We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldie but Goody” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Padre South Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Padre South Hotel to your Saves list
Padre South Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Berlin, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Oldie but Goody”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I had a good 2 night stay here. Third floor, kitchenette, queen bed, sofa sleeper. The hotel is old. Some would call it a classic. I do like the 1950 and 1960 styling of this place. Everything was functional. Everything was clean. Did not use the pool or hot tub. But they we in use frequently while we were there. The friendly staff let us check in early. Check out was a breeze too.
If you need fancy, go some where else. I highly recommend this hotel as a good value for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for an odd number room. The sunrise can be seen from your balcony. The free fireworks too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    30
    16
    12
    26
See reviews for
33
21
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rowlett, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Awful, terrible and disgusting is all I have to say about this hotel. Do you really want to visit mexico without going to mexico. Do you like out of date rooms, overcharged, tacky, motel 6 type rooms! Well Padre South is your kind of hotel! This was the worst experience I have had staying at hotels in the last 6 years. The only reason I stayed here was because it was non-refundable! Oh did i forget to mention the wifi doesn't even work! Your welcome because if you booked this hotel after reading my review, all i have to say is that I told you so!

Room Tip: Not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Booked one queen bed, got two fulls instead due to their mistake...mgmt. offered no remedy or discount. The room and hotel for that matter smelled of mold. Pool was filthy and parking was a pain. The customer service personnel were inept and not helpful. Not worth the $$$- book elsewhere

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fw
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I arrived with 3 bathing suits. On the first morning I couldn't decide whether to wear my red or blue one. I wore my red one and left my blue, and black one in the room.
When we returned at night I was planning for the next day and thought I'd gone crazy because I couldn't find my blue swimsuit...I blamed my own absentmindness so I didn't say anything, thinking maybe I really was crazy and never had the other 2. By the time we returned home I looked and looked and didn't find my suits anywhere. CRAZY PEOPLE!! SO CHEAP to steal someones used bathing suits. HORRIBLE!! We didn't go anywhere else...I feel violated that they went through our stuff! I didn't notice anything else missing but we will NEVER stay there again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Padre South Hotel had exactly what I needed for my trip. My mother likes to smoke and she wanted a hotel on the beach. It was clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Despite the fact that they didn't offer a breakfast bar or room service, the kitchenette made up for it. All the appliances worked, and they had dishes and pots and pans to use. We had a queen size bed and a sofa sleeper. The sofa sleeper was pretty hard to sleep on, but the queen bed was nice. The Padre Bar located directly next to the hotel was a gem. Harry, the bartender was friendly and even made my mother and I an authentic Indian dinner. Seriously delicious! (Ask about it) The hotel is not the Hilton, but it's affordable and clean. I highly recommend if you're on a budget!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

i recently Stayed At This Hotel ON April 19 THRU 21, 2013. i would Like TO Comment ON THE Customer Service At This Hotel . A Few Days Later After I Checked Out Of This Hotel. I Realized I Left A Blouse IN The Room That Cost ME 75.00. I Have BEEN CALLING AND CALLING And just Get THE Run Around From The Staff saying That They Throw AWAY Anything That Is Left Behind There AFTER 1 TO 2 WEEKS After Checkout. I Didnt Think That They Would Be HONEST and Turn ITEMS in That Were Left Behind TO LOST AND FOUND
AND Another thing No Hot Water At All While I Was There
AND Water Leaking From THE Toilet Everythime You Would FLUSH IT......

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Let me just say, "you get what you pay for" at this hotel. I would rather pay a few extra bucks in the future. The lobby was utter disappointment. It looked as if they had hit up a few garage sales and just threw pieces of furniture together. Coffee (only) was offered in the mornings and there was one single microwave for the entire hotel to use next the the coffee pots. The interior flooring and furnishings have not been updated since the 70's, the Wifi SUCKS, and maid service is extremely slow. The owners have not spent a penny on improving this hotel and it will eventually be run in to the ground.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Padre South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre South Hotel

Address: 1500 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Padre South Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Padre South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padre South Island
Hotel Padre South
Padre s Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Padre South Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.