We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Family Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schlitterbahn Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Schlitterbahn Beach Resort to your Saves list
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
“Awesome Family Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is a little better than average, but the water park is where Schlitterbahn shines. The entire outside park is accessible by the lazy river. Even the lines to get on the slides start right off the lazy river so you float while you wait. There is also a swim up bar and a wave rider to surf. The hotel staff was very accommodating and the entire park was clean. We had no complaints and would love to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    61
    22
    9
    16
See reviews for
94
13
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

it's obviously nice place for a family. we spent 2 days there. my kids love there. it's very clean and cozy, but the only thing that I want them to do is to change the sofa bed in a room and to make sure where customers should enter. it's not comfortable to sleep there and inconvenient to find the entrance of hotel. other things were good as my expectation.

Room Tip: lower floor is perfect for who has crazy little boys like me
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for visiting and for the kind words regarding your stay.

We have amenities for families with the indoor, year-round heated waterpark, comfortable rooms and multiple places to eat but we also provide a great getaway for those travelling without children or for those holding conferences and meetings due to our various meeting spaces.'

We also do a lot of catering and are a great venue for weddings, receptions, etc. with our rooftop venue on the beach and affordable pricing.

We are restricted on our entry signage due to city regulations and we understand your frustration...we feel it too! We are working on a solution to make the resort easier to find with city officials.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit!

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I was a guest on business at this resort hotel and stayed for 3-1/2 weeks. I cannot say enough good things about the accommodations and staff. The resort was clean, bed very comfortable, the staff was extremely attentive and helpful, on-site laundry facilities were a lifesaver. The indoor waterpark was open on the weekends and we had a good time. We were there during the off season. The beach access was quick and easy. Plus there were 2 swimming pools. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Kay,
Thanks for the kind words and so glad you were able to enjoy an extended stay with us...you picked a great time of year as the crowds are small and the weather is great!

We appreciate you pointing out the business aspects in addition to the year-round indoor waterpark (outdoor waterpark is open seasonally).

We host many meetings, conferences and weddings as well...lots of space and what's better than a day (or three and 1/2 weeks) at the beach!

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to your next visit!

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huffman, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We come to S. Padre every fall for a reunion with my husbands company. The conference room was very large, the catered buffet was excellent and the caterers were so helpful and friendly. Our granddaughter would love the beautiful carrousel so we will bring her back sometime. Even though the waterpark is only open on week-ends there are plenty of pools and of course the beach is only a few feet away. The restaurants in the hotel can't be beat and the other restaurants on the Island are amazing. Good shopping and afternoon bars to sit with friends, esp. Iguana Joe's on the bay side. Our son caught a large barracuda and several ladyfish. The rooms are large and beds are very comfortable. I just can't think of a better place to spend a vacation. I like it better in the off season because there aren't so many people to wade through and you don't have to wait in line for anything. We really enjoyed the Turtle Rehabilitation Center and Dolphin tour also. The younger couples enjoyed the nightlife, concerts, and fireworks.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room with a beach view on an upper level so you will have a good view. The sunrises...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Shelby,
We appreciate your thoughtful words and review.

Many don't realize that Schlitterbahn South Padre Island is more than a waterpark.....yes, we have an outdoor waterpark and a year-round indoor waterpark, but we also host many reunions, meetings, galas, weddings and more....plus, we have some of the best dining and catering around.

We look forward to your group's reunion again next October and thanks for the opportunity to host you.

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

My husband and I decided to take our little girl to the beach for the first time so we decided south padre island would be great and we were not wrong. We were satisfy with our stay at the resort was very clean and had excellent service. The only thing my husband did not like was getting a room for disabled people 1.Because we were not disabled and 2.He wanted a bath tub other than that it was great! WE had the beach a few feet away, pool was amazing(they warm up the water), and we enjoyed their indoor water park(only open on weekends though). We will definitely be back but maybe during the summer since their outdoor water park will be open then

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2014
Thanks so much and the very thorough review of the resort, waterpark and Shrimp Haus restaurant. Fall is a favorite time of the year for the locals since the weather is just perfect and while it may be off-season, enough visitors and new friends to keep things lively.

We look forward to your next visit and thanks again for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Vista, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Stayed here with our adult children and grand children. We were there on Columbus Day weekend on Saturday and Sunday night. The outdoor waterpark was closed for the season, indoor park was open Saturday and Sunday. Motel is very nice, fairly new, rooms are large. Nice décor, staff was helpful. Beach access is handy and close. Off season, so nothing was crowded. Only glitch we had was part of the waterpark was shut down on Sunday afternoon due to malfunction, but they gave us a partial refund so no big deal. Swim up bar was fun. Took advantage of free taco bar and cheap drinks at Shrimphaus on Sunday during NFL games, it was awesome!! I would imagine it could get pretty noisy and crowded during the high season, but we really enjoyed our time there during the off season.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
We appreciate the kind words and thoughtful review of your stay down on South Padre Island with us.

For the locals, it is our favorite time of the year with the great weather, plenty to do and "off-season" pricing.

We hope to see you soon and hope you share your experiences with your friends. We also thank you for the kind words about the Shrimp Haus Restaurant, located right next door to the resort.

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Lake
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Very clean - best smelling hotel I have ever been to - very nice room - beds were comfortable - quick walk out to the ocean and quick walk to the heated pool - we were there mid week off season - had the place to ourselves pretty much - easy to get to the main drag - would def stay here again !

Room Tip: ask for room near ocean !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Thanks so much for the kind words regarding your recent stay.

Our use of Loblolly Pines throughout the property does provide that fresh, clean smell as well as ambience that is not replicated anywhere else.

Large Denver mattresses provide the comfort to give a good night's sleep before hitting the beach (steps away) or whatever activity you wish to undertake while visiting our Island.

We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schlitterbahn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlitterbahn Beach Resort

Address: 100 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Schlitterbahn Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Schlitterbahn Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.