We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whaling Wall

Whaling Wall
7355 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX
Improve this listing
Sachse, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My family stopped by the whaling wall on our way from horses on the beach. It was visually appealing.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    18
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“It is a wall... but it's a cool wall and a BIG one!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Many people poo-pooed the wall, but since we were already at the Birding Center and it was clearly visible from there, we decided to get a closer look. Our 7-year old was clearly impressed. And the painting is high quality. It is worth a drive by if you have kids and/or appreciate the work that went into it. If not... just take a gander from the Birding Center or Andy Bowie Park across the street. It's that big. Just don't drive to this end of town JUST for the wall.... :D oh... and it's a mural on 3 walls, so not *just* "a" wall! ;D

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The walls are beautifully painted - also there is an area by the wall that you can see awesome birds

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“It's purty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

It is very pretty. We saw it cause we visited the nature trail which begins there. Plan to do the trail and take a look of the artwork too. :)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It is a wall”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

It is a wall painted well but not very imaginative, artistic or original. Don't bother looking for it, if you do spot it just slow down as you drive on by.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whaling Wall also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Whaling Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whaling Wall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.