We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Resort

Save Saved
You added The Palms Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Palms Resort
3616 Gulf Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beach vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Looking for a great beach hotel, ON THE BEACH, we found it with The Palms Resort. Clean spacious rooms, comfortable sleeping and the best breakfast cafe in town! Wish there were stove top to cook, but we managed with other food we brought and enjoyed dinner at local favorite restaurants. Everything on the beach on South Padre Island is pricey during high summer season, but this was worth every penny! I decided to splurge on easy beach access from our room than on anything else during our visit. A great decision.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    42
    11
    10
    5
See reviews for
23
65
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 5 day getaway to the Palms. We had an awesome trip. The Palms just has a different vibe to it. The rooms are nice, very clean, comfortable beds, good a/c, and good pressure in the shower, but it is not fancy. What sets this place apart is the people that work here. They are so nice, and treat you like you have been coming for years. Another huge plus of staying here is the cafe attached to the hotel. The food is outstanding, and the menu has something for everyone. When I caught my 24 inch trout, the kitchen cooked it up for us and it was delicious. I've only been home for a few hours and I already miss Karl, Robby and the rest of the staff.

Room Tip: I understand the rooms are pretty much the same except for king or queen bed. I had a shower in bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

A friend and I booked this room at the last minute for July 4th weekend. We got the last room that was available. Once we arrived and actually saw this place, I was flabbergasted that this hotel was rated #5 out of 33 hotels in South Padre on Trip Advisor. Although the room was equipped with a small sofa and kitchenette, this hotel was VERY dated. To start, the room key was a real key, like from the 70's, with the resort's address and our room number on it. Not very safe if we had happened to lose a room key! Second, the bathroom - Smallest sink and shower area I think I've ever seen in any hotel. There was not even enough room for 2 people to stand in front of the mirror at the sink. The tub was a regular-sized tub with a showerhead that was absolutely HORRIBLE. No water pressure at all. Also, there was mold under the sink that smelled so bad when you opened the cabinet, we didn't even want to put any of our personal belongings in there. When we went to the front desk about the mold, all they gave us a bottle of generic Febreeze spray to mask the odor. The maintenance man was supposed to come look at the mold the next day, but I'm not sure he ever came (at least they never followed up to tell us that he had been in our room). We skipped housekeeping the next day because we honestly didn't feel comfortable with housekeeping in our room at this resort. When I went to the front desk to ask for more towels, I felt a little uncomfortable when they counted the towels they gave me and asked me for my room number, like I was going to steal them or something.

We had 2 meals from the Palms Cafe (one breakfast and one dinner), both decent for the price. It was about 11:15-11:30 in the morning and we wanted to order lunch, but we were told we had to order breakfast because they didn't start serving lunch until noon. We were a little put off by that, but we went with it. The little girl working behind the bar where you had to place your order, couldn't have cared less if we were standing in front of her. Her customer service skills left a lot to be desired. After sensing our frustration with her, the manager stepped in and answered some questions we had about the menu and agreed to make some substitutions for us free of charge that the young girl had previously told us they were unable to do. The positive things I can say about The Palms: it was located very close to the beach, the AC in the room worked very well, and the bed was pretty comfortable. Other than that, I would definitely not stay here again unless I was absolutely desperate. For $225/night, I was extremely disappointed and expected much much more for my money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmetty, Owner at The Palms Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Oh my - when it rains, it pours! We’re always so sorry to find out that we disappointed a guest-especially after they have already left. We can usually resolve any problem immediately if we know about it when the guest is here. We remember these two ladies quite well. They stayed with us Friday and Saturday night over the July 4th weekend in room 105. They were very friendly and fun, and seemed to enjoy themselves while they were with us. Let me address each of their concerns:

Yes-our building has been here since the early 70's, so this guest hit the nail on the head when she said we’re from the “70’s”! That is actually the feeling we want people to have when they’re with us. Our building was constructed as a two story 32 unit condominium complex. The building is old but extremely well maintained and very clean. We use old-fashioned keys because they work much better than key-cards in the salt air. The room number is on the key tag because not having it on the tag was a major inconvenience to our guests who forget their room number. If a key is reported missing we change the entire lock immediately. There is a deadbolt on every door which is only accessible from the inside of the room. We have never had an issue as the result of a lost key in all the years we’ve operated this hotel, and we’ve never had a security problem associated with having room numbers on keys. However, we will investigate new key tags that have the room number but not the name of the hotel on the tag.

