We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackbeard's Restaurant

Blackbeard's Restaurant
103 E Saturn Ln, South Padre Island, TX 78597
956-761-2962
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Barbecue, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
WI
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“surprisingly delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Our 2nd visit to the island and we were running out of new places to find so we gave this a shot, our dinner's were delicious, we have so many favorites on the island that we just hadn't given this one a chance! I will have to say, this is the first time ever that the waitress took the time to point out the happy hour drink and appetizers, she sold us on both! The chips with trio dip appetizer was a great start, delicious heaping cup of quac, good picante and excellent queso dip. My dinner of choice was charbroiled gulf shrimp, the flavor of the charbroil and the shrimp cooked to perfection cant be beat, my son had a mouthwatering fish trio platter that he described as not tasting like fish at, the others in the party had steaks, everyone raved of how good the food was. Service was excellent, not to fast, not to slow, very cheerful and friendly. Should be ranked higher on the South Padre restaurant list

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    254
    126
    40
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sublette, Kansas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch at Blackbeards before leaving the island and everyone was happy. Atmosphere was fun for the kids and the kitchen was quick. I only had a cheeseburger and was a bit disappointed with it though. It wasn't bad but it certainly wasn't remarkable either. Staff was Johnny on the spot with drink refills and the price was right. I'd go back.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Island Food! Your First Stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We've been going to South Padre Island for over thirty years.. Our first stop is always Blackbeard's. They have lots of choices and we've never gotten anything that we didn't like. Personal favorites include a great shrimp salad stuffed avocado or tomato, fried shrimp, and burgers. Try the three-dip appetizer (queso/guac/salsa), or skip it in favor of a great dessert. You can't miss at Blackbeard's and the service is always friendly. It is very popular, but it's also quite large and worth a wait at peak hours.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Two Harbors, MN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Had lunch there and was very impressed with the food and service. I had the Mahi Mahi lunch special and my husband had the tuna. Both were excellent.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice people, food's not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our server was very nice. Service was quick. The food was Sysco- style food service. Pretty bland, over-cooked, unimaginative.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackbeard's Restaurant also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Blackbeard's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackbeard's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.