We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation went Super well” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schlitterbahn Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Schlitterbahn Beach Resort to your Saves list
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Elgin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family vacation went Super well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This resort is extremely amazing, it has a great view of the beach, a nice beach access and multiple wonderful pools. The heated bar pool was a hit for the entire family, the staff was all friendly and the rooms were okay. Overall it was a great family experience.

Room Tip: Request rooms closer to the beach..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Director of Sales at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent visit and yes, we are very proud of our beachfront resort that is able to accommodate empty nesters, families and groups.

Glad to hear you enjoyed all we have to offer and we hope to see you in the summer when the large outdoor waterpark is also open...

Resort guests save 40% or more off waterpark admission when staying with us!

I appreciate your kind words!

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    60
    22
    9
    16
See reviews for
93
13
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huffman, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had been having our retiree conventions at a smaller hotel and while it was adequate it just didn't have the extras. The indoor waterpark is fun and for older people it's great to just sit on a tube and let the water take you along, however it can be a little wavy for a lazy river but attendants all around if you feel uneasy. Big slides for those more adventurous. There are big rooms to hold meetings and games and their catered food is amazing. The 2 café's on site are very good and the side walks are paved so it makes walking and wheelchairs comfortable and the access to the beach is by far better than the ones where we've previously stayed. You can enjoy the roof top terrace if it hasn't been rented for a wedding or BIG convention. Although we did have a little trouble finding the entrance I would guess in time this will be addressed as this is a fairly new place and Island time goes a little slower than normal. I wish the room windows opened to let in the gulf breeze but for security and weather reasons I suppose that's a good thing. Overall we had a great time and will be coming back again this fall when the crowds are minimal and will be encouraging more of our retiree friends to attend. Flying into the airport just an hour away is a breeze for those of you who don't like to drive very far. We plan on bringing our whole family sometime. Grandparents, parents and kids can all have that small town feeling and interact with each other while everybody can still also do their own thing. Teenagers also like it because everything is within walking distance of shopping and beach activities. Kite riding and charter fishing is also available up the beach. We took a dolphin sight seeing boat ride and really enjoyed it. Can't wait to go back. In the summer months the outdoor waterpark would be open with ALOT of water slides and fun things to do.

Room Tip: We like the rooms facing the gulf because it's all about the view. They probably cost a little m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Director of Sales at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
WOW, thanks for the kind words and making us your new choice of staying when on South Padre Island.

We like to say we are more than a waterpark, and with our comfortable rooms featuring eiother queen or king size beds and high thread count linens, not to mention multiple dining options, we are rapidly becoming one of the most popular places for our Winter Texan friends to set up their stays.

The heated, indoor waterpark features relaxing as well as thrill rides and who doesn't enjoy a warm swim-up bar to kick back and enjoy a cocktail?

Thanks again for the review and we look forward to seeing you this fall!

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We have chosen this resort the last four times we have been to South Padre with our four children ages 1-5. When comparing to other hotels based on price, you definitely get a big bang for your buck! This has options for family fun with so many different areas to enjoy! For this visit, at first we were concerned about the weather. It was in the low seventies, and I feared the kids would be too cold. Well, the indoor fun pools were enclosed in a climate controlled area which made it perfect for the kids. The swim up bar also has a heated pool that the kids really enjoyed as well. The room was very clean, and I am picky with cleanliness. The check in lines have always been a bit long for my taste. All the times we have been there, it takes a good fifteen to twenty minutes plus of waiting time to get the room. It's a little stuffy when you first walk into the lobby. I know when you first walk in, it is not impressive. However, the clean room and the different fun pools make it worth the experience. I also like that they allow coolers near the pool areas. This is a big plus cause we are able to carry our food and drinks for the kids (and for us). At other area hotels, coolers are not allowed and that's terrible for the little ones who constantly need snacks and hydration. There is so much fun from carousel to ball shooter game to great pools; your kids will be happy! The staff is not overly friendly; they keep to themselves which is pretty good too cause you know they will help you if you need them, but they are not smothering you. Oh, I needed extra blankets cause some of us needed to sleep on the floor and within minutes from calling front desk, they brought us warm blankets. It was so clean that sleeping on the floor was not yucky, amazingly. It is a GREAT place for families!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Director of Sales at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you sooo much for the kind words and being a frequent visitor!