With regard to the odor under the cabinet, we remember when the guest reported it to the Front Desk. We immediately offered to come to the room to investigate. The guest said no, and said she didn’t want anyone in the room. She said she just wanted something she could spray in the cabinet herself. We offered her the Febreze. We would have much preferred to investigate ourselves, but she made it very clear that she didn’t want anyone in her room. As she was walking back to her room, our senior front desk associate saw her carrying the Febreze and offered to come with her to help. Once again, the guest said that she didn’t want anyone else in the room, and said she was all set with the Febreze. That was the last we heard about the odor until we read this posting. We attempted to check the room the following day, but she had the Do Not Disturb sign on the door. Our employees have strict instructions to respect our guests’ privacy. If a Do Not Disturb sign is on the door, they do not knock or try to enter the room. When the guest checked out the following day, we immediately inspected the sink cabinet. There is no mold or mildew, nor could we detect any odor (other than essence of Febreze). We noticed that this guest stayed at another beachfront property that weekend and also posted a review on Trip Advisor. She observed an odor in that room as well. Since we weren’t permitted to enter the room while the guest was here, and since there is no odor now, I can only guess that this guest might be a little sensitive to the aromas of the Gulf of Mexico's gentle breeze!

I don’t know what to say about not trusting our housekeepers in her room. We have never had a problem with housekeepers in guest rooms. However, we know that this guest didn’t want anyone in her room….front desk staff, maintenance, or housekeeping.

Regarding her experience in our Café, it is true that on weekends we extend our breakfast hours to noon as an accommodation to the majority of our guests that like to sleep in on weekends, and enjoy a late breakfast. This guest came to the Café to order lunch “to go” at 11:15am. We have already talked about this with the server that took her order that morning. She is fairly new, but we have reinforced with her the importance of doing everything possible to accommodate our guests. The goal must be to delight every guest, every time. As the result of this posting, we also held a meeting with the entire staff of the Café and the Hotel to refresh everyone on the importance of delivering outstanding customer service every single time.

Once again, I am so sorry that we didn’t delight this guest. We take these comments to heart, and we learn and improve as a result.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We visit South Padre Island about 3 times each year. Each visit includes a stop at the Palms Cafe. While the cafe is overpriced, the location and friendly service can't be beat. The place we usually stay wasn't available for the first night of this trip, so we thought that we would give the Palms Resort a try, expecting to have a positive experience similar to the Palms Cafe.

Checking in went smoothly enough. We were shocked to see that the cost for our two small dogs almost doubled the rate, but we blamed ourselves for not reading the pet policy more closely.

Our first impression of the room was positive. There was a nicely-sized living area with a sleeper sofa, an ottoman, a small kitchenette with a microwave and a refrigerator, and a small table and chairs. The bedroom was furnished with a queen bed, two nightstands, and a dresser. The bathroom had a spacious walk-in shower with the sink positioned outside the bathroom area. We chuckled that the resort had pinched pennies by mounting the small TV on the wall so that it could be shared between the living and bedroom areas. The room was hot, but we thought that was because the A/C had been set high in order to save money.

Once we settled in for the night, the disappointment set in. The layout of the room placed a wall between the A/C and the bedroom. Even with the A/C set low enough that the living room could serve as a refrigerator, the bedroom was still uncomfortably warm.

Once we took our shoes off, we noticed how filthy the floor was. Housekeeping apparently sweeps the floor but doesn't sufficiently clean it. We also noticed all the mildew in the shower. Finally, we realized that they hadn't stocked the room with enough soap and gave us conditioner but not shampoo.

Checking out was painless enough, but we witnessed the disturbing treatment of another potential guest. A young man was attempting to stay with his wife and two young children (ages 2 and 4). Although he tried to convince the clerk that the 2 year old child would sleep with he and his wife, they refused to allow him to stay. While we understand that hotels have occupancy policies, the way the clerk spoke to the young man really bothered us. Having worked directly with customers for many, many years, we know that there is a right and a wrong way to deliver bad news.

