We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coupon very deceiving!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Original Dolphin Watch

The Original Dolphin Watch
33256 Park Road 100 Sute 104, South Padre Island, TX
(956) 761-4243
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most unique activities on South Padre Island is the dolphin watching tour. South Texas is a year-round home to several large pods of dolphin and The Original Dolphin Watch is your ticket to viewing them in all their natural splendor. One of the most memorable activities you will take part in while visiting South Padre is a cruise with us. Share the thrill of meeting bottle nose and spinner dolphins in the wild and experience the unique bond and kinship they inspire in mankind.Dolphin Watch TourDolphin Watch Eco-TourDolphin Watch Sunset TourDolphin Watch Fireworks Tour
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Coupon very deceiving!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I'm not sure what ever happened to "the customer is always right", but it doesn't apply here at The Original Dolphin Watch. I had a coupon for $3 an adult price cruise, excluding the Friday night fireworks cruise. We chose the "morning special" as it is the time that worked best for our son's nap schedule. They refused to honor the coupon, saying that the cruise we chose was already discounted. I overheard the worker who I discussed the issue with telling the 'manager', who never even said boo to me. I realize $3 isn't much, but if so, then why couldn't they have honored their coupon?! The cruise itself was fine, but once we discovered Pier 19, we would've saved the money and frustration and just sat on Pier 19 all day and seen many many more dolphins closer.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    20
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dolphin watching...a must do. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A definite to do when visiting South Padre. It wasn't a very nice day out but we went anyway. It was a great way to spend the afternoon. We sat on the upper deck and loved being out on the water with the wind and the waves. The boat is big enough that it could handle the waves so no worries about that. And then we saw the dolphins and we (four 40 year old women) turned in to 4 year olds squealing with excitement. The boat's crew was great about pointing out the dolphins and positioning the boat to stay with them. We also went up the shipping channel and loved seeing the waves break between the gulf and the bay.

It was a very reasonable price, $16 and then we found a $3 off coupon online. $13 for 2 hours was a great deal.

There was more than enough seating, sturdy benches with backs. You could also walk around the boat so you could see the dolphins on all sides.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Had such a great time when my husband and I took this tour, that we got together with some relatives and took the tour again the next weekend. The second time there was a storm brewing so no one showed up for the tour but us. One young captain volunteered to take us out but on a much smaller boat. We got soaked but had so much fun, we had a great adventure. The guides were great and gave great info on both tours. They were very friendly! Anyone coming to SPI needs to take this tour at least once! We saw many dolphins, pelicans and birds. We plan to go again next year when we take our RV back to Isla Blanca Park.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We picked a horrible day to go! The staff was very nice and courteous. We only saw a couple dolphins in a distance and very briefly. In my opinion, not the best dolphin tour in town.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“"Great staff, nice hour and a half ride/tour, very reasonably priced."”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The tour guides were great; friendly and knowledgeable. The actual cost of the trip was extremely reasonable at $13 per person and they do not charge for children under two.

We did not see a ton of dolphins, but we did get to see several over the course of the trip. The sea life they brought up from their fishing net was very interesting and everyone on the boat seemed to like being able to hold and/or touch the various sea life they pulled up.

I would recommend this excursion for a nice, quiet, and inexpensive way to explore the water around SPI.

Also, this boat is BYOB, so you can enjoy a beer or two while you sight-see!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Dolphin Watch also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Original Dolphin Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Original Dolphin Watch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.