Our indoor, year-round indoor waterpark keeps everyone entertained (along with the MegaBlast and Carousel) and the outdoor park opens for the summer season on April 18th!

Our family-friendly philosophy (free parking, outside food allowed, free use of tubes) are part of our culture at the resort as well.

Diverse food options sure to satisfy all tastes are here for you to choose from.

We look forward to seeing you this summer where you will really appreciate the two dozen attractions while saving the 40% or more that resort guests save off their waterpark admission.

Thanks again!!
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

My kids truly enjoyed this resort and water park! Rooms were clean and comfortable, the only thing that I wasn't completely satisfied with was the time it took to check out. I waited for 45 minutes to check out. This is something they really need to work on! Other than that it's a great place to visit with the family

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Director of Sales at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks for commenting on your stay and glad you enjoyed the experience and quality/cleanliness of our property. The Loblolly Pines used throughout the property lend a unique ambience to the resort that cannot be found anywhere else.

I have also shared your comments regarding the check-out procedure to try and ensure an expedited procedure in the future.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

A popular place over President's weekend. Coming from cold Colorado, the temperatures were great for February. The "resort" is nice. Everything seemed to be scaled down because it was off season. The indoor water park was ok, probably a lot more fun when the whole facility is available. The lazy river moves really fast, not for Grandma's with bad backs. The kids loved it.
The room (king) was better than average. The bed was great! Lots of pillows. The pull out coach served the grand kids fine. No freezer in the fridge. The resort really is in walking distance of the beach. If you stay in the back part of the resort, you can literally walk out the door and take two right turns and be heading down the walk to the beach. It is a long way from the major southern Texan cities. 3 hrs from Corpus Christie, 6 from Austin. At least stay two nights. The service was great. This is a nice place, especially for families.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room, king bed, accessible. The bathroom was big. Others in our party had th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Director of Sales at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks for spending some of your winter time away from the Colorado chill and soaking up some South Texas sun!

Being on the beach and providing some Texas hospitality will hopefully lead you back to us soon. Thick Denver mattresses and high thread count linens are just some of the small differences that actually make a BIG difference in guest comfort.

We hope to see you down in part of the country again real soon!

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

well.. we did not know the waterpark is only open during the weekends in off season . the indoor park closes at 5pm and the checkin is not until 4pm , so even though the park is included in the room price , it was hard to make it to the park.
the outdoor pool is open and it was really fun .

Room Tip: room facing the beach is very nice to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Director of Sales at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your visit.

During the winter, our indoor, heated waterpark is open at 10am on Saturday and Sunday. During the summer season, both our indoor AND outdoor waterparks are open and part of your Stay-n-Play package that provides discounts of 40% or more on your stay.

While check-in is at 4:00 pm, you are more than welcome to come to the waterpark at 10:00am and enjoy the park while you wait for check-in. On day of check-out, you can even stay and play that whole day as well (even after your check-out)! It is an extra day we offer for no extra charge for resort guests!

Thanks again for coming and we look forward to seeing you this summer so you can enjoy both the indoor and outdoor parks!

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Texas
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Visited for the 3 day President's Day weekend. Resort was a little tricky to find. We arrived early but they gave us our park tickets to enjoy the park before check-in time. Indoor portion of the park is quite small, but plenty of fun and not too crowded this time of year. Two slides, a not-so-lazy river, a kiddie pool, carousel, jungle-gym/ball room, bar, diner and pool provided plenty to do. The slides while not thrill seeker level were plenty of fun, and the river flowed at a fairly quick pace. The lines for the slides were short and moved fairly quickly. The room, Good sized TV, decent microwave oven, refridgerator cooled well, AC unit was relatively quiet. Room was clean, smelled fresh, fairly large. Only down side is that the bathroom was quite small, but otherwise, a very good room. Staff was friendly and efficient. Resort is convenient to the beach, easy access on and off the island and there is a good restaurant nearby. I would recommend this for a day trip or a weekend. Probably the most entertainment for a family in the off-season on South Padre Island.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for the great review. I appreciate your comments and am glad to hear that you had a wonderful time here at the Resort. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Schlitterbahn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlitterbahn Beach Resort

Address: 100 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Schlitterbahn Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Schlitterbahn Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.