We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“please visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Turtle, Inc.

Sea Turtle, Inc.
6617 Padre Blvd., P. O. Box 3987, South Padre Island, TX 78597
+1 956-761-4511
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ila Loetscher, the "Turtle Lady of South Padre Island", originally formed our organization to save the Kemp's ridley sea turtle in 1977. Now we are a sea turtle hospital with a mission to rehabilitate and release any injured sea turtles, increase awareness concerning their safety and habitat, and assist with conservation efforts for all sea turtle species. We are funded by donations, grants and gift shop proceeds-- For rehabilitated sea turtle and hatchling release text message notifications, please see our website membership page. See you at Sea Turtle, Inc.!
Angola, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“please visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

OK, I wasn't the world's biggest fan..actually I held no opinion about sea turtles (lack of education on my part) until I worked with Sea Turtle Inc in an emergency situation. This is an amazing group of people who truly work the better of this planet

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    676
    218
    42
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must see!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

What a great place! The work this place has done to rescue sea turtles is amazing. Truly one of the highlights of our trip to South Padre

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Sea Turtles are Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a super place to visit and support if you like turtles and nature. You get to see them close up and lern how they do rescues and foster hatchings locally. It is a great place for the kids. It is a little obscure rom the road but you can find it is you want to. If you are in So Padre, you should visit and become a supporter. They do good work and it is mostly volunteers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpinteria, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to see sea turtle rescue in action.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This place is dedicated to the rescue of sea turtles and has knowledgeable interns that explain about the sea turtles, how they are rescued, and the ones they have on display.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hulihanmaegan 3 TX Kids Love Sea Turtle Inc!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Texas Natives Hulihanmaegan's family of three kids love visiting the Sea Turtle's Inc in South Padre! The staff are always wonderful with the hulihanmaegan kids an take the time to teach and inform visitors about the beautiful animals! Hulihanmaegan kids learn something new with every visit it is a Texas treat to have such a wonderful sanctury!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Turtle, Inc. also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sea Turtle, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Turtle, Inc., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.