We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schlitterbahn Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Schlitterbahn Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
South padre island
2 reviews
“Great family time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Overall experience was great. Nice view from room, people were friendly. Only one issue and that was when asked to speak to the general manager who was on site left name and number twice he never called back. Other than that great experience. Kid friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Thanks for the rating and spending some time with us....I have copied our hotel manager about your message as we try and make sure we contact our Guests as quickly as possible upon notification.

Glad to hear you had a good time and see you back soon!

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    47
    15
    7
    12
See reviews for
72
11
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our boys ages 4 & 7 loved it! There are no bellhops it's all do it yourself. Hard to find luggage carts was a hassle with all the gear. Parking spots were tight. Room with 2 queen beds was clean. Bathroom was very small. Wristbands instead of room keys are great. No coffee until 8am so walk to sunset cafe on beach. Breakfast tacos in lobby grill were good but salsa too garlicky. If you don't have kids go elsewhere this isn't an adult "resort."

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Thanks for the post and the 5 stars! All of our rooms feature two queen beds or a king sized bed with queen sized sleeper sofa (no double beds here!) and the wristband technology makes the days of wondering "where the heck did I put my hotel key" over.

Depending on the time of year, we host families, empty nesters, convention attendees and many weddings...luggage carts and bellmen are available but it sounds like you were visiting during a very busy day so I apologize for any inconvenience that may have caused.

Our Seaside Grill (beachfront) and Loblolly Cafes are open at 8am so I hope you were able to enjoy the complimentary Wolfgang Puck coffee provided in your room before heading downstairs!

Thanks again for taking the time to comment and we look forward to your next visit.

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We spent the week leading up to Independence Day at the Schlitterbahn Resort on South Padre Island. With very few exceptions, our stay was perfect. We spent each day on the beach and/or doing other activities, and then hit the waterpark in the afternoon to cool off.

We arrived almost two hours early, so all the rooms were not ready yet. We were booked for a beach front room, and asked for a room that was quiet and had the best view possible. Rooms were ready on the second and fourth floor, but the girl checking us in suggested that we not choose a fourth floor room since that would put a restaurant right over our heads – good idea. We went with the second floor. When we got to our room and opened the curtains to see the beach, a family at the small beach pool looked right up at us; good view, but not very private. And HERE is what makes this place great… We went back down to the front desk, told the girl our issues, and SHE walked to the front building to find a third floor room that was ready! We ended up in 341 and it was great. Since the restaurant is not open every day, and it closes at 10:00, staying on the fourth floor would probably have been just fine.

The room was very clean and seemed to be newly renovated. None of the furniture, trim work, or paint had any blemishes, and the repurposed pine trim and furniture was nice and appreciated. We asked our housekeeper for extra towels (three girls…) and regular coffee packets on the first day, and she dutifully continued this throughout our stay without us asking again. The room smelled fresh and clean; it didn’t have that musty smell that so many beach front rooms have. Our beds and pillows were very comfortable.

We ate at the Shrimp Haus, Seaside Grill, and Sea-4-Ever restaurants while we were there, and we enjoyed all of them. The much hyped all-you-can-eat salad bar at the Shrimp Haus was somewhat underwhelming, but everything was fresh; the shrimp plates we ordered were excellent. Service at the Seaside Grill (really more of a bar) was predictably slow, but the food was tasty. The drinks from this bar were always great.

