We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay palce to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7000 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Prosper, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Okay palce to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

room not bad, balcony is very small, maid service has a lot to be desired for, we stayed here for 7 nights, sometimes you get wash clothes, shampoo,soap,and coffee every day is different they through the bed covers over the bed and pillows looks like my 5 yr. old did it. The beach bar & grill has no operating hours posted it's a guess when they open or close. They do have a breakfast bar they make waffles with strawberries and whip cream, 2 to 3 different type of scramble eggs,ect...not to bad. We had 2 queen size beds they were pretty good the pillows not so good. Not a bad stay, I just could not believe how many people stayed here that had 1 to 2 dogs and they would bring them to the pool area and the fight among the dogs was on.

Room Tip: has a beach club next door great if you like to listen to bands on the weekends and it's right o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience and for choosing La Quinta during your stay in South Padre Island. We are sorry for the inconveniences you encountered during your 7 night stay. We will take all of your comments serious and address them individually. We hope that you choose to stay with us once again and allow us to prove our dedication to your satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    200
    83
    69
    65
See reviews for
285
178
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The location of this hotel is great, short walk to the beach. The building itself is old and dated, and not very clean. The layout of our room was great, we had a balcony overlooking the pool and beach and a Jacuzzi tub. The king size bed was extremely uncomfortable and our backs were very sore by the time we left (we stayed 3 nights). The cleanliness of the room was ok, but the hallways and elevators and stairways were dirty and smelled horrible. The breakfast was just ok, they did have eggs and tortillas to make breakfast tacos which was a pleasant surprise. The bar and grill by the pool closed one hour early one night we tried to eat there, not sure why. Didn't even get in the pool as it was so small and crowded, same with the hot tub. Were kept awake at night by people in the pool/hot tub at all hours of the night. Wouldn't recommend a room overlooking the pool for that reason. We won't stay here again, the Hilton Garden Inn next door was MUCH nicer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a valued review and for choosing La Quinta South Padre Island. We are pleased you enjoyed our location, the short walk to the beach, and your room. We are apologize that our cleanliness didn’t meet your expectations and we can assure you will not find the same problem if you visit us again. Let us prove this to you and please give us another shot.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Staff is very helpful for your special needs, esp Frank at the frontdesk. Being on the beach directly, only one on the island, it naturally is going to be sandy some of the time. Beds are comfortable, linen white. Breakfast is large and freshly cracked and cooked eggs. Very pet friendly but not much green space for the dogs. North end of the island had less traffic. The beach bar will bring in a younger noisy crowd for spring break. We have been there for 3 months every year x8 and enjoy it. Yes, the hotel is looking worn but each season things are getting updated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your to the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor and for choosing La Quinta Inn. We are always happy to hear of a customer who really had enjoyed themselves. Our staff will be thrilled you like our large breakfast, pet friendly atmosphere, and the friendliness of the staff. Please come visit us again the next time you are in South Padre Island.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

While the staff and location is great and I suspect this could be one of the better hotels on SPI, our experience was disappointing. Hallways are about 100 yards long and seem to amplify noise. Young kids and dogs running the floor not great for sleeping. Bed was uncomfortable and worst pillows I've had in years. I travel about 75-100 nights year on business and came away with back ache and neck worse than any other hotel.

Room Tip: About 20% of rooms are near road and face hotel to the East. This means your room has a view of bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We'd like to thank you for choosing La Quinta South Padre Island and for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you enjoyed our location and friendly staff. However, we are truly sorry we didn’t meet your expectations. We hope that you choose to stay with us once again and allow us to prove our dedication to your satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This property is one of the 'new' style of LQ Hotels (vs. the older style LQ motels). We stayed here one night because of the good reviews. It has very good beach front access and the beach is really nice. Has a small pool and tanning area and bar by the pool. The hotel looks really nice, although it is starting to show its age. They put us on the first floor and as I walked into the room I was awed by how pretty it was, with the 10 foot ceilings, nice fixtures and drapes, and sitting area in the room. The room was very nice and clean!

