We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convienant and Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7000 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
philadelphia, pa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Convienant and Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

In looking for a 2 day stay, I looked at all the hotels along Padre Blvd. We chose La Quinta based on its proximity to a friend's condo. With no expectations, we were more than happy with the cleanliness and the competency and friendliness at the front desk. I would certainly come back on my next trip to South Padre.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view even if you did not book one...they will accommodate if there are rooms availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing La Quinta and taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are glad you found your 2 day stay with us enjoyable and satisfying. Please come visit us again.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    216
    89
    71
    65
See reviews for
304
196
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alamo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This Motel is the BEST La Quinta I know of baring none anywhere I live in Alamo Tx and love to go to the Island. My sister and brother were down for visit and my boyfriend and I took them to SPI for Brownsville boat tour which is also great 4 hour trip and includes lunch. and the stay at La Quinta

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing La Quinta and leaving us with kind comments once again. We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us during your visit to South Padre Island. Our staff hopes to see you again soon for your third visit to South Padre Island.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Falls, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is our first time on South Padre Island. We have had a fantastic stay at La Quinta. It is clean, staff is great. Two-person jacuzzi in our room is a great way to relax after a day on the beach or walking around town. Other visitors are considerate and friendly - great Midwestern winter Texans.

The daily free breakfast is excellent - real eggs, not powdered. Also includes all the choices of cereal, breads, fruit, juice, etc. No on-site restaurant, but only a 5-minute drive to town where there are plenty of places to eat. Rooms have a microwave, mini-fridge, and coffee pot. Bath towels are soft and large, and beach towels are provided.

We enjoy being away from the more heavily populated southern part of the island, while being just a mile or two from the shops and restaurants. We also love the 100% non-smoking environment and being next door to Clayton's outdoor bar and grill. We are across the highway from the Birding Center and the Sea Turtle Rescue. Highly recommend this hotel for a great stay. We will definitely be back within the year.

J&S from Marble Falls, TX

Room Tip: Avoid spring break (2nd week of March) if you are looking for a quiet stay. East side rooms face th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at La Quinta during your visit to South Padre Island, and thank you for sharing your experience with us and other valued Trip Advisor readers. We are happy to hear that we contributed to your wonderful South Padre trip and you enjoyed your stay with us, your rooms, the breakfast, 100% non-smoking environment and in particular the service provided by our staff. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have visited this hotel several times, on business and on vacation. It is a reasonably priced hotel with a great location on the beach. It is far enough from all the congestion near town, yet close enough to everything you would want to visit on the island. The people are friendly and generally competent. The breakfast room is now located on an upper floor and has a great view. The rooms are comfortable, and the suites (especially the ones overlooking the beach) are quite nice. I like to visit South Padre during the fall and winter months because the crowds are smaller. This hotel is a perfect getaway for a quiet time away from maddening crowds. Probably a different story during spring break, though!

Room Tip: Rent a suite overlooking the beach during November, December or January. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi Walter! We appreciate you taking the time to sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms quite nice. We hope to see you again especially during the fall and winter months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel and would stay here again. The free breakfast was pretty good but crowded compared to our last stay which was just before Thanksgiving 2011. This time of year was going to be crowded anyway with all the winter Texans and really wasn't bad at all. The staff was friendly. We were given free happy hour tickets (two for each night we stayed) that could be redeemed for nonalcoholic drinks also. The happy hour included free queso and chips or popcorn. This hotel is at the end of the island and away from alot of the traffic and business of the island. It is located right across the street from the birding center and next to the Garden Hilton which has a very nice restaurant if you don't want to drive to a restaurant. I believe they had free coffee in the lobby most of the day but could be mistaken. The only down side while we were there was that the water had to be turned off for a good part of the day for maintenance purposes, although the staff did warn us upon checkin two days beforehand, so it wasn't a surprise. Again, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We appreciate your kind comments and are pleased to hear you had enjoyed your time at La Quinta. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts and please come see us again for your third stay in South Padre Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

A wonderful place, on the beach, with free wifi, hot breakfast and plenty of entertainment. We are an older couple but felt right at home, along with our two small dogs. This place is not high class, but it far from a dump. Service was excellent, location can't be beat and we can't wait till we can go back next year for a longer visit. They have special rates for "winter Texas" either by the week or by the month. Come and enjoy the surf, sun, beach and good good.

Room Tip: A good value for your retired dollar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you Denney for taking the time to share with us your experience. The staff will be delighted to hear you had enjoyed your stay. Thanks again for choosing La Quinta and please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Address: 7000 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn & Suites is a Texas Beach hotel located on the north beach on South Padre Island. Hotel is located directly on the beach, featuring an ocean-side swimming pool, restaurant and bar. Enjoy free wireless high speed internet in your room, throughout the hotel, and outside to the pool and beach! Free bright side breakfast every morning featuring fresh Belgian waffles and a made-to-order omelet station. Host events for up to 200 people in our grand ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
La Quinta South Padre Island
South Padre Island La Quinta
s Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.