We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your own beach towels and chairs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schlitterbahn Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Schlitterbahn Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bring your own beach towels and chairs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Decided to take a last minute get away from Houston over Christmas break with the kids. Arrived late Sunday evening. Monday was a nice enough day to sit on beach for a bit with a book. Went to front desk to ask for pool or beach towels.. was told I have to go back up to room and get one of our room towels to use and then trade it in... Really? so yup that was it... back down hall, wait for elevator to 3rd floor, back to room, get towel... then head to beach again... for a new resort the beach chairs are old and the tag says $30.00 for 2 chairs and umbrella per day! So bring your own chairs and beachtowels. ( Why can you sit in a chair by the pool for free but you pay for the old ones on the beach?)
Also we arrived late on Sunday so as expected the water park was closed. We were able to enjoy the few slides open on Monday.... but on Tuesday nothing opened till 4!! We thought we would have 2 days with the water park. So we headed back to Houston.
Also would be nice to have a spa or a adult only hot tub or section of the swim up pool bar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, General Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel! We are in the process of getting pool towels for our guests to use while they are here to prevent what you had to go through. The price for the umbrellas and chairs on the beach is the standard price Island wide, and we will work on the quality of offerings on the beach as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    57
    22
    8
    15
See reviews for
88
12
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our week long stay was nothing less than fabulous. We stayed in an ocean view room and watched the sunrise every morning from our bed as we woke. Wonderfully comfortable California King beds with down comforters...heavenly! The room was well appointed with a great layout and comfortable furnishings and ameneties.

The indoor water park was amazing. After Christmas Day when it was 86 degrees and beautiful on SPI, a cold front came to town and we were worried about having a fun time in the water park. Much to our surprise, when we arrived at the indoor waterpark bundled in our sweaters and jackets to stay warm, we were thrilled to enter a toasty warm environment riddled with laughter and down home good fun. As we strolled thru the park we observed guests in their swimsuits floating down the river, lounging on the chairs relaxing and we peeled off our sweaters and coats and jumped right into the fun. How did they do that? Schlitterbahn created an entire new world amidst the cold outdoors.

The Sea4Ever rooftop bar & grill was closed the evening we attempted to visit due to the inclement weather, but we were very impressed with the space and the view. I can see how they came up with the name of the place as the views went forever and we look forward to visiting this on our next visit.

The Shrimp Haus restaurant was our New Years Eve destination with a $45 prix fixe meal with live entertainment and dancing....what a great value.

Overall, we were disappointed that our timing to SPI included a cold front, but Schlitterbahn did not dissapoint and we are so looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, General Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for our Hotel! I am so glad to hear you such a wonderful time. I am sorry that you couldn't enjoy our Sea4Ever during your stay, but that just means that you will have to come back to experience it. Thank you and we look forward to hosting you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

OK so Schlitterbahn (been to all in Texas) is a bit of an odd ball place.

On the one hand, they build water rides that are better than Disney (amazing rivers, water coasters, etc) yet on the other hand there's always a few things that just feel off. Don't get me wrong, with these guys the pros typically outweigh the cons, it's just odd (and somewhat frustrating) that they can't seem to go "all the way" and just make it truly special.

This "resort" is an interesting example of what I mean. On the one hand, they have this great outdoor pool/bar with a cool statue in the middle and nice wooden details. On the other, the pool itself is too cold (EVERYONE was complaining about it) and it backs up to garage doors (yes, the kind you drive your car through...) It's just kind of a "huh, what were they thinking?" sort of thing.... Oh and aside from this lukewarm pool there is NO hot tub at the resort?!! What's the deal with that? Huh? What were they thinking?

The indoor waterpark is very similar to Galveston, except smaller. The river is fun, but again, it's too cold! Almost every adult I saw was commenting on it, (and several commented about the fact that they raised this issue with management and were politely blown off). Aren't you supposed to feel warm at an indoor waterpark? This is an ongoing unresolved problem as we visited in late December. Also, apparently because of this water heating issue, half the river (the part that goes outside) is now closed until the summer because they claim they can't keep it warm... Huh? What were they thinking? A warm river that dashes outside sounds fun!

Torrent River aside, there's no other Schlitterbahn "signature" attractions at the indoor waterpark. No boogie bahn! No water coasters! Just a torrent river and two ***slow*** loading tube slides.... There is a nice little kids area, but it's nothing not found everywhere else.

The final "huh, what were they thinking" is the rooms. I realize this is a remodeled Holiday Inn, but who would do a new hotel on South Padre where the rooms have NO balconies, or even windows that open?

