We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schlitterbahn Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Schlitterbahn Beach Resort to your Saves list
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
South Padre Island, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have stayed twice at this new resort! What a blast! Both times we never left the property, there was so much to do. My 8 year old loved the waterpark so much, I thought I'd never get him out of the water. There are several bars that offer everything from Raspas to Dipping Dots so when he wanted a break, there were fun treats for both of us. The Loblolly Pizzaria has great pizza that he couldn't get enough of. The resort has a beautiful carousel that offers rides to everyone of all ages. There were also little rides for the kids to play on in this area. The gift shop offers great island themed Christmas decorations which made great souvenirs of our stay, not to forget the Yellow Box shoes that I picked for myself.

I especially liked the Sea4ever Rooftop Tapas restaurant! It was fantastic! The views, the food, the service, it was a great evening. Live music too, plus an area for the kids to play. You will want to sample all the selections they offer, The Filet Sliders & the Scallop Martini was my favorites, and my son loved the Sampler which offered a selection of wonderful meats & cheeses and other goodies.

The Seaside Grill offers Eggs Benedict and yummy Belgian Waffles, we also had Filet & Lobster one evening. Again, great food and service.

The room were wonderful, lots of handmade woodworking throughout! The furniture is all made from wood that came from the Bastrop Fires, it was beautiful. The beds and linens are super comfy.

All the staff are friendly and I can see why they all have smiles on their faces, it would be a great place to work! The resort has a great story behind it, we found it very interesting and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Get the family suite, you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, General Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for the great review! I am so glad that you and your child loved the resort. With all the options from the Waterpark to the Food & Beverage outlets there is plenty to do and eat around the property. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    59
    22
    9
    16
See reviews for
92
12
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at the new resort over the Thanksgiving holiday.

The Pro's:

The staff was great. Everyone we dealt with from the front desk, cleaning crew, lifeguards etc were pleasant and attentative.

The park and rooms were clean.

The food at the seaside bistro was good and affordable for the portions.

The location was perfect. We would walk down a flight of stairs and be in the waterpark, or walk a few yards down the ramp and be on the beach. Perfect to spend half the day on the beach, and half at the park.

The Con's:

The only grip to keep it from being a 5 star review was the fact that the indoor park was not heated. It was my understanding that the entire indoor park had heated water. That was not the case. Only the swim up bar had a heated pool. This caused a pretty big crowd in the small pool since the other areas were pretty cold.

The "No Horseplay" rule could have been enforced better in this pool, since a lot of bigger kids were rough housing and splashing, where it should have been a relaxing place to enjoy a drink.

I would definitely return, but would come earlier in the season when the water is warmer if you want to enjoy all the rides.

Also, the elevators are painfully slow, so I would advise to take the stairs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, General Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a response. We have rectified the issue with the water heater, and I am extremely happy to say our water park is indoor and completely heated. You can come when ever you like, no matter the weather outside, and have a blast in the warm water park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel this summer with my family and i was very impressed with all the immenities this hotel has to offer, Though there wave pool at the hotel was not open, in the evening, the hotel guests were treated to chaparoned excursion thru the river ride located in the hotel grounds. The resturants in the resort were very good, by the way if your ordering the nachos as an appetizer make sure there is at least four of you. You will really enjoy the bar on the fifth floor. The whole floor is a patio with a great view of the ocean. We enjoyed our stay and will be back in the near future.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the ocean, The view is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, General Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments. The Sea4Ever Lounge does have awesome views. We look forward to having you and your family with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cibolo, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Was in the Valley on Business Last week and stayed at the New Scheliterbahn Beach Resort. Great standard room with King bed. Room was very nice and very comfortable. Good rate for a one night business trip. Looking forward to staying over a weekend to experience the new indoor water park. Had an meal in the Restaurant was very good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, General Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
The close proximity of South Padre Island to the rest of valley is a great secret for business travelers. You can contact the hotel directly for business rates if you come down frequently. Thank you for the comment and you will absolutely love the Water Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

THIS IS A PLACE FOR EVERY AGE! WE'LL BE COMING EVERY YEAR!!
Resort A+++
The resort and waterparks were always nice and clean which can be difficult when it's next to a beac h area. But they must have a extra special cleaning groups because they did awesome.
Customer Service A++
It was amazing! I was so overwhelmed in a great way with the concept of everything in one place. From the time you check your car (very nice guys with smiles) to the check in time which very fast and again they were so nice and the process was so friendly with smiles all the time. This went on the whole time we were there. Then you go to your room. On the way to our room you see the indoor/ outdoor water parks in the hotel (all of a sudden you feal like your a big kid again) so I went to our rooms quickly and then off to find the family that abanded me to abrutly.
Food A++
The food was A+ we decided to try the eat at the resort (gained a few pounds but it was worth it). Hey I was on vacation!!
Waterpark & Resort A++
The waterpark was so much fun. The water so clear and you relax the whole the whole time your therere. We even had an opportunity to go the beach because the resort is off the beach. That's another reason why I love this resort (you don't have to go anywhere else).
Rooms A++
Our rooms were amazing. The beds very very very comfortable. The rooms were always sparkly clean whenever you come back to your rooms. When you have been to the beach or the Pool all day you know how nice it is to have that available to you whenever you want to.
At the end of our time none of us wanted to go! So we'll be back

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, General Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review and I am glad to hear you had such a terrific experience at our Hotel. We look forward to having you and your family with us on your next trip to South Padre Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I usually go out of my way to post a 5 star review; however, this was our anniversary and we expected much better service and especially accomodations. We paid very good money and
the king size room we had was directly next to the ice machine which roared every 15 minutes on the hour not with anyone getting ice either it just ran on a cycle. We had the room next to us argue all night our first night, we called the front desk 4 times and no one would answer although it was 3:00am, we were very concerned for the lady. When I bought this to the desk manager on duty DENISE, she said "you should have called the desk". I did. Regarding the ice machine and the noise she said "Come back another time and we'll take care of it". WITH SERVICE LIKE THIS MANAGER DENISE, WE RECOMMEND NOT EVEN OUR ENEMIES STAY HERE AS THERE ARE NICER PROPERTIES UP AND DOWN THE ROAD, The water park is half the size of Galvestons and we live 20 miles from there. They didn't have a business center or a copier for those who work and play either!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, General Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
My apologies for the issues that you had during your stay. We do try to focus on all of our guests needs and do our best to make sure that they are addressed. We have made sure there is no further issue with our phone system, and the ice machines. We are a brand new Hotel and we want to make sure that our guests have the best possible stay every time and are making strides to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Schlitterbahn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlitterbahn Beach Resort

Address: 100 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Schlitterbahn Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Schlitterbahn Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.