We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Padre Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Palms Resort
Save Saved
You added The Palms Resort to your Saves list
3616 Gulf Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Libertyville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very clean, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The rooms are very clean and the staff couldn't be more friendly. A great location just to walk down the beach. Has a restaurant with a view of the Gulf which is very convenient. The only suggestions we would make is the coffee maker is very small (just two mugs, basically) a challenge for java-holics, and there wasn't much space around the sink to lay out our toiletries. Otherwise good value for the money.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    43
    11
    11
    5
See reviews for
24
69
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

OK, it's on the ocean, but don't expect to see it, unless you go to the restaurant. The front desk was accommodating but not overly welcoming. The room, yuck. Very old, beat up, NOISY air conditioner, just icky. As a "suite", it was the smallest I've ever seen. Not worth the cost.

Room Tip: Nice chains on the North end of the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmetty, Owner at The Palms Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
I’m so sorry that our guests from Ohio were disappointed with their stay. They stayed with us last week in one of our most popular rooms (#102). It is on the 1st floor at the northwest corner of the building. The best views of the water are on the 2nd floor of the south side of our building. Those are also our most expensive rooms. We never want to “over promise”, so we explain to our first-time guests that our rooms face north and south and the water is to the east…so they won’t have direct water views from most of our rooms. Having said that, this particular room is one of our most popular rooms in part because it is just a few feet from the beach access. The water views from the beach access are spectacular.

I was surprised by the “yuk” and “icky” comments and that the room was old and beat up. This particular room has several upgrades including granite counter tops in the kitchen area and the bath, a wall-mounted flat panel TV, and some cute beach-scene art. We work very hard to monitor the condition of each of our 28 guest rooms and address maintenance issues immediately. In addition to our daily housekeeping inspections, we do a thorough 47-point cosmetic and mechanical inspection of each guest room every 30-45 days. I checked the last inspection report for this particular room to make sure we had addressed everything found during the last inspection. The closet door needed some paint touch up, which was taken care of in mid January. The room has been occupied almost non-stop since then so we haven’t been able to do this month’s inspection yet. It is certainly possible that there are new items that need our attention, although none of the guests that have occupied that room in the past month, including these guests from Ohio, brought anything to our attention during their stay. The current occupant of that room is a repeat guest that always asks for that room. They’re staying for a week, so as soon as they check-out, we’ll do a complete inspection to see if we need to do anything else to that room. We called them as soon as we saw this posting to see if the a/c unit is making noise. They said it was fine….but one guest’s “white noise” can be just plain “noise” to another guest. Regardless, the customer is always right so as soon as we can gain access to the room we’ll take a closer look.

With regard to the size of the room, all of our rooms were originally built as one bedroom condominiums. They’re each about 340 s.f. They have a sleeper sofa sitting area; kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker; dining table and chairs; and a sleeping area with a full bath – most with an oversize walk-in shower. We refer to our rooms as mini-suites mainly to differentiate them from ordinary hotel rooms. I know some people prefer the big chain high rise hotels. We offer our guests a more personal, laid back atmosphere with clean, well appointed accommodations, direct beach access and an outstanding restaurant with breathtaking views of the ocean. We’re not perfect, but we sure work hard every day to be better than we were the day before.

Thanks to those that take the time to post on Trip Advisor ….you help make us better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have stayed at the Palms Resort twice and thoroughly enjoyed it. Keep in mind that I'm a female in my mid-50s and I prefer a laid-back down-home feeling as opposed to upscale modern amenities. I like the fact that the rooms feel like a little apartment as opposed to a hotel room. Even though I've only spent a night at a time here, I am certain I would be comfortable spending a month or two here. They have a fridge, microwave, coffee-maker, internet and cable TV. They are right on the beach and have a restaurant on-site. I will have to say that I think the restaurant is a little pricey, but then again, I think ALL the restaurants on South Padre Island are pricey.

This is just a small, two-story property, and not a large resort-type hotel. Be prepared for that, or you will be disappointed if you are expecting frills. It is cute, clean, and the employees are courteous and helpful. It all depends on what you want in a vacation. If you want top-of-the-line amenities with all the luxuries, go to one of the high-end resorts on the island. If you want just a comfortable homey and cozy feel, you'll feel at home at the Palms Resort.

One thing I would suggest is that they update their TVs to larger flat screen units that sit lower on the walls. Even though I don't watch a lot of TV when I'm on vacation, the units they have near the ceiling that tilt to the living and bedroom areas are dated and small and it's kind of uncomfortable to have to look up so high to watch TV. Just my opinion.

I would have posted pictures of my unit, but they look exactly like the others already posted.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

While 'resort' may be a little grand for the size of this hotel, it's a very pleasant place to stay by the beach. The rooms are small suites on the order of an efficiency apartment, nicely decorated, clean , and comfortable.

The freshly painted canary walls are hung with unique paintings and prints with a beach theme. Curtains and lampshades display tropical leaf motifs. The sofa-sleeper in the sitting room is small and firm but serviceable.

The place is quiet and relaxing.

The Cafe on the Beach is a fun little spot to eat or drink within sight and hearing of the surf.

The beach is a short walk across the dune, and of course it is the finest in Texas, with clean sand and beautiful aquamarine water.

Padre Island Brewing, the execellent pub, is a few blocks walk toward the bay.

We were a little non-plussed to arrive to find the sign out front advertising a rate much lower than the one we got with our online reservation. Vouchers for a shrimp basket were a small consolation. Next time we'll call ahead a few days in advance. Even so, our online rate was pretty good.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms on the east end have the best beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FT Worth
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

After eating at the Cafe many times, we finally decided to try the Motel. We usually stay at the Hilton and pay $$$ more. What I like about the Palm's is a direct beach access and you can actually see the water from your door or window if on the second floor. The room was clean with everything in order. The bed was a little above average and the shower was a walk in and not a tub shower. One of the best parts is the restaurant is right out your door and is one of the better spots to eat on the Island... the Don Julio margaritas are lethal. After having stayed at the Isla Grand, Hilton Garden Inn, La Quinta, etc.. It may not have all the amenities of the others, but it has a lower price and the essentials that make for a nice stay.

Room Tip: Try for a second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We just spent a weekend there. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and the restaurant had some of the best food on the island. It was great having the hotel on the beach with the restaurant over looking the ocean. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My love and I took a short notice vacation and looked up many places we could stay at we booked, checked in and had such a great stay that we extended our stay here! The staff was helpful and friendly.... Thanks especially to Matt (who really made memorable moments) and Sarah (for recommending to check out Sea Turtle Inc!) No other place can offer a low key and comfortable stay! And yes "that's a ship." Thanks Matt!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Resort

Address: 3616 Gulf Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in South Padre Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the white sand beaches of South Padre Island, The Palms Resort is a relaxing oasis boasting beach front access, stylish, comfortable accommodations, and friendly, attentive service. Our resort offers guests the personal service of an intimate boutique hotel with the modern amenities of larger business hotels. Our award winning beachside retaurant (The Cafe on the Beach) is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Start your day with Eggs Benedict and a mimosa. End your day with steak and lobster and a fine wine. Enjoy mojitos poolside from our full service bar! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel South Padre Island
Palms Hotel South Padre Island
Palms South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.