We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend family getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7000 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Brownsville, Texas, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Weekend family getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Room was clean and as described. Loved that pool was heated being that it was chilly that evening. The breakfast made our whole stay worth it. Great value! Made my stay worth every penny. The only thing I didn't really like was that the fixtures in the bathroom had rust stains which gave the impression that the room was dated. Overall I liked my stay. The price was a good value if you're looking for a quick economical getaway.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for allowing La Quinta Inn & Suites to host you on your visit to beautiful South Padre Island. We’re glad your quick getaway was enjoyable. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and heated pool. Thank you for letting us know about the rust stains in the bathrooms so that we are able to take action on fixing that problem. We hope that this experience brings you back to La Quinta on a future stay.

Best wishes,
Aaron R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    200
    83
    69
    65
See reviews for
284
177
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the La Quinta in South Padre Island. It is located on the beach, and sandwiched between the Hilton Garden Inn and theClayton Beach Bar. We stayed Oct 24 - Oct 26th. They were doing renovation work in the lobby, but that didn't effect checking in too much. It seems that parking was not adequate for the hotel, especially if you have a boat. We stayed on the fourth floor. The hallway and our room had a noticeable dank/musty smell to it, but it was not overpowering and you got used to it after a while. The room itself was ok. It had two queen beds, a mini-fridge, microwave, and a small flat screen TV. There was also a small balcony with a view of the parking lot. Beds were comfortable. Free WI-Fi, providing you give them your email so they can spam you with promotional offers later. Free daily continental breakfast from 7 to 10 was served on the fourth floor for all hotel guests. For some reason, there was a large number of hotel guests staying there with dogs. The hotel pool was rather small, and there is also a small hot tub adjacent to it, One thing I didn't like was all the rules posted at the pool (see pic). You're not allowed to have your own cooler or bring drinks to the pool area. You're only allowed to purchase alcoholic beverages from their poolside bar and grill, which was only open between 3-7 PM. There's an area behind the pool with chairs/lounge chairs set up for sunning and to look out over the beach. There's a set of stairs leading down to the beach area. For a nominal fee of $25 you can rent two lounge chairs/umbrella for the day. The beach itself is not very wide...20 to 50 feet depending on tidal surge. The beach has lots of seaweed, but it was scooped up by a tractor daily, and deposited right next to the stairs (see pic). Clayton's next door was decent, though the drink prices seemed a bit high. We ate a a couple of restaurants in town - Parrot Eyes, Black Beards, and Sea Ranch. Of the three, Sea Ranch was my favorite. We went fishing at the Pirate's landing pier in Port Isabelle, but didn't catch much of anything. Overall stay was ok, but didn't wow me in any way. The breeze from the beach was nice at night, and there was a firework show Friday night on the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Richard,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us in a very detailed paragraph. We’re pleased to hear your stay with us was a positive experience. It is great that you were able to try some of the island’s top restaurants. We truly hope this experience will bring you back to La Quinta so that you may have another great experience on your visit to South Padre Island.

Sincerely,
Aaron R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just stayed at LaQuinta on South Padre October 16-18, 2013. We shared a room with our parents and they rooms are very spacious. They are updating the hotel but the construction did not bother our stay. This is their low season so we had no problem with noise. Had a beautiful ocean front view and the price was fair. The staff was very kind from the front desk to the house keepers. The beds were so comfy!!! The daily breakfast was good, I don't require much so it suited us just fine. A few things that could be corrected. Failed to get wash cloths everyday. The bathroom shower needed some TLC.

We enjoyed our stay and would return for sure!!!

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the 3rd and 4th floor facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We're very glad that you enjoyed South Padre Island and our hotel as much as you did. We constantly work hard to ensure that all of our guests have a perfect stay. However, we apologize about the wash clothes and the shower. We will correct this immediately. Thanks again for the great review and we hope to see you on South Padre Island again soon!

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

For the price great hotel. Staff nice, hotel clean, nice, beach access, nice pool and large patio over seeing ocean. Full breakfast very good. Needs better parking lot lighting. During out stay Oct, 2013 front lobby was under renovation but did not bother us with the rest of the benefits. One more thing the water pressure in out room 437 was lower than it should be. Our friends on the third floor had not problem with pressure.

Room Tip: need beach view as for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hello guest,

We're more than happy you and your friends had a wonderful time with us during your visit in SPI! We're delighted you enjoyed our view, spacious room, wonderful staff, and the full breakfast. We appreciate you expressing your concerns and we take a look at room 437. Thank you so such a fabulous review and we will feel honored if you choose us again during your next visit in SPI.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Address: 7000 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn & Suites is a Texas Beach hotel located on the north beach on South Padre Island. Hotel is located directly on the beach, featuring an ocean-side swimming pool, restaurant and bar. Enjoy free wireless high speed internet in your room, throughout the hotel, and outside to the pool and beach! Free bright side breakfast every morning featuring fresh Belgian waffles and a made-to-order omelet station. Host events for up to 200 people in our grand ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
La Quinta South Padre Island
South Padre Island La Quinta
s Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.