We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what ya pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Surf Motel to your Saves list
Surf Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2612 Gulf Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Get what ya pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

39 dollars a night on the beach is a good price.Otherwise I agree with previous reviews,the rooms were unclean and the bugs quite disgusting(cockroaches).It seems business is geared towards locals who like to stay for the weakend.The beach bar is great so stop at Boomerang Billys for drink or two but stay at another place.

Room Tip: I really can't believe there are any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    6
    9
    18
See reviews for
17
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The only thing that makes this place have any business is that it's located next to the beach.. Other than that, HORRIBLE!

Bed mattress is ridiculously old, out dated and uncomfortable.
Stains on the sheets, small restrooms, dirty toilets, super small showers (my boyfriend is 6'0 and 250ibs and he couldn't even sit on the toilet and let alone couldn't get into the shower.. we left and didn't stay the night)
Stains on the doors, mold on the walls, it also had a very unpleasant smell like mold (I don't think that's safe to inhale)
Dead roaches, dirty kitchen, and main door wouldn't lock.

Definitely not worth even checking out.
The owners don't care and won't bother fixing or renovating the place.


  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Checked in this hotel for a couple of days because of its location. That's about all that wad good about this place. Located right on the beach with a nice little bar and grill. The rooms were very out dated and not very clean. Bugs in the room, shower was disgusting and made for people under 5'5 inches tall. It did have a kitchenette and cable tv. Can't complain to much for 40 a night. Bar staff was great, especially Jennifer. She was the best the hotel gF to offer and full of great info. Great place to drink, just not the kind of place you wanna sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Loud music, filthy sheets, sand in the shower, nail sticking out of boards, fly stick trap full of dead flies above the microwave and a spider on a pillow are just some of the reasons not to stay! My 9 yr. old daughter actually cried when we arrived! We made reservations for two nights, based on the pictures from their website, and requested a refund, but they refused, stating that this was their policy. I have pictures to prove it! You have been warned!

Room Tip: No good rooms available..find another hotel/motel. If there are none available stay in your car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We were only staying one night, so for 89 bucks on a summer Thursday, it was OK. Checked in, went to beach, came back for a shower, then out again until time to sleep, then gone by 11am. For this it is just fine. If you are staying longer, I would pick another place. It is a motel and it is very basic. My room was clean and the air conditioned worked. The shower is tiny so if you are bathing kids, it may be easier to wash them outside with the hose! The location cannot be beat!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed in the condos they rent out @ Casa De Sol.The only good thing about it was the location. The room was very dirty it hadn't been cleaned it quite a while. The furniture and everything in the room was old fashioned. There was a nice and helpful girl in the office during the day but the one at night was not as nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stay away from this place. The only thing that they have going for them is that they are on the beach. My husband, son, and I checked in Monday July 2 knowing that the motel was old so were not expecting a fancy place, just a clean secure room. Well lt was absolutely awful to say the very least. The door lock was broken, the telephone had some kind of brown liquid leaking from it. There was a thick layer of grime on the bedside table and the kitchen was filthy, it looked like it had not been cleaned in quite some time. I walked into the bathroom and that had a thick layer of dust and grime as well. The shower stall appeared to have been painted several times with pain flaking and pealing off. As I was walking out of the bathroom, I noticed a painting that had several small dead bugs on it. My husband also pulled back the bed sheets on both queen sized beds only to find what looked like dark brown stains on the mattresses. They had put a mattress pad and foam cover over this disgusting thing. When I went to get the young lady behind the check in desk to show her the horrible state of our room she showed no emotion and did not apologize at all. She offered to switch our room, so with my stomach very queasy I agreed to look at another room. After looking at two more that almost as disgusting I said no and got a full refund to move onto another hotel. This all right before the 4th of July.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Address: 2612 Gulf Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel South Padre Island
Surf Hotel South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;