We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to vacation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7000 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Manitoba
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to vacation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

We enjoy our stay at the hotel and this is our 5th year coming here from Canada. We have already booked for 2 months next year. The accommodations are very nice and we appreciate that there are upgrades where needed each time we come down. The staff is pleasant and most accommodating. Great breakfasts and we really appreciate the functions that you plan for your winter Texans. It makes us feel very welcome and appreciated. We have recommended this hotel to a number of our friends who have stayed here on our recommendation.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    216
    89
    71
    65
See reviews for
304
196
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lee's Summit
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

What a great place to stay. Wonderful rooms. Fantastic breakfasts!! Very hospitable staff.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2009

We stayed here in November 2007 and had a good visit, so we booked at La Quinta over the Thanksgiving holiday again. As before, we stayed here specifically because they allowed pets - we had the two family dogs with us. We arrived about one hour before check-in and the room was ready. We stayed on the south side, ground floor. The view was not great, as it primarily looked at a brick wall of a neighboring building. However, it did have a door to a patio that allowed us to easily let the dogs out to, well, ... you know. The door had several locks, so I did not feel unsafe.

The room was fine - it had recently been painted with more traditional "warm southwestern" colors, was clean, and was fairly quiet. We noticed that several other people had their dogs (which may be a concern for people with allergies), but we rarely heard any barking.

I would note that there is significant construction going on just immediately north of the hotel - and I do mean immediately north. At this time, I would arrive early and request a room on the south side, as one would hear the sounds of pounding hammers all day if staying on the north side.

The hotel offers a nightly happy hour with two complimentary drinks as well as popcorn. The continental breakfast was fine, and each morning varied on a selection of scrambled eggs, or ham and cheese quesadillas, etc. It was usually quite busy all morning.

Access to the beach could not be better. The pool sits directly on the beach and it is only a short stroll from the room to the waves.

I did have one negative incident. The Chevy emblem was taken off the car trunk during one night's stay. I came out of the hotel on Friday morning, and saw it had been pried off - as it was there the previous evening. I would add, that while I know I park at my own risk, about half the lights in the lot were off/burned out, and the video camera surveillance of the parking lot was out. There were no other concerns, but thought it should be mentioned. I parked much closer to the building the next evening.

All in all, a good stay, and I will plan to stay again - especially if we bring our dogs.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

I stayed here for 3 nights and it was fantastic. The price was great and included breaksfast and bar drinks. The pool and hot tub was very nice and no one else was using it. The rooms were extremely clean and spacious. 2 queen beds and a living room area with beautiful view of the water. This is the last hotel on the northern side of the island but not for long because they are building a new hotel next door. Staff were excellent. I have no complaints. I also stayed at the travel lodge and the wanna wanna and the La Quinta beats both of them.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

I can't praise this hotel highly enough. For the money it is exceptional value, a great location, clean spacious and well maintained, and great staff.

We booked a sea view suite, which came with a large jacuzzi, two queen sized beds, a kitchen area, two flat screen TVs, fridge, microwave, excellent pool and hot tub, walk straight out to beatiful white sand beach, beach showers, great location next to wildlife area. Even provided free drinks vouchers, which are just not expected from a hotel like this, and free wired and wireless internet. Oh, and free hot breakfast which wasn't bad.

If we go to the area again there is no doubt we will stay here.

See Dolphins, Turtles and Pelicans.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

Recently stayed one night in La Quinta Inn & Suites. The cleanliness in the room and the public areas was superb. Room decor isvery attractive, beds, pillows and linens exceedingly comfortable, A/C worked really well. There is a microwave and a small refrigerator in the room, plus a sofa, 2 side chairs and an ergonomic chair at the desk. Power strip at the desk was not active, but I did not discover this until the morning I was checking out and trying to charge my phone. The day before, shortly after check-in, I discovered the toilet seat was loose, one of the closet doors would not open and one light buib was burned out. All issues were rectified quickly when maintenance was called and the hotel engineer appeared in 10 minutes!!
Location on the beach could not be better. Although the hotel charges $25.00 per day for a beach chair and an umbrella, there are plenty of chairs in the pool area , the viewing area and under the gazebo to sit and lounge in or watch activities at the beach.

Food in the restaurant by the pool has limited selections but is freshly prepared by staff who care about doing a good job. Unfortunately, this restaurant does not sell bottled water but it is available from a vending machine closer to the lobby area.

Free internet available at the business center although it is quite slow.

Free breakfast in the morning is provided. However, it was extremely limited in choices with only cereal, juices, bagels, tiny muffins (no pastries) and a limited assortments of whole fruits.

Another reviewer brought up the issue of only one car pass issued per room. I understand this policy fully, as the parking area is very long and narrow and if more than one pass were to be issued, there may not be space for all the registered hotel guests.
Someone else indicated that the soundproofing was very bad. We did not experiece this as an issue. We requested a room on the top floor on the opposite side of the hotel from where the construction of an adjacent hotel is being built. Front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating. Indeed all staff were very friendly as were all of the guests.

Hotel obviously allows pets as we saw approximately 5 dogs with their owners in the hotels... most of whom had been enjoying the beach... but all of whom had been washed off before returning to the interior of the hotel. The hotel provides a spray nozzle just up the steps from the beach with which to wash off... hotel also provides towels for the pool and the beach.

All in all, it was a nice hotel to stay in and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON TEXAS
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

I was terrified of what I might find when I arrived at LaQuinta after reading all the reviews on TA. There was no reason to be afraid, this place is CLEAN, NEWLY PAINTED and remodeled on almost all floors. There is still work being done somewhere because I saw them carrying out old stuff but never heard anything. Check in was easy, breakfast was great, sometimes crowded. The beds are comfy and the bedding all seems new and elegant. no raoches. Dogs were no bother. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Address: 7000 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn & Suites is a Texas Beach hotel located on the north beach on South Padre Island. Hotel is located directly on the beach, featuring an ocean-side swimming pool, restaurant and bar. Enjoy free wireless high speed internet in your room, throughout the hotel, and outside to the pool and beach! Free bright side breakfast every morning featuring fresh Belgian waffles and a made-to-order omelet station. Host events for up to 200 people in our grand ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
La Quinta South Padre Island
South Padre Island La Quinta
s Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.