We went bay fishing on our last full day. The guide told us that most restaurants on the island would cook the fish we caught. Since we hadn’t eaten at the Sea-4-Ever restaurant on the top of the front building, we really wanted to try it out. Not wanting to show up with a bag of raw fish, and be turned away, I called the front desk to make sure this restaurant would cook the fish for us. They sent me to Debbie; she is apparently in charge of all the restaurants. Debbie told me that they would normally send us to the Shrimp Haus restaurant, but since we wanted to try the other place, she would make sure they prepared our fish for us. When we arrived, I gave the fish to the hostess and told her what Debbie had said. When the waiter arrived, he was aware of the fish, we discussed how they might be prepared and gave him our drink order. He came back with ideas for our fish and took the rest of our order. Service at this restaurant was particularly slow. You might want to consider this if you’re going to be in a hurry. We were certainly not in a hurry. The view and cool breezes (it is open air) were fantastic. And, our fish? It was SO far above what we expected! Not only did the chefs prepare it perfectly, but they made two large platters with different rice and vegetables. From the special accommodations to the incredible food – another example of Schlitterbahn going out of there way!
The only serious knock that we could come up with is the check-in process. Especially if you are staying in the front building and have a lot of luggage, a bellman (or at least a cart) is a must. When we checked in there was only one bellman, and (as near as I could tell) only two other luggage carts. We waited about an hour for any of them to be available, then gave up and started carrying our luggage to the room by hand. During my second trip, one of our girls snagged a cart. For the number of rooms, the size of the facility, and the price, I am disappointed that Schlitterbahn doesn’t have a number of bellmen, or at least eight to ten luggage carts for the guests to use.

Overall, the cart issue was soon forgotten and we had a WONDERFUL time. A special thanks to Denise, Debbie, Dora, and Sarah for going way above and beyond to make sure we had a special vacation!

Room Tip: The beachfront second floor windows on the right side (facing the beach) seem very close to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to post such a thoughtful and comprehensive review.

We strive to exceed Guest expectations and to provide a relaxing, complete vacation experience. You're at the beach, so slow down and enjoy!

The "little" things that are often overlooked are things we try and make sure are always attended to as they can leave a lasting impression of our sincerity of treating all of Guests special.

As the newest and largest beachfront property on South Padre Island, you can rest assured we are always looking for ways to improve and appreciate you mentioning the positives and the items where we can still improve.

We hope to see you back again real soon!

Thanks again,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartly, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This place is for the birds. Average accomodations at best and wayyyyyyy overpriced. Forced to get a waterpark pass, even if you dont use it. The person wanting to stay and enjoy south Padre, this is not the place for you. The wealthy person with lots of kids or grand kids, this is the place for you. Bring LOTS of money, cause you will need it. NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, located beachfront on the beautiful Gulf waters is comparably priced to other full-service hotels on the Island and waterpark admission (at savings of 40%-70%) is a perk the overwhelming majority of Guests appreciate.

We feature thick, plush Denver mattress, high thread count linens and the use of repurposed Loblolly Pines throughout the property lend a unique feel to the resort. They are even used as nightstands and picnic tables!

Sorry you were unable to appreciate these unique amenities during your stay and others, such as Wolfgang Puck coffee, extended ride time for resort Guests at the indoor park, multiple on-site restaurants and more.

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Okay, first of all, hotel is great for the kids! We had a great time at the water park and the environment is without a doubt family friendly.

However, it doesn't quite live up to the title "resort". Check in is at 4, rather than the standard 3 for most hotels/resorts, we arrived after 5 and room still not ready. Hotel lobby was average at best. Get 10 people in there and forget it, no where to sit or stand. Staff was young and untrained. Service was average. When you say resort I think if I call for towels, I expect to get them within 15 minutes or so, especially for $300+ per night...never came. When you say "resort" and I call for plates at 10:30pm, I don't expect you to tell me there are "no plates available anywhere on the property". Are you kidding me! Lol Rooms were nice, but seemed somewhat dated. They advertise as the "newest resort on the island", that doesn't mean modern, trust me; it's still old.

All in all the experience was good, and we probably we would come back for the kids sake. This is not a place I would stay without kids; "FAMILY" fun is the only reason to come here. If that's why you're coming, you have made a good choice. If you're coming for a "resort" experience or any other reason, choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks for the review and glad to hear the positive comments and appreciate your thoughts on areas we can look to improve.

While the lobby is not extremely large, we preferred to focus our attention during construction in 2012 to creating more space for Guests in the areas they want to be....the waterpark, restaurants and carousel areas. We did utilize Loblolly Pines, black walnut and other repurposed woods to create a "forest meets the beach" feel in the lobby, complete with a large aquarium.

We proudly host a great diversity of people at the resort and offer five distinct meeting areas around the property as well, so there are many times where the overwhelming amount of folks are here for conventions (with or without families coming along).

I have shared your comments with the appropriate department heads to ensure your concerns are addressed immediately.

