We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got What We Wanted” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wanna Wanna Inn

Save Saved
You added Wanna Wanna Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wanna Wanna Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5100 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly Island Inn on the Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 33 hotels in South Padre Island
tulsa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Got What We Wanted”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

It was what we wanted and expected. It is not the best, but it is what we were looking for. Rooms were clean and acceptable. We were looking for something right on the beach and somewhere to eat and drink without having to drive. Only issue - we had a sliding door that could only be locked from the outside (it had a chain for when we were in the room). Did get the best price from booking online.

Room Tip: We wanted a view of the waves and for this you will need to be on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    25
    13
    5
    15
See reviews for
12
20
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

First off its not a place I would stay, been there several times over the last year and have never heard someone say, oh best room ever! But for beach access and sitting and drinking the turbo Colada's, it can't be beat...

I love this little bar, I don't eat fried foods often, and that's really all they serve. But it is right on the beach, the sound and smell of the ocean, beautiful people and good music, don't short change yourself, check this place out. Might be your new home away from home as well...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were looking for a place in SPI on the beach that would allow our dog. Wanna Wanna fit perfectly. Nothing special, but right on the beach with a good bar (limited menu but good seafood, and good drinks) that has live music on occasion. Friendly staff.
Room is what you would expect for the price, clean room with ok bed and A/C. Shower was a little small without the best flow, but completely usable. Wifi worked well, had access to the lobby one stronger, but could see another one they had set up for the rooms farther from the lobby.
Lobby only attended through 7pm so if you're checking in late make sure to call and they will set you up.
Several rooms are pretty close to the bar/restaurant area so if you don't want to deal with noise you may want to stay away from that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

While vacationing in SPI, I learned about this place/hotel. We all went and ate, drank (fantastic drinks) and just a few steps - literally to the beach.

We could hear the music coming from Wanna Wanna which was a mixture and it made the perfect place to be at.

The staff there were really nice too!
... the one draw back that I would like to say is "on any given Holiday, your'e going to pay $199.99". OUCH!!!!!!

It's not the fancy hotel so therefore, I will state to look else where to spend the night. And if you do stay at Wanna Wanna, be ready to hear plenty of noice.
Otherwise, it's a cool place to be at.

Regards,
Sam E.

Room Tip: You will hear noices on every room. Your'e right by the beach and the music is feet away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This place gets four stars for its location, atmosphere, service and all around laid back South Padre vibe-- not for its beds, which are definitely two-star hard.
Formerly Island Inn, Wanna Wanna has taken the name of its adjacent beach bar and grilll, where you can get a "world famous" pina colada so good it will knock the flip flops off your sandy feet. The grill has a small menu of pretty good food, too.
Our room didn't have the fancy murals shown on the website, but it did have a full kitchen ,which was nice. The motel provided coffee for the pot, dish detergent, and paper towels. Need ice? Stroll down to the Wanna Wanna and fill your in-room bucket.
There was no phone in the room, but the office was right around the corner. There was also no remote for the TV, but a quick trip to the office took care of that. Don't be afraid to ask for something-- they probably have it. Parking is crazy because part of the side lot is public beach access. Motel guests get a parking permit to put in the windshied, whioh means you can park some designated spots on the side, front and front row in a lot across the street.
Although it only has 15 rooms, Wanna Wanna is a busy place where people come to eat, drink and party. If that sounds like fun, this might the the place fo stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are furthest from the bar action and probably quieter. Only second floor rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

So, for starters, don't expect the Ritz Carlton. This is a no frills place. Rooms are basic. They are clean and have a fridge and microwave. It is right on the beach. In my opinion, this is the coolest place on the island. Beach bar is great,strong drinks, pretty good bands, right on the beach. This is a really cozy place. It is a party place but, it is not crazy. It is very laid back. I had a blast. If you are a fancy person and have a hard time relaxing without luxury, go to he Ritz. If you like to have a good time on the beach, go to the Wanna Wanna.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

You totally get what you pay for with this location. This is NOT a Hilton property so don't get your hopes set too high, however it sits right on the beach, one of the few places that actually does on the ocean side of the island. The room was clean, the bed was made every day, the shower worked just fine. The bar staff were all good and the beer was ice cold. The food was your basic fried bar food, but all done well and relatively quickly. The pool was being cleaned and painted during my stay so never got to use it--no big deal because the ocean is right there...

One thing was kinda strange---no phone in the rooms. If you need to call the front desk you gotta use your cell or walk.

The weather kinda sucked when I was there for most of the days, not the Wanna Wanna's fault, but other than that it was an ok place to stay. A little better explanation of the local island shuttle would have been more helpful in the beginning--I ended up walking A LOT, but no big deal. Not much else to do when the weather was crappy...

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor for a view of the ocean. Catch the shuttle north to Clayton's on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wanna Wanna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanna Wanna Inn

Address: 5100 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly Island Inn on the Beach)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wanna Wanna Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Wanna Wanna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanna Wanna Hotel South Padre Island
Wanna South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wanna Wanna Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.