We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Bay Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Cleveland, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2004

We switched hotels on our last 2 nights at South Padre Island because the rates at the other hotel were raised outrageously. When we arrived, we were greeted pleasantly. The hotel was clean, smelled great, the room was kind of small and the water pressure was a little low, but it was okay. I would definitely stay here again just because of the way the folks here treated us. An extremely friendly staff. The pool was never crowded - the kids loved that, we were not rushed when we used the hotels laundry facilities. And it was nice and quiet. A great location.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    13
    5
    26
See reviews for
16
18
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2004

Recently stayed in hotel. Staff was mostly friendly. Rooms were clean, but small. Continental breakfast was good. Location was great for easy access to all of the Island. Would probably stay here again. Also, make sure your key cards have the correct length of stay, or you'll be locked out of your room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2003

08/11/03--The room was very clean and new! The shower needed a little more power but did the job.The pool was clean and kept up and there were no more than 4 people at time my kids loved that! The only set back i did have was that when i reserved the room from hotels.com i found a better deal going directly thru the hotel once i cancelled the orginal reservation (hotels.com) and went with the hotel price ($112.00 -2 queens w/ balcony view) 4 days before i was to arrive i confirmed my stay and they did not have it even though i had a confirmation number so i had to pay full price the hotel did work with me some but did not honor the $112.00 orginally quoted so CALL THE NEXT DAY AND CONFIRM WITH THE MANAGER!!! Overall the hotel is right off the causeway in a great location to all the right spots on Padre Blvd!

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2003

We stayed at the Quality Inn for four nights during a national cheerleader competition at the South Padre Convention Center. It's one of the newer hotels on the island. The decor was pleasant, the room was clean, and the staff was friendly. Our room was spacious with a balcony overlooking the pool with a great view of the sunset over the bay. It would have been nice to be at a beachfront hotel, but due to the competition the rates were jacked up to ridiculous amounts on all the beachside properties. This hotel had higher rates for the two days of the competition, but they only increased by $35/night from the usual rate instead of an increase of $100-$200/night like some of the other hotels were charging. Getting to the ocean wasn't a problem as there are quite a few public accesses to the beach. The only drawback was the continental breakfast which left a lot to be desired. Overall, this hotel worked out great for us.

  • Stayed June 2003
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2003

Very nice place... Inexpensive for a really nice new hotel room. The bar at the place it great to view the sunsets from too...

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Bay Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Address: 901 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Bay Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Bay Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel South Padre Island
Blue Bay Inn And Suites
Knights Inn South Padre Island
Bayview Hotel South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bay Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.