We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Padre South Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Padre South Hotel to your Saves list
Padre South Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Had a great time there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

The hotel could use some updating but the rooms were clean and well maintained. Had a great time and trip. Will definately be returning to South Padre Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    33
    16
    12
    27
See reviews for
34
23
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

The view was awesome 8th floor and through room was perfect for our needs.we had a blast and would disregard all the negative posts. its the best bang for your buck. we will be back next year.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 3x. The rooms are clean, the pool & huge outdoor jacuzzi are kept clean. The staff is very friendly. One reason I stay here is that the rooms are $10/night cheaper if you walk-in or call first, rather than booking online, the hotel is on the beach with outdoor showers to rinse off, a change house next to the huge hot water jacuzzi, the pool water is cold, refreshing & clear, the restaurant/bar next door has live entertainment on the weekends, a meeting room for 75 people, every room has a balcony with partial to full ocean views, fully equipped kitchens in all rooms. The downside is that although it is very clean, it seems a little shabby (old carpeting, dated furniture/bedding). You have a short walk to get onto the beach & the rear elevator & steps are usually wet &/or sandy from people coming in from the beach or pool. One major drawback with this hotel is that there is no breakfast. There are vending machines & hot coffee in the morning. Although there is a bar/restaurant beside the hotel, it is not open early, & the hotel is quite a few blocks away from any place serving hot food in the morning.

Room Tip: The Two-Bedroom/Two-Bath Suites are well worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pharr, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I was just there this weekend, April 27 thru 29. This hotel is one of the older hotels at south padre, I had never stayed here, and after reading the reviews I was a bit concerned. But Im happy to report that it was not at all what I expected, yes the hotel fittings and appliances are old, no LCD here, but why do you go to the beach, to watch TV? the room is spacious, clean and fresh, I have stayed on newer hotels where there is a musky smell for the humidity, not here. I did not saw any bugs on the hotel or the room, which is always a good sign. The hotel has an excellent location, right at the beach. It has a fully equipped kitchen. One more thing I loved was the balcony, most hotels have open railings which was concern for me with two toddlers, not here, it is a completely closed railing, with a view to the ocean. If I have to be picky, definitely bring your own pillow, but that is me I cant sleep without my own. In conclusion, this is not a hotel to impress or brag about, but it is in an excellent location, clean, well maintained budget hotel. I will definitely return here, and can safely recommend to my family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011 via mobile

Before you book this hotel decide what you want from your vacation. If you enjoy instant access to unbelievable ocean views and to the beach, without breaking the bank this is the place for you! The best time to stay here is off season. The staff is polite and go out of their way to accommodate you. This is the second year we have come done here, and we knew before we booked our airfare we wanted to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

STOP!!!! DON'T STAY IN THIS AWFUL HOTEL...We asked to see the room before check-in and the room was old, it stunk. Everything was old; carpet, etc. My husband was not going to stay in such a nasty room. She still charged us $136.00, even though we called and asked not to stay in that room...it was their policy.

Room Tip: Renovate...the whole building is old, old, old and stinky
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Padre South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre South Hotel

Address: 1500 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Padre South Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Padre South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padre South Island
Hotel Padre South
Padre s Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Padre South Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.