We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Margaritaville" Motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wanna Wanna Inn

Save Saved
You added Wanna Wanna Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wanna Wanna Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5100 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly Island Inn on the Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 32 hotels in South Padre Island
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“"Margaritaville" Motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This place gets four stars for its location, atmosphere, service and all around laid back South Padre vibe-- not for its beds, which are definitely two-star hard.
Formerly Island Inn, Wanna Wanna has taken the name of its adjacent beach bar and grilll, where you can get a "world famous" pina colada so good it will knock the flip flops off your sandy feet. The grill has a small menu of pretty good food, too.
Our room didn't have the fancy murals shown on the website, but it did have a full kitchen ,which was nice. The motel provided coffee for the pot, dish detergent, and paper towels. Need ice? Stroll down to the Wanna Wanna and fill your in-room bucket.
There was no phone in the room, but the office was right around the corner. There was also no remote for the TV, but a quick trip to the office took care of that. Don't be afraid to ask for something-- they probably have it. Parking is crazy because part of the side lot is public beach access. Motel guests get a parking permit to put in the windshied, whioh means you can park some designated spots on the side, front and front row in a lot across the street.
Although it only has 15 rooms, Wanna Wanna is a busy place where people come to eat, drink and party. If that sounds like fun, this might the the place fo stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are furthest from the bar action and probably quieter. Only second floor rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    25
    13
    5
    15
See reviews for
12
20
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

So, for starters, don't expect the Ritz Carlton. This is a no frills place. Rooms are basic. They are clean and have a fridge and microwave. It is right on the beach. In my opinion, this is the coolest place on the island. Beach bar is great,strong drinks, pretty good bands, right on the beach. This is a really cozy place. It is a party place but, it is not crazy. It is very laid back. I had a blast. If you are a fancy person and have a hard time relaxing without luxury, go to he Ritz. If you like to have a good time on the beach, go to the Wanna Wanna.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

You totally get what you pay for with this location. This is NOT a Hilton property so don't get your hopes set too high, however it sits right on the beach, one of the few places that actually does on the ocean side of the island. The room was clean, the bed was made every day, the shower worked just fine. The bar staff were all good and the beer was ice cold. The food was your basic fried bar food, but all done well and relatively quickly. The pool was being cleaned and painted during my stay so never got to use it--no big deal because the ocean is right there...

One thing was kinda strange---no phone in the rooms. If you need to call the front desk you gotta use your cell or walk.

The weather kinda sucked when I was there for most of the days, not the Wanna Wanna's fault, but other than that it was an ok place to stay. A little better explanation of the local island shuttle would have been more helpful in the beginning--I ended up walking A LOT, but no big deal. Not much else to do when the weather was crappy...

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor for a view of the ocean. Catch the shuttle north to Clayton's on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

My husband and I drove to South Padre Island on a whim and wanted to stay on the beach.The motel is really cute and looks as if it was recently renovated.

We knew there would still probably be many visitors from up north, so we were pleased to find that the Wanna Wanna had two rooms available - one room for one night and the other room for as long as we wanted. We found out quickly why Room 109 is always available. It is right next to the bar and the pool, which is OK, if a little noisy. However, when we got into the room and shut the door, we could hear men talking through our air conditioner - I mean every word they were saying. My husband walked around to the other side of the building and discovered that our air conditioner vented into the bar's men's room next to the urinal. When we told the young woman at the front desk, she let us move into the other room, which was upstairs, and we had a restful night.

Pros:The beds were very comfortable and I love the murals on the walls. Plenty of parking in a lot across the street. Kitchenette with a real coffeemaker, refrigerator and microwave. Plenty of towels and new hairdryer in the bathroom. Ocean side of the island and motel is next to public access to the beach.

Cons: Limited view of the ocean from the upstairs balcony. None of the windows open. No exhaust vent in the bathroom. Funky showerhead. Strong chlorine smell in the bed linens and the pillows were flat. Air conditioner very noisy.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gretna ne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Just returned home from a three week stay at the Wanna Wanna. Cant say enough good things about it. We had a wonderful time, the rooms were clean and maid service was outstanding. The office staff was also great. Food and drinks at the bar were excellent. Thank You to everyone at the Wanna Wanna for making our 53rd wedding anniversary a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Upstaires rooms have a better view. Beautiful sunrises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Benito, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

This small beach front hotel is great. Rooms are clean and comforatble, nice pool, they allow pets ($10.00 night), good bar and grill. I would recommend highly.

Room Tip: Room 118 upstairs has a direct view of the beach and Gulf of Mexico
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Everything about this hotel was great! They have a kitchenette with Microwave and Refrigerator and hot plate. It was clean and the murals on the walls is a particular plus for me. You are already on the beach and they have a bar and grill so you don't have to go far.

Room Tip: We have stayed in three different rooms and they were all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wanna Wanna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanna Wanna Inn

Address: 5100 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly Island Inn on the Beach)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wanna Wanna Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Wanna Wanna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanna Wanna Hotel South Padre Island
Wanna South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wanna Wanna Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.