We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value on South Padre Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7000 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value on South Padre Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have visited this hotel several times, on business and on vacation. It is a reasonably priced hotel with a great location on the beach. It is far enough from all the congestion near town, yet close enough to everything you would want to visit on the island. The people are friendly and generally competent. The breakfast room is now located on an upper floor and has a great view. The rooms are comfortable, and the suites (especially the ones overlooking the beach) are quite nice. I like to visit South Padre during the fall and winter months because the crowds are smaller. This hotel is a perfect getaway for a quiet time away from maddening crowds. Probably a different story during spring break, though!

Room Tip: Rent a suite overlooking the beach during November, December or January. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi Walter! We appreciate you taking the time to sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms quite nice. We hope to see you again especially during the fall and winter months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    208
    88
    70
    65
See reviews for
294
191
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel and would stay here again. The free breakfast was pretty good but crowded compared to our last stay which was just before Thanksgiving 2011. This time of year was going to be crowded anyway with all the winter Texans and really wasn't bad at all. The staff was friendly. We were given free happy hour tickets (two for each night we stayed) that could be redeemed for nonalcoholic drinks also. The happy hour included free queso and chips or popcorn. This hotel is at the end of the island and away from alot of the traffic and business of the island. It is located right across the street from the birding center and next to the Garden Hilton which has a very nice restaurant if you don't want to drive to a restaurant. I believe they had free coffee in the lobby most of the day but could be mistaken. The only down side while we were there was that the water had to be turned off for a good part of the day for maintenance purposes, although the staff did warn us upon checkin two days beforehand, so it wasn't a surprise. Again, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We appreciate your kind comments and are pleased to hear you had enjoyed your time at La Quinta. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts and please come see us again for your third stay in South Padre Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

A wonderful place, on the beach, with free wifi, hot breakfast and plenty of entertainment. We are an older couple but felt right at home, along with our two small dogs. This place is not high class, but it far from a dump. Service was excellent, location can't be beat and we can't wait till we can go back next year for a longer visit. They have special rates for "winter Texas" either by the week or by the month. Come and enjoy the surf, sun, beach and good good.

Room Tip: A good value for your retired dollar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you Denney for taking the time to share with us your experience. The staff will be delighted to hear you had enjoyed your stay. Thanks again for choosing La Quinta and please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This place was great. Happy hour with good food at the resturant. Or a few steps away was the Hilton and they also had a great resturant and great prices. You could walk down to the beach from the hotel, or sit on nice chairs and just look at the ocean.
The only complaint we had about this hotel is that the jets in the hot tub did not work. The other bad thing is we did not want to leave.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello, thank you for leaving us with kind words and choosing La Quinta. We are delighted to read you had a great stay and enjoyed the island's views. I'm sure you will be pleased to know we have recently renovated the hot tubs that will be sure to suit your liking. Please come and see us again and test them out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We spent 4 nights with our pet. We had a room facing the gulf, it was nice but wouldn't do that again. The small porch and I mean small isn't big enough to enjoy sitting outside and enjoy the outdoors. The room was a nice size along with the bathroom. They do have a great breakfast selection not like other LQ;'s that we have been to. This one had selection of eggs, waffles, bacon, sausage, cereal, plenty to pick up from. They do close promptly at 10:00 am though, so don't wait too long after 10. Also had a nice bar in the back of the hotel, the times do vary depending on the season. They also have burgers,etc...
There is also Claytons next door walking distance from the hotel to get cocktails and also food. The Hilton on the other side also has a nice restaurant. Have a few lunch entrees from $5.95, not bad food. This LQ has a little of everything, the pool is small and small hot tub but you have the entire beach right in front of you. We would stay here again not doubt!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello, we appreciate you taking time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear you had a fun four nights with your pet and loved our breakfast. Our staff has enjoyed your stay and only hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We specifically wanted a hotel with that was beachfront, and a room with an water front view. This hotel fits the bill. Beds are comfy and rooms are very spacious. I especially liked that there were chairs and a sofa. The breakfast was nice and well stocked. I really liked the waffles in the shape of texas...would prefer to be able to make my own, but they seem to prefer to have them pre-made for you. Great pool area and this hotel is on a great part of the beach, seems a little less crowded. We were on the 2nd floor and have no complaints about noise...1st floor might be a little noisy. The rooms do show some age and some of the furniture could probably be replaced due to stains, etc. Overall, i would stay here again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi, we are pleased to read you have enjoyed the amenities of La Quinta. Our staff has enjoyed your stay and only hope to see your again. Thank you for sharing your experience with us we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Address: 7000 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn & Suites is a Texas Beach hotel located on the north beach on South Padre Island. Hotel is located directly on the beach, featuring an ocean-side swimming pool, restaurant and bar. Enjoy free wireless high speed internet in your room, throughout the hotel, and outside to the pool and beach! Free bright side breakfast every morning featuring fresh Belgian waffles and a made-to-order omelet station. Host events for up to 200 people in our grand ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
La Quinta South Padre Island
South Padre Island La Quinta
s Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.