Again, we are huge Schlitterbahn fans. The park in New Braunfels is unlike anything else on the planet. It's just the little "huh" and "why'd they do that" that I can't seem to understand with them....

Finally - this park is NOT worth the $30pp they charge visitors who aren't staying at the hotel. Look for a coupon or don't go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, General Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. We appreciate the comments and will address them accordingly. We do have a "signature" ride for the resort that is in the process of being installed. It is called "Surf 360" and is a unique ride that allows the rider to surf a continuous wave as the ride actually rotates around the person. Really cool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have stayed twice at this new resort! What a blast! Both times we never left the property, there was so much to do. My 8 year old loved the waterpark so much, I thought I'd never get him out of the water. There are several bars that offer everything from Raspas to Dipping Dots so when he wanted a break, there were fun treats for both of us. The Loblolly Pizzaria has great pizza that he couldn't get enough of. The resort has a beautiful carousel that offers rides to everyone of all ages. There were also little rides for the kids to play on in this area. The gift shop offers great island themed Christmas decorations which made great souvenirs of our stay, not to forget the Yellow Box shoes that I picked for myself.

I especially liked the Sea4ever Rooftop Tapas restaurant! It was fantastic! The views, the food, the service, it was a great evening. Live music too, plus an area for the kids to play. You will want to sample all the selections they offer, The Filet Sliders & the Scallop Martini was my favorites, and my son loved the Sampler which offered a selection of wonderful meats & cheeses and other goodies.

The Seaside Grill offers Eggs Benedict and yummy Belgian Waffles, we also had Filet & Lobster one evening. Again, great food and service.

The room were wonderful, lots of handmade woodworking throughout! The furniture is all made from wood that came from the Bastrop Fires, it was beautiful. The beds and linens are super comfy.

All the staff are friendly and I can see why they all have smiles on their faces, it would be a great place to work! The resort has a great story behind it, we found it very interesting and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Get the family suite, you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, General Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for the great review! I am so glad that you and your child loved the resort. With all the options from the Waterpark to the Food & Beverage outlets there is plenty to do and eat around the property. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at the new resort over the Thanksgiving holiday.

The Pro's:

The staff was great. Everyone we dealt with from the front desk, cleaning crew, lifeguards etc were pleasant and attentative.

The park and rooms were clean.

The food at the seaside bistro was good and affordable for the portions.

The location was perfect. We would walk down a flight of stairs and be in the waterpark, or walk a few yards down the ramp and be on the beach. Perfect to spend half the day on the beach, and half at the park.

The Con's:

The only grip to keep it from being a 5 star review was the fact that the indoor park was not heated. It was my understanding that the entire indoor park had heated water. That was not the case. Only the swim up bar had a heated pool. This caused a pretty big crowd in the small pool since the other areas were pretty cold.

The "No Horseplay" rule could have been enforced better in this pool, since a lot of bigger kids were rough housing and splashing, where it should have been a relaxing place to enjoy a drink.

I would definitely return, but would come earlier in the season when the water is warmer if you want to enjoy all the rides.

Also, the elevators are painfully slow, so I would advise to take the stairs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, General Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a response. We have rectified the issue with the water heater, and I am extremely happy to say our water park is indoor and completely heated. You can come when ever you like, no matter the weather outside, and have a blast in the warm water park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel this summer with my family and i was very impressed with all the immenities this hotel has to offer, Though there wave pool at the hotel was not open, in the evening, the hotel guests were treated to chaparoned excursion thru the river ride located in the hotel grounds. The resturants in the resort were very good, by the way if your ordering the nachos as an appetizer make sure there is at least four of you. You will really enjoy the bar on the fifth floor. The whole floor is a patio with a great view of the ocean. We enjoyed our stay and will be back in the near future.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the ocean, The view is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, General Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments. The Sea4Ever Lounge does have awesome views. We look forward to having you and your family with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cibolo, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Was in the Valley on Business Last week and stayed at the New Scheliterbahn Beach Resort. Great standard room with King bed. Room was very nice and very comfortable. Good rate for a one night business trip. Looking forward to staying over a weekend to experience the new indoor water park. Had an meal in the Restaurant was very good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, General Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
The close proximity of South Padre Island to the rest of valley is a great secret for business travelers. You can contact the hotel directly for business rates if you come down frequently. Thank you for the comment and you will absolutely love the Water Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schlitterbahn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlitterbahn Beach Resort

Address: 100 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Schlitterbahn Beach Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Schlitterbahn Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.