We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Padre Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Palms Resort
Save
You added The Palms Resort to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3616 Gulf Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We just spent a weekend there. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and the restaurant had some of the best food on the island. It was great having the hotel on the beach with the restaurant over looking the ocean. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    47
    14
    11
    5
See reviews for
27
74
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My love and I took a short notice vacation and looked up many places we could stay at we booked, checked in and had such a great stay that we extended our stay here! The staff was helpful and friendly.... Thanks especially to Matt (who really made memorable moments) and Sarah (for recommending to check out Sea Turtle Inc!) No other place can offer a low key and comfortable stay! And yes "that's a ship." Thanks Matt!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Me and my wife expended last weekend at The Palms for first time. I had been in the restaurant tons of times, but this was our first experience in the hotel. I'm going to repeat the experience very soon. I really love it. Small, clean, quiet and the best of all is that they have the best restaurant on the Island.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Palms Resort is always a great place to stay. It is clean, friendly, and close to the beach. The cafe is fantastic. The food is always very good and it is open air right on the beach. Very nice views of the beach. We love South Padre Island and the Palms Resort make our stay feel like home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed staying here, room was clean, do put a sheet on the fold out bed b/c ours was really dirty but no bedbugs! coffee and breakfast taco at the restaurant can easily feed 2. Even tho the walls are thin and we heard loud party goers they eventually quieted down. We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

If you are traveling to the resorts of South Padre Island, Texas, at the very most southern tip of Texas. You will have a choice of High Rise Rental Condos, Hotels, Chain motels and some homes on the beach. For a wonderful change from these choices for a couple or small family, I reccomend the Palms. It is a 70s era Family owened Motel right on the beach. It has been modernized and imaculate (They need to update the TV's). There is a sitting/kitchen area and a sleeping area with comfy beds. The best kept secret is the Bar/Resturant right on the beach. The staff is friendly and helpful. It is small and intimate with a great view of the wide clean beach and the gulf. The food is great and I strongly reccomend the breakfast menue. From Eggs Benedict to authentic Huevos Rancheros to the best pancakes I have ever eaten you just cannot go wrong. For a long weekend or a week at the beach you cannot beat the Palm

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Resturant/Bar if you go to bed early. Things do quite down by 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I had been to this hotel before and loved it!! The restaurant and location(right on beach) were awesome!! However, I was disappointed this time around. It seems they allowed the maximum occupancy to be surpassed- the room next door was very noisy and no management on site to complain to and the refrigerator was not working. I will think twice about this place next time.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmetty, Owner at The Palms Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
We always appreciate guests letting us know when we could have done a better job. Our guest did let us know that the freezer in her room wasn't working (it had frozen over during her stay). We were completely sold out, so we couldn't move her to another room. We offered to defrost the unit (since she was going to be in the room two nights), but she said she just needed ice. We gave her a 10# bag of ice and told her we would give her more if she needed it. As soon as she checked out the following day, we defrosted the freezer and it's working fine.

Unfortunately, with regard to the noise in the room next door, this is the first we've heard of it. We do have 24 hr coverage. All guests receive our 24 hr/day phone number to call if there are any issues (the number is also posted in all guest rooms). Had we known about the problem, it would have been taken care of within minutes (our night manager is just down the street).

I know we disappointed our guest this time, and for that we are very sorry. In this case, we thought she was satisfied with the solution for her freezer, and had we known about the noise we would have corrected the problem immediately. I hope she will come back and give us another chance to delight her with a great beach-side hotel experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Resort

Address: 3616 Gulf Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Palms Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the white sand beaches of South Padre Island, The Palms Resort is a relaxing oasis boasting beach front access, stylish, comfortable accommodations, and friendly, attentive service. Our resort offers guests the personal service of an intimate boutique hotel with the modern amenities of larger business hotels. Our award winning beachside retaurant (The Cafe on the Beach) is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Start your day with Eggs Benedict and a mimosa. End your day with steak and lobster and a fine wine. Enjoy mojitos poolside from our full service bar! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel South Padre Island
Palms Hotel South Padre Island
Palms South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.