We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schlitterbahn Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Schlitterbahn Beach Resort to your Saves list
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Much better ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here after a very disappointing 2 nights at the Travelodge. It was much better. Clean and comfortable. I'd give it a five star rating if it had a balcony off our room overlooking the ocean. The view was great. There were a lot of small children running and screaming through the hall and lobby but even as unpleasant as that was, it was still preferable to the other place.

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    58
    22
    9
    16
See reviews for
90
12
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Bathtub shower slippery, no rubber mats available. Cannot communicate with most of staff - unless you speak Spanish. TV not working - only Spanish channels available. Poor service and high prices at restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came down here on a girls trip and can't wait to come back with my own family and little kiddos! Amazing resort to stay at.
Great swim up bars.
The beds were the THE BEST.
Super close to the beach.

My advice for your trip.
Find Pedro the bartender and have him make you a Jamaican Breeze.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks so much for taking the time and posting your review!

We try our best to provide something for everyone....sitting on the beach, we have a lot more than the waterparks! Multiple restaurants, shopping, swim up bars, and conveniently located near fishing, dolphin watches, parasailing and more.

The hardest part is sometimes rolling out of bed since we do use thick, plush Denver mattresses in all of our rooms and the beds are all king or queen sized.

Can't wait for you to come back with family! See you soon and thanks again,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent the day at the waterpark. We did not stay at the resort overnight so I can't review that aspect of park. We had a great time. Staff and lifeguards very competent and attentive. Would come again for sure!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thanks for the kind words and taking the time to share with others!

We hope to see you back soon and hopefully you will stay at our new beachfront hotel!

Did you know that resort Guests save 40% off their waterpark admission?

Thanks again,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Yet again, a fun time was had by all. My husband and I met with my family at this resort and we had an amazing time. Truly wholesome fun. We had adjacent rooms with a door in between rooms so we could walk back and forth and we had beach front view. We had breakfast in the seaside grill and although it was a little pricey but it was worth it. And the beach was just a few feet from us. It was gorgeous weather. Overall I recommend. Also if you want to not pay 499.00 per night go when it's off season it will be less expensive. Or save up and then just shell out for a very good wholesome fun for the entire family.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks Melissa for the kind words and great advice on adjoining rooms, places to eat and ways to save money. Of course, we have rooms at lower prices even during the summer as well and always provide free parking and a 40% discount for waterpark entry for resort Guests.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

if you have ever been to any beach on the east coast this beach rates a 2. at best. just old and run down with no real name brand hotels and if your are.looking for something luxuries look to Hilton garden inn, that's the best you'll get.

Schlitterbahn resort was.like a run down no star Mexican resort. The front desk people have no personality and don't care. you feel like you are stuck here with "local management" if you have a problem. Of course as expected we were overcharged. The hotel is old and nasty...My heart dropped when my husband pulled into the hotel. There are herds of people squeezing into standard rooms. I was so happy to leave. South Padre beach is hideous. We drove around because we thought we were in the wrong place or side of town...not. First and last visit!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
South Padre Island was recently voted one of "America's Best Beaches" by AOL and over a million visitors a year visit our Island and have a great time enjoying the many activities, restaurants, white sand beaches and blue waters.

Sorry you did not enjoy our property (which just opened in September 2012) or South Padre Island during your visit.

Our property also utilizes state of the art RFID wristband technology and we do not allow more people in a room than can comfortably sleep.

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Texas
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Hello. I need you to read this because you need to know that you will save money if you stay at this hotel. compare prices if you can. the benefit about this hotel is that you get 4 tickets to the waterpark included in your stay wow! there a savings plus you also enjoy the indoor water park they have ONLY for the guest at the resort. how cool is that? it really is nice not to deal with to much lines. Of course like every place there is a downfall and the one here is the restroom is pretty small. but think of the bright side who needs a big rr when your out having fun? I know we don't... and well no breakfast included but with so many hotels cereal is the thing on the menu and if your like us you want a good meal so that's ok.

hope this review helped if it did don't hesitate in liking my review, thanks and have fun!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks for sharing the money saving tips....

Yes, resort Guests receive exclusive ride time at our indoor park during the summer and also are saving 40% on their tickets. Add that to the beachfront location and it makes an affordable vacation right here in the Valley at Texas' best beach!

We also provide several on-site restaurants (that are open year-round to the public). The Seaside grill is yummy and friendly to your wallet too, all right on the beach. The Shrimp Haus is known as having the Island's best shrimp and has great views of the beach and Gulf from its location next door to the outdoor waterpark, plus live entertainment Wednesday - Saturday evenings. Our Loblolly Grill provides a grab-n-go menu that is quick, delicious and inexpensive as well!

Thanks for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip down to SPI!

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schlitterbahn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlitterbahn Beach Resort

Address: 100 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Schlitterbahn Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Schlitterbahn Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.