We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing to watch these giant turtles and on most you could see their injury. Thanks to those who rescue them.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Turtle, Inc.

Sea Turtle, Inc.
6617 Padre Blvd., P. O. Box 3987, South Padre Island, TX 78597
956-761-4511
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Islands, Beaches, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Who is your favorite turtle?Ila Loetscher, the "Turtle Lady of South Padre Island", originally formed our organization to save the Kemp's ridley sea turtle in 1977. Now we are a sea turtle hospital with a mission to rehabilitate and release any injured sea turtles, increase awareness concerning their safety and habitat, and assist with conservation efforts for all sea turtle species. We are funded by donations, grants and gift shop proceeds-- 80% goes to help sea turtles locally, and 20% funds other sea turtle projects around the world. For rehabilitated sea turtle and hatchling release text message notifications, please see our website membership page. See you at Sea Turtle, Inc.!
gretna ne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing to watch these giant turtles and on most you could see their injury. Thanks to those who rescue them.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Amazing to watch these giant turtles. Thanks to all involved in their rescue. Some of the turtles have an attitude

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    191
    37
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Educational Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

This is been on the island a long time. An interesting and educational experience.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Remarkable learning and necessary care taking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

There's a lot to learn here and a lot to be sorry about in what happens to turtles in this world.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weslaco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Wonderful place to take young kids! We go there every time we are at SPI, my boys love the turtles. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“I see a sea turtle......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This was a sea turtle rescue center. It is run by donation so they recommend a donation of $3 for adults. This was an educational stop that does not take long. The passionate people who run the rescue are very informative about the turtles and the difficulties they face.
They have ladies who will walk you around and provide education but I like to self tour. I personally recommend you go into the gift shop first. They have several turtles there in tubs you can see clearly who are in rehab or babies. The outside tanks are deep enough you have to be patient and wait for the turtle to come near enough to the surface to see. I think the kids would like a quick look at this, also for the adults who are interested in the environment and the outdoors, it is worth a stop.
Please be aware this is a rescue mission ran on passion and pennies collected from donors . Do not arrive expecting a high dollar , high tech lay out. They are working with the supplies they have and seem to be doing an excellent job.. If you enjoy it , purchase some turtle paraphanelia to go. Your purchase of a t shirt or magnet goes towards future generations getting to see a living sea turtle.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Turtle, Inc. also viewed

 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sea Turtle, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Turtle, Inc., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.