We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Blue Bay Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 32 hotels in South Padre Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It is being remodeled, so there's tubs and mattresses on the side of the hotel. We weren't bothered by that. I do not recommend balcony view on the first floor. The staff was great! Very friendly, that sometimes makes a difference. We needed extra towels no problem. We did use the laundry room. Breakfast was ok. We had a happy stay.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    9
    5
    24
See reviews for
14
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a good stay, but we were on a tight budget. Had 2 very small dogs, ended up 40.00 a night for both of them. I didn't find these prices listed anywhere on Website. Can see those prices if they were large dogs maybe. Staff very nice, hotel being remodeled, so had perhaps more outside trash than usual. Breakfast not what I consider great. Overall I enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel room was clean and well kept. And breakfast was ok but not great, if you choose to eat breakfast there do not be a minute late, at 9:30 am everything gets put away. The pool area was small and shallow it could use some updating and cleaned. The hotel is on the main strip which is good and great for access to everything. My opinion about this place is that it is just a plan hotel, and nothing to brag about. Our stuff was keep safe while we visited the island and its were we slept at night. Again its nothing fancy. Also as a side note if you find yourself in need of a urgent care facility DO NOT GO TO THE ONE ON THE ISLAND. GOTO THE MAIN LAND.

Room Tip: We brought our crock pot and cooked meals during the day while we were at the Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and i got this hotel for 2 reasons. First they have a pool and jacuzzi and second they had wifi in the room. So we get to the hotel and no one is allowed to use the pool or jacuzzi because they had just put chlorine in it. Why cant they do it over night so the guests who pay to use the facilities can use them and there was no wifi in the room. We were told we could use the wifi in the common area but we were told they had wifi in the rooms. Then the bed was old and hard as rock. Then the assistant manager tells us he will be giving us a discount and did we get it...NO!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked with this hotel through Booking.com at $59 ($74 with tax) a night for a king room with a balcony and breakfast from a Monday to a Friday. When we arrived we actually got a single queen bed in a double room with the balcony, fridge, microwave and nice TV. No remote for the TV, however. The room was clean and the balcony overlooks the bay and the pool, which was old but in ok condition. The water pressure in our shower was very poor every day we were there. The room also had holes in the ceiling that had been covered with peices drywall because of the renovation. The sliding glass door for our balcony would not lock at all. The breakfast was very limited and there was no room to eat or get your food. The pool stayed dirty with sand while we were there due to people swimming in it after coming back from the beach. Also, there was bits of palm tree chaff from the trees floating in it everyday. The pool had rules and hours but they were not enforced at all, which meant people were at the pool until midnight cooking and making noise. This did not bother us much. There were also construction people working on the hotel everyday as well. We felt there was very little security at the hotel. There was no keyed access on any of the entrances to the hotel. We aren't fancy people, so a lot of this didn't really bother us. We went to SPI for the beach and other activities the island offers. If you are a person that is used to a very nice hotel, don't get your hopes up. The positives: the staff was friendly and courteous, we weren't far from the closest beach access, we had free WIFI and the sunsets over the bay from the balcony were beautiful. For the same price, we would stay there again... If 'fancy' isn't a priority for you, this place does the job!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We drove ten hours after booking out hotel months in advance, called to confirm twice, including the day of, arrived and they has given our room away. Rude, incompetent, unprofessional staff. Do not stay here the staff are deceitful and only care about money and filling room, not about cleanliness or customer satisfaction. Worst experience ever.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Looked like this hotel was given a face lift recently, but you still get the sense it's an older building. The elevator was a little creaky, but the lobby and breakfast area were nice and clean. We had booked a room with 2 queen beds but when we got there we asked for a room with a balcony if possible. They were able to upgrade us to a room with a king size bed, queen (but it actually felt like a double/full size) with a kitchenette (sink/stove top/microwave/minifridge) with a balcony. It was a decent sized room, more than adequate for our purposes. The bathroom was spacious, too, and the shower had good water pressure. Enough towels. The parking lot was a little small and cramped. But the young man at the counter was very pleasant and helpful. The AC was a better than average because it had the option to keep the fan running continuously, so the air didn't get too humid in the room.
The hotel was on the bay side of the main street of the Island, so the balcony faced the bay; but we had a nice view of the sunsets. The pool was outside our window (although we were on the 3rd floor), and there were people barbequing and in the pool until late into the night. We couldn't hear them on the 3rd floor unless we opened the sliding glass door; but i'm sure the people on the 1st floor weren't too thrilled with them.
The median in the street was a pain in the butt since you had to turn right and make a U-turn if you wanted to go left on the street, but that's not the hotel's fault. Otherwise, everything is close by or just a couple of minutes away.
It was a good value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Bay Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Address: 901 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Bay Inn & Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Blue Bay Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel South Padre Island
Blue Bay Inn And Suites
Knights Inn South Padre Island
Bayview Hotel South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bay Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.