Thanks again for taking the time to provide your feelings on your recent visit and we hope to see you again real soon with another review that is a 4 or 5 star like so many others.

Thanks,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our kids range in age from 3 to 16, so finding somewhere that's affordable and fun for everyone can be tricky! We were so completely satisfied with this resort! There was enough to do near the room that we could send the older ones off while our little guy napped. There was no room key to hassle with; our wristbands were our key, which meant I didn't have to ask everyone "do you have your room key?"

Being able to access the waterpark directly from our hotel was perfect! We could walk to the beach, back to the waterpark, etc. so easily! This was one of my concerns when booking because I had read an older review that said you had to drive over. This is NOT the case! They make it really easy!

The food is a bit pricey, but there are less expensive options about a mile away, so not a huge deal. Some days we ate in the park/at the resort, and others we didn't. But I have to give kudos to the restaurant in the lobby for their food! The breakfast tacos (very inexpensive) were cooked when you order, and they were HUGE and so very good!!!! Their pizzas are wonderful. They don't skimp on the ingredients - our meat lover was LOADED with a TON of toppings and was delicious. Added bonus: while our breakfast was being made, we rode the carousel, which is just outside the restaurant. :)

Cleanliness is always a big thing for me. When we arrived, the room was super clean. I was extremely happy! I must say though that during our stay it felt as if our room had been just "picked up" instead of really cleaned.

It's true that the bathroom is tiny. But it really wasn't a dealbreaker. We did, though, have trouble finding places to dry out our wet things. They could simply add a drying line to the shower or add more hooks in the bathroom area. This would fix it! :)

My only other suggestion would be that there's no coffee except in your room, unless you want to wait until the restaurants open (around 9 a.m. I believe). That was rough for us coffee lovers. So, either bring your own pot (we didn't care for their coffee in the room) or be prepared to make a coffee run each morning.

The room was unexpectedly spacious. We have three children so we brought a full-sized air mattress. There was plenty of room to inflate the air mattress and easily walk around the room. And speaking of mattresses, the hotel beds were very comfortable!

Staff was very responsive. We had to call down and request a few extra items (sugar for coffee, cups, towels), and each time they were at our door very quickly and then we received a phone call to ensure we received what we needed. Great procedures in place to encourage good customer service!

And with regard to the waterpark, our three year old could "ride" almost every single ride, and the teenager also had fun! We were able to do most of the things together, which was a huge plus for this mom!

Thumbs up all the way around. We definitely plan to return, and plan to stay longer next time! Thank you for a very memorable trip!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor of the main building and were very pleased! There are no balconies, so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks Marlisa for taking the time to write a very thoughtful and thorough review.

We try very hard to make sure that we are well-rounded to handle the wide diversity we see in our Guests.

Sorry you aren't a fan of the Wolfgang Puck provided in the rooms and can understand wanting the coffee if you are an early riser and do not wish to wait for the 8am opening of two of the resort's restaurants....we will look into ways to address the issue.

Clotheslines are already in (or being placed) into all of the rooms to make the hanging of wet clothes easier, so I appreciate you mentioning that as well.

Once again, thanks for the thoroughness of your review and we can't wait to see you again!

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the second year in a row my family and I stayed at the resort. The first year was fantastic.(2013). This year was still awesome. The bathrooms are really small but how much room do you need. The bed are very comfortable and the a/c blows cold. Showers are always hot. We love our stay. The staff is always nice and very helpful. The Guest relations manager goes above and beyond for you. There was a misunderstanding on room service but it was worked out in our favor. I would highly recommend to stay here. Very affordable and worth the price. Awesome place for a family!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Great to hear from our returning Guests!

We appreciate the feedback and also glad to hear when the occasional error is made folks realize we will try our best to make everything right as quickly as possible.

Whether you are coming with the kids or just looking for a great place on the beach with comfortable sleeping quarters and multiple restaurants we can accommodate you....we are even a great place for meetings and conferences with our five distinct meeting areas.

Thanks again for returning and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Schlitterbahn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlitterbahn Beach Resort

Address: 100 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Schlitterbahn Beach Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Schlitterbahn Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.