We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fajitas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Hacienda

La Hacienda
202 W. Tarpoon, South Padre Island, TX
+1 956-761-1164
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Edinburg, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Fajitas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife had the chile rellenos which were good but my black Angus fajitas were exceptional. The restaurant looked new or maybe just renovated or under new management It has a great view looking out to the causeway bridge near Port Isabel.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    25
    9
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious new restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Sleak and stylish inside and out, this restaurant looked AND tasted great! Talked with the manager the night we visited and they were still going strong even in November when most of the island is dead! They are still fairly new, but they know how to make amazing mexican dishes that look and taste fresh. Plus they sit directly on the bay so you have great views any time. The big flood lights at night are really neat for seeing the fish and swans glowing in and on the water!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good food nice service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Great location on bay for evening sunset dining. They could put in some window treatments as it does get bright. Friendly staff- and we were there right after the hectic Easter rush. Good food, not cheap but worth the visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Margaritas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

While the margaritas were great and the view of the bay spectacular, the enchiladas were disappointing. I ordered a plate with fajita taco (outstanding), and two enchiladas (cheese & fajita) which would have been good except for incredible amount of cheese melted over them. I ended up eating just the taco, taking the enchiladas home, where I peeled the cheese off them and enjoyed them cheeseless the next day. Also, the type of cheese was anything but traditional. Service was friendly and it was an enjoyable evening, however, with so many Mexican restaurants in the area, I think they need to bump the food up a bit and the price down a bit to compete.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great View of Laguna Madre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

South Padre has a lot of open air restaurants and sometimes you want something more weather-friendly but still with a great view of the Laguna Madre. You should consider La Hacienda. It's a Mexican restaurant (surprise!) with a "right on the water" presence that allows you the best possible sunset shows without sitting in the heat, rain or wind. I chose fajitas on my visit and the dish was well-prepared, satisfactory in every way. The guacamole was prepared table side so was very fresh and lovely. The service was a little slow but it was pretty busy that evening. As I was deciding what I should drink our waiter suggested "try the cucumber martini". I LOVED it!. The key is the cucumber puree and the glass rimmed with a mixture of chili powder, lime and salt. Everyone at my table had one and we all agreed - delicious, refreshing and went down very smoothly. You could get into trouble drinking too many of these vodka concoctions!

I liked the look of the bar, the staff was friendly, everything was spotless, and as I said earlier... with the exception of a small outside seating area, it's all enclosed from the elements with an attractive layout and decor. And sometimes that's what you want on South Padre. I recommend it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Hacienda also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to La Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Hacienda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.