Could the staff use a refresher course in hospitality and attention to detail? Absolutely. Are these problems bad enough for us to rate our experience as 'poor'? No. Is this resort nice enough to deserve a premium price? Definitely not.

If the staff would polish their hospitality skills and bring their prices in line with the quality, it would be a reasonable place to stay. However, with the premium pricing, the experience was definitely out of line with our expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmetty, Owner at The Palms Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We’re sorry we fell short of this guest’s expectations. Fortunately, we were able to speak with him following his Trip Advisor posting, so we gathered some additional information that aided us in our research. Let me address each of the concerns:

They reserved one of our most popular rooms (#216) during peak season at a rate of $185/night. They paid a pet fee of $75 for their two dogs – not even close to almost doubling the rate as their posting states. We charge a pet fee because everything in the rooms is sent out to be professionally cleaned before we can rent the room again. In addition to that expense, our housekeeping staff spends twice as much time cleaning those rooms to get them ready for the next guest. Most hotels no longer take pets, but we’re happy to offer this option to our guests and we make no apology for recovering the additional costs we incur associated with our 4-legged guests.

When a room is unoccupied, we set the a/c unit at 75 degrees to conserve energy. With an outside temperature of 85-95, most guests find this to be a comfortable temperature upon arrival. We will investigate removing a section of the wall area that divides the bedroom from the sitting area in some of our rooms. That, in addition to the large ceiling fan in all bedrooms, should allow for excellent circulation of air-conditioned air.

The tile floors are stripped, cleaned and resealed regularly. They are also thoroughly cleaned between guests. After speaking to this guest, we looked at the floor in that particular room. It had just been stripped and sealed a month earlier, but this particular floor has highly textured tile making it more challenging. We re-stripped and cleaned the floor again two weeks ago and it now sparkles! We also met with Housekeeping to review the process for cleaning these highly textured floors.

We stock all rooms with two bars of soap, a bottle of shampoo and a bottle of body lotion. That is sufficient for most of our guests, but we are always happy to provide more to any guest that asks.

We’re at a loss on the comment about how another potential guest was treated by our front desk associate. Our normal occupancy limit is 2 adults and 2 small children, so it is difficult to understand why we would turn a potential guest away that had 2 adults and 2 small children. Regardless, we have shown this posting to all front desk associates and discussed the importance of giving outstanding customer service when interacting with all guests…even if we have to deliver bad news.

We were happy to have the opportunity to speak directly with this guest about their experience, and about the steps we’ve taken to address their concerns. Naturally, we would have liked to have the opportunity to address his concerns while he was at our hotel. In the end, he was happy that we talked with him about his posting and he was pleased with the actions we took. The greatest compliment of all is that he said he would stay with us again if his travel plans bring him back to South Padre Island. We can't ask for more than that!

Thanks again for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The rooms are definitely dated - kitchen and bath have been updated with granite counters, but the furniture is older with not many drawers for storage. For my husband and I it was fine, but if you have a family, more storage space would be appreciated. We found the food to be very good and the cafe is beautifully located right on the Gulf. All and all, we had a great experience and would definitely return since we liked the idea of being on the first floor, one turn to the pool and cafe and a short walk to the Gulf.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

