We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, it was a place to sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Bay Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Ok, it was a place to sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We went to South Padres in July of 2011 (sorry for the delayed review) and we stayed at the Blue Bay Inn. The hotel seemed pretty clean even though it looked old on the outside. There were issues with the elevators, they seemed to get stuck every now and then. The 2 standard bed suite we stayed in had a refrigerator and a microwave both which worked fine. The decor was ok and so were the beds. It is also right across the street from a McDonald's and right next door to a beach shop, so that was convenient. That was the pros of the hotel. The cons were that all night the people next door were SUPER LOUD and we would get woken up every few hours even with ear plugs on. The walls are paper thin! We banged on the wall but it did no good. We could have called down to the front desk, but we didn't. Another con was the so called continental breakfast. It consisted of powered donuts. That is not my idea of a continental breakfast. Also the access to the beach is HORRIBLE!! We had to walk a good 10 minutes or drive to get beach access when in fact you should be able to get beach access when you cross the street and go down the pathway. This would have made our trip alot easier, since we went to beaches in other states and countries and you just have to walk a block or two to get there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    12
    5
    24
See reviews for
14
16
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

my only request to a friend was iam fine with any hotel but no roaches. what do you know it, ROACHES!! unclean floors and sheets..shower curtain torn unable to close completely..light bulb out with no one there to change..thin walls where you can hear the next room. NEVER ever..wishing i could erase this place from my memory!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Elevators down 95% of time, Room Stink, A/C not working, Restrooms are ugle and dirty. I'd rather spend the night in Jail! When calling owner you get voicemail that says "The Crickect customer you are trying to reach is not available" Receptionist are young girls that are just on their cell phones and eating.. not worried about your concerns, Pool is small and dirty. Pictures on website are incorrect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The hotel apparently was under renovations, we were on the 3rd floor and some of the rooms didn't have their room numbers on the doors or walls. The area in the hallway there was a soda machine but where maybe there should have been an ice machine or something there was an empty space and lines hanging out. The second elevator was not working but on our floor only 2 pieces of plywood were standing in front of the elevator but that would not have kept anyone out not even a young child because it was not stapled or nailed together you could move them out of the way if you wanted and the door was open and hanging to the side. Then during the week the one elevator would only work until 4pm because the maintenance crew was not there so it needed to be shut down. So anyone staying up above the 1st floor had to walk up all the flights. Friday after walking around the near shops to the hotel we got back to the hotel and needed water but the machine would not dispense any and the night clerk said none of their machines had any water so we had to walk across the street which ended up taking our money and not dispensing any water. Also another thing that we had in our room was the bathtub. The middle of the bathtub was worn away and weak. We were afraid of stepping in that spot because it felt like you would fall to the next floor. We wanted a partial refund or something since it was not such a great weekend.Nothing so far from mgr or from expedia.......

Room Tip: Just don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Checked in and found mold in bathroom, cockroaches, and blood on the sheets on the bed. Elevator stopped working with my grandchild and brother inside of it, emeg...call inside did not work they were trapped for 20 minutes inside...brother with heart problems and granchild with asthma...drenched with sweat. COntinial breakfast, was twinkies and vendor machine cheese cake....coffee pot old ...crabs in the swimming pool that you had to catch and pull out in order to swim. The room was hot, and musky. TRUST ME DO NO STAY THERE, NO MATTER WHAT DO NOT STAY THERE...................................................TRUST ME!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Last minute vacation. Needed somewhere to stay ASAP. Some places you have to be 21 years old in order to check in, this place accepts 18 year olds. Elevators not working, have to take the stairs I'm on the 4th floor. The shower pressure SUCKS!! No coffee maker, TV is old, and if you're thinking about having, "sexy time" the bed squeks really loud.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night, and found the hotel in a bad shape and dirty. I checked in, went to the bathroom, and found out the toilet seat and inside of toilet was dirty (with obvious signs of dirt, like excrement or maybe blood!). I opened the cooler provided in the room, and found it rusted and dirty beyond believable. I went to complain to the front desk, and the employee said he would send someone right away to fix the problems; true: a guy showed up within a minute carrying a new fridge (which was in a nice shape but with dirt and one hair inside, and he did not clean it for me) and a girl showed up to clean my toilet with no rubber gloves on, so she could only clean the seat (not the inside) and she has a rug that smelled like alcohol (so no real detergent). At that point, I asked the FD to be moved to a decent room, but all they had was on a higher floor and the elevator was broken which means we would have had to walk up to the 4th floor with children and everything! And no discount even if my room was dirty!! The carpeting on the floor was horrible, the walls were broken, and the spring box to say the least gross with humidity or dirt signs (they could have covered it at least!). I was grossed out but there was no other available hotel in the island so there was no choice. At night a fight broke in into the hotel, a woman and a man were screaming loud and fighting and when we called the front desk they said they were not even going to call the police (to which my husband replied, then i am going to call them myself!). The employees were courteous, but