We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an educational experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Turtle, Inc.

Sea Turtle, Inc.
6617 Padre Blvd., P. O. Box 3987, South Padre Island, TX 78597
+1 956-761-4511
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ila Loetscher, the "Turtle Lady of South Padre Island", originally formed our organization to save the Kemp's ridley sea turtle in 1977. Now we are a sea turtle hospital with a mission to rehabilitate and release any injured sea turtles, increase awareness concerning their safety and habitat, and assist with conservation efforts for all sea turtle species. We are funded by donations, grants and gift shop proceeds-- For rehabilitated sea turtle and hatchling release text message notifications, please see our website membership page. See you at Sea Turtle, Inc.!
Mt Vernon, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“What an educational experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I'm so glad these turtles are being helped. I liked the educational aspect of the Sea Rescue Center.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    678
    219
    42
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weiser, Idaho
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Interesting stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a fun and educational place to stop and see. No cost to see but they do take donations which goes to a good cause. Fun to learn about the injured turtles and what happens to them. Very popular place especially for families! The turtles are so cool to look at too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Organization and Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We really enjoyed touring Sea Turtle, Inc. It was one of the items on our list to do while in South Padre Island. A bonus was that it was right across the street from our hotel.

After learning about the efforts of Sea Turtle, Inc. to save stranded sea turtles, we had the opportunity to watch a sea turtle release in the bay. They released three sea turtles which they had been helping get well for several months.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for kids & adult nature lovers.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Loved seeing all the different turtles at the rescue center. Presentation was great. Learned a lot. Just the right length. So glad the center is here for these creatures.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Loved this place~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We took our family here for something cool to do while we were on the Island. I wish we would have been able to set the babies free into the ocean but our timing wasn't right. Very educational and awesome to see!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Turtle, Inc. also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sea Turtle, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Turtle, Inc., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.