We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, access to beach, great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7000 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, access to beach, great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

For the price great hotel. Staff nice, hotel clean, nice, beach access, nice pool and large patio over seeing ocean. Full breakfast very good. Needs better parking lot lighting. During out stay Oct, 2013 front lobby was under renovation but did not bother us with the rest of the benefits. One more thing the water pressure in out room 437 was lower than it should be. Our friends on the third floor had not problem with pressure.

Room Tip: need beach view as for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hello guest,

We're more than happy you and your friends had a wonderful time with us during your visit in SPI! We're delighted you enjoyed our view, spacious room, wonderful staff, and the full breakfast. We appreciate you expressing your concerns and we take a look at room 437. Thank you so such a fabulous review and we will feel honored if you choose us again during your next visit in SPI.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    257
    104
    80
    78
See reviews for
359
239
25
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent three nights at this hotel while attending a High School Reunion. Our first impression was not good since, when entering the lobby we noted that it was an absolute mess being renovated. Dirt and debris where everywhere. Rhw noise was so overpowering that I could not hear or at times understand what the desk clerk was saying. Our room was adequate, but it was apparent that this was a much older hotel that had been remodeled some time ago. Overall our room was clean, well equipped with a coffee maker and microwave, and the beds were comfortable.Amenities consisted of coffe, teas, and standard bathroom items as most hotels offer. Nothing really noteworthy. We have stayed at several La Quinta's previously and this one just was not up to standards we have experienced in the past. Although the staff was courtious and professional, there seemed to be an air of "Don't bother me with your problems" attitude. Housekeeping did a fantastic job of keeping everything clean, especially since this hotel is right on the beach. Tile floors where in every room to keep the sand and dirt from the beach to a minimum. Each room has a small balcony. On our side of the hotel, the balcony overlooked the Hilton Garden Inn pool area, with a sideways view of the beach. Noise was a problem at times. We were on the third floor, north side. The complimentary breakfast was just okay. There were hot items such as eggs, eggs mixed with sausage, and a Mexican fare consisting or Hueves Rancheros, refried beans, salsas and tortillas. Cereals, oatmeal, pastries, bagels, and Belguim Waffles were also available. Overall the breakfast was okay. On the last night we killed two spiders about the size of a dime, freaking out my wife. When I mentioned this to the desk when checking out, the response was, "I'm sorry you had spiders in your room" that was it! Parking at this hotel is by permit issued at time of check in. If there is a large function going on (as in our case) parking becomes a major issue. We would probably not stay at this hotel again, given the large choices of hotels on South Padre Isand. We stayed here because there were a block of rooms reserved for the Class Reunion.

Room Tip: The higher the better. Both sides of the hotel face pool areas and can be noisy at the lower levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Ron,

Congratulations on your high school reunion! Thank you for allowing La Quinta Inn & Suites to host you on your visit to South Padre Island. We’re delighted to hear about your experience with us. We offer our most sincere apology for the inconvenience the renovation caused during your stay. We’re glad that you were able to enjoy the cleanliness of our hotel and our complimentary breakfast, despite the renovation. We hope that this experience does not impede your return on your next visit to the island. We’d love to have you back!

Sincerely,
Aaron R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have stayed at this La Quinta several times dating back to when it opened. Once upon a time it was our favorite place: spacious rooms, views of the ocean, proximity to the beach, excellent deck area, hot tub, happy hour outdoors, good breakfast. Some of those things remain, although the building has taken some abuse from annual spring breakers. The maid service is friendly (not much English), but we had trouble getting any washcloths. The main problem is a place next door, downwind, called Clayton's Bar. Their horribly loud and garish music goes on non-stop hour after hour, day and night, and it's now impossible to enjoy being at the beach at this hotel. The two establishments are now connected, so the riff-raff from the bar can walk directly over and take up the La Quinta deck chairs with immunity. Our last visit, a special occasion with another couple, was completely ruined. We won't be able to stay here again. So sad.

Room Tip: You would have to give up the ocean view, but to be away from the bar noise you would stay on the no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay. We’re very sorry your stay with us wasn’t everything you expected. We do our utmost to exceed every guest expectations and fulfill their satisfaction. We apologize we couldn’t deliver on that note for you and your spouse. We hope you will at least still consider us for the next time you visit SPI and give us another shot.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Let me start off by saying this is not a high end hotel. But, the housekeeping department is everywhere all the time. I even saw them wiping down vending machines and elevator doors. The lobby and public areas are white glove clean. I never saw any sand or debris in the hotel, pool area, or beach area. It has a few nice spots to wander around on the property and you can take long walks on the beach. The hotel has a little funky smell, but i guess being near the water it's inevitable. Like i said, the place was immaculately clean. Each room has a small balcony, which I loved and used it quite often. The suites have bigger balconies, but unless you are traveling with a lot of people, the small one was just fine. The front desk staff is outstanding. Very accommodating in every way. I mostly dealt with Damaso (please forgive me if spelling is wrong) and Veronica. I travel quite a bit and have had some horrific customer service experiences. This hotel outshines every other place I have visited. Friendly staff (including Housekeeping) that aims to please. The manager must be doing a great job of training and follow up. Usually, good or bad service starts at the top with management, so kudos to the manager and his wonderful staff. The only thing I would change is the funky smell in the rooms and upper hallways, but not sure if it can be helped. I will definitely be back....hopefully real soon. Can't wait!!

Room Tip: My room faced the Hilton's pool area, but I never heard any noise around me. Not sure what it wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Miriam,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed the facilities and were able to relax on your trip in South Padre. Our pool and specular views can easily do that to you! Your feedback truly means a lot to us and has been shared with the entire team. Thank you for selecting us and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel is a great get away, our dogs were welcome at the hotel and the staff was very friendly. The hotel is located right next to a nature park and there was hardly any people on the beach and we were able to let our dogs off the leash. I defenatly will be coming back to this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write us a great review regarding your stay at the La Quinta SPI. We’re thrilled you and family enjoyed your stay loving the hotel, birding center, and our pet friendly atmosphere. We work hard to exceed every guest’s expectations and glad we fulfilled yours. Thank you for choosing us and we’ll look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 33 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 902 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 33 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#8 of 33 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#12 of 33 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,129 reviews
3.9 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#9 of 33 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
1.6 mi away
Knights Inn South Padre Island
Knights Inn South Padre Island
#14 of 33 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Address: 7000 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn & Suites is a Texas Beach hotel located on the north beach on South Padre Island. Hotel is located directly on the beach, featuring an ocean-side swimming pool, restaurant and bar. Enjoy free wireless high speed internet in your room, throughout the hotel, and outside to the pool and beach! Free bright side breakfast every morning featuring fresh Belgian waffles and a made-to-order omelet station. Host events for up to 200 people in our grand ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
La Quinta South Padre Island
South Padre Island La Quinta
s Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.