We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damn good dogs & fries” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mutt Hutt - CLOSED

The Mutt Hutt
2700 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX
956-433-5634
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Park City, Utah
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Damn good dogs & fries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Best French fries on the island. The Hot dogs were really delicious. I don't eat this fare very often but when i do...it better be special....and it was. I highly recommend The Mutt Hutt.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara R, Front Office Manager at The Mutt Hutt, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for the great review Melissa :) We're so glad you enjoyed The Mutt Hutt :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“true taste of the East Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place has the most fantastic Grinders! True East Coast flavors in paradise, I was really amazed by the great quality and pride taken in the production of each meal. My wife and I really enjoy coming here. The menu offers a wide variety of grinders and burgers. very affordable very delicious. don't miss out!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara R, Guest Relations Manager at The Mutt Hutt, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you Steven for the wonderful review. Yes, we DO take great pride in our food and it's great to see that our customers notice that. Glad you enjoyed a taste of the tri-state area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ALAMOS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really Good Food, At Reasonable Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a good place to go, if you don't want to spend the kind of money that the more elaborate restaurants on the Island charge, but still want something better than fast food. Their menu is mostly hot dogs, burgers, and “Grinders” (Know as “Submarine Sandwiches” in many parts of the country) However, the level of culinary skill that goes into their food definitely surpasses fast food restaurant chains, and all but the best independent burger places. In fact, I thought their food is better than at least some of the more elitist restaurants on the Island, at about a third of the cost. Try their “Doberman” hot dog, I thought it was delicious. The couple that own it are also very friendly, and when they weren't busy, told us a lot about the island and the surrounding areas, and even gave my wife some of their recipes.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara R, Guest Relations Manager at The Mutt Hutt, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review :) We really enjoyed talking with you and look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Prague, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rootbeer floats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Skip the food and drinks and just order a rootbeer float. Food is good just make sure to save room. Big burgers.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Ronge, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hot diggidy dog that was good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Had a hankering for a dog. Was the only place. Very good. Shakes were quite yummy. Fries were home made. Enjoyed the whole experience! Don't miss it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mutt Hutt also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mutt Hutt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.