Perhaps our mistake was in ordering fried foods, because both the cheese bites and the fried pickles were more breading than anything, but the wings were pretty good. Overall, would probably check out other options before returning here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must-stop on South Padre Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stopped at the Padre Island Brewing Company for the first time on a Saturday. We decided to have dinner there on recommendation from a friend. The beers were awesome--but be sure to have a sizable meal or make other plans to drive. I'm no small person (5'11", 350 lbs) and I was buzzed after the third "sample" beer (they offer a sampler of the 5 beers on tap, 6 oz each). So, we know the alcohol was good!

The food was absolutely amazing. That evening, we had fried pickles as an appetizer, and the Stuffed Flounder as an entree. Let me simplify: Anything labeled as "beer-battered" on their menu is absolutely amazing! The pickles were sliced thin and nicely battered. The flounder was to die for. Absolutely amazing food.

We enjoyed that visit so much that we came back again on Sunday specifically to sample their pizza. This was almost a mistake--but not because it was bad. It was so good, I feel I cannot palate any other pizza from anywhere else! The crust is a thin hand-tossed home recipe that melts in your mouth, and has just enough chew to be of substance. The sauce was sweet but not overly so. The toppings--we did pepperoni, sausage, bacon, mushrooms, and mozzarella, were amazing! It seems silly, but the quality of the cheese certainly made the pizza. This was not the refrigerated and overly processed crap that you see in giant bags.

You can't go wrong at the Padre Island Brewing Company.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Awesome especially after a long Texas drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Man you can forget how big Texas really is... Until you try to drive through it! We were famished (and thirsty) by the time we pulled in to Padre. Thought Padre Island Brewing Company would be a good place to stop before checking in. Very friendly and attentive waitstaff greeted us. The locally brewed beers were excellent, and the food did not disappoint. Clean bathrooms and a fun atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Three of us had dinner here and a pitcher of beer. We started with the fried calamari which was tough, and the fried artichoke hearts which were very good. Then we shared a large pepperoni sausage, onion and olive pizza which we enjoyed. The burgers also looked good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Padre Island Brewing Co. also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Padre Island Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Padre Island Brewing Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.