The "mixed bag" portion is the repairs that have been done to the hotel are done "second" class and quickly, i.e. the door stop on the wall was missing, they just "paint" over marks and the paint doesn't quite match the original. Also, did I mention that on the first floor, the hallways are all ceramic tile? Well, now that i've stayed a night, I know that the ceramic tile acts as a acoustialc enhancer, meaning everything is loud on the hallway. It was a terrible night of sleep because I literally heard everyone going down the halls. (When the a/c was running, it was fine, but whenever the a/c stopped, you could once again hear everything). If you stay here, be sure to pay for a second floor or higher room.

We walked next door to the Hilton Garden Inn. It is REALLY nice. MY TIP: If you can swing it, stay there instead of this LQ. Pool and common areas are much nicer and bigger and everything looks to be taken care of better than at the LQ. Would I pay $100 more for a room at the Hilton? No, but if it's the same price or close, definitely choose the Hilton.

Room Tip: Request a second floor room or higher. Don't let them put you on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are grateful that you took the time to write such a thorough and informative review. We are pleased that you found our location to be convenient and our rooms to be clean and very nice. We are very sorry you had encountered difficulties during your stay with us. We are going to look further into the tile issue. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We hope that you will consider giving us another try.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

IF YOU LIKE DIRT, LOTS OF KIDS AND MUSIC BLARING TIL 2 OCLOCK IN THE MORNING, This is the place for you! Planned a relaxing 3 days on South Padre. This was our first visit and we were really looking forward to it. Arrived late at hotel expecting to get dinner, relax and sleep. We had reserved the jacuzzi beach front suite. The room was ok, no decor, but you had to get past kids to get there. Balcony tiny and sand everywhere. Buckets of pine sol in lobby, obviously for show, because place was dirty. Right next door on beach was a band playing. It was so loud that the room vibrated! The front desk apologized but said there was nothing they could do about it. We kept tv on trying to drown out music. Needless to say, no sleep was had. My husband goes to get coffee in morning and opens door to a guy sleeping against it! that was it. We weren't staying. Went down to checkout and again was told they couldnt do anything about loud music. Didn't flinched when I told him about the guy sleeping next to our door. Asked to speak to manager. He wasn't in but they gave me his number to call. Have tried and all I get is a voicemail that the mailbox is full. BEWARE! Not what you would expect of a La Quinta.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are very sorry you had so much difficulty with your stay. Spring break during March can be a hectic week for anyone on South Padre Island. These types of incidents are not common here and can assure you a different experience the next time you visit South Padre Island. Again thank you for our feedback your opinion is appreciated.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel is outstanding. Everything about our stay was tremendous. Not only is the hotel right on the beach but it has a nice pool and cabana area. In addition, the hotel is right next to Clayton's Beach Bar, which is dubbed the largest beach bar in Texas. Our room was clean and spacious with free Wi-Fi. The free breakfast was the best I've ever seen and they have it in a large conference room on the fourth floor. Parking is free. The staff was friendly professional and courteous and the hotel has security so it is quiet at night. I can't say enough good things about this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Jack,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to express them. We are delighted to read that you found everything about your stay tremendous. Our staff will be happy to hear that you had enjoyed their presence. Thank you once again and please come visit us again the next time you are in South Padre Island.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Address: 7000 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn & Suites is a Texas Beach hotel located on the north beach on South Padre Island. Hotel is located directly on the beach, featuring an ocean-side swimming pool, restaurant and bar. Enjoy free wireless high speed internet in your room, throughout the hotel, and outside to the pool and beach! Free bright side breakfast every morning featuring fresh Belgian waffles and a made-to-order omelet station. Host events for up to 200 people in our grand ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
La Quinta South Padre Island
South Padre Island La Quinta
s Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.