You can't beat the location and ease of getting to the beach. The hotel is small with 28 rooms and they face east and west so don't expect an amazing view of the beach. With that said, you don't need to worry about the view since you're on the beach and will get plenty of beach views. The rooms are ok, but do have some nice touches. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet even though there was a lot of commotion in and around the hotel. There was an extra sink and a refrigerator in the room. There was also a pull out couch that slept our two kids. There's a small pool and an area to wash off after going to the beach which is convenient. One of the best things is the food at the Cafe on the property. The menu is extensive and delicious. We ate there several times and were always very pleased. The service was great and the drinks and food were great too. The only thing that was disappointing were the scrambled eggs which seemed to not be from fresh eggs but from pre-scrambled eggs. I may be wrong but I didn't like them much. Order fried eggs instead. Expect to pay more than usual for food here but its really good overall. I'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at this motel for a week, I booked there because it was right off of the beach and pet friendly. Once I arrived and checked in they told me I couldn't leave my pets alone in the room, something they failed to tell me when I called and inquired. The rooms are very small and the couch is small and uncomfortable. I had booked a room with a queen size bed and at the last minute I brought along my niece to play with my son, they told me I would have to change to a king size bed. My niece and son would be sleeping on the sofa bed,I was told that the queen size bed rooms have a sofa sleeper that is a twin bed. I looked at some of the rooms that were not occupied and the couches looked the same size as what we had, don't know about that but was charged another $100. The cafe is a little expensive and the pool is right next to the cafe. I was at the pool with my son and niece and the cafe was busy so people were standing outside waiting for a table. Did not like that people were standing there watching people in the pool. We had gone out for a while and took my chances and left our pets in the room and just put the "do not disturb" sign, when we returned housekeeping was a few rooms down and I politely asked if they would clean my room they said they could not because I had my "do not disturb" sign on, I told them I had to leave for a while but could they please do it , I would take my dogs out for a walk, they refused. I could not believe it. When they did clean my room it was not a good clean, they swept, put fresh towels and sheets dumped the trash, the comforter still had a sand on it. There are no chairs to sit on outside your rooms and beach view is very limited and if are lucky to get the rooms at the end on the second floor you do not have chairs to sit and enjoy the view. I wish I would have gone with another place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmetty, Owner at The Palms Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Proposed response to Trip Advisor posting “Wished I would have booked elsewhere”

We’re so sorry that we disappointed this guest. We remember this family quite well because we needed to make special accommodations to park their jet skis while they were here. The reservation was made for two adults, one child, and two dogs. We were unaware of the additional child until they arrived. Had we known in advance, we would have reserved a Queen room with a full size sofa bed. We only have a few of those, but none were available when they checked in. Fortunately, we had a King room available with a full size sofa bed. We did charge an additional $25 per night for the upgraded King room, but we waived the $30 fee for the extra person in the room as a courtesy. Our rooms are larger than a standard hotel room….but I would have to agree that two adults, two pre-teen children and two dogs in one room would certainly make the room feel small.

I reviewed our confirmation email and, while it encourages our guests traveling with pets to contact us in advance, it does not specifically state that pets may not be left unattended in the room. As a result of this feedback, we will include that in our confirmation email. Most of our guests appreciate our policy regarding unattended pets. Imagine the chaos and noise of unattended dogs “communicating” with each other!

Our staff is not allowed to enter a guest room when the “Do Not Disturb” sign is on the door. In this case, the sign was on their door three out of the four days they were with us. We made several attempts to clean the room but either the dogs were loose and unattended in the room, or the “Do Not Disturb” sign was on the door. We were able to clean the room twice during their stay. The housekeeper that cleaned their room was new. She had been doing such a great job that we felt she was ready to clean unsupervised. We are sorry she didn’t clean the room as well as she should have. We know that she was concerned about being in the room with the two dogs, but that is no excuse for not doing a good job. We have discussed this with her and the other housekeepers.

I don’t understand the comment about no chairs for sitting outside. There are 4 chairs in every guest room. Many of our guests like to bring one or two chairs out on the balcony to enjoy the spectacular Gulf of Mexico view.

I’m so sorry that we disappointed this guest. We honestly made every effort to accommodate their unanticipated needs, but clearly our efforts were not good enough. But we have learned from this and will improve as a result. For that, we do appreciate this posting and we appreciate that Trip Advisor allows us to respond to this very important feedback.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Resort

Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel South Padre Island
Palms Hotel South Padre Island
Palms South Padre Island
Address: 3616 Gulf Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the white sand beaches of South Padre Island, The Palms Resort is a relaxing oasis boasting beach front access, stylish, comfortable accommodations, and friendly, attentive service. Our resort offers guests the personal service of an intimate boutique hotel with the modern amenities of larger business hotels. Our award winning beachside retaurant (The Cafe on the Beach) is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Start your day with Eggs Benedict and a mimosa. End your day with steak and lobster and a fine wine. Enjoy mojitos poolside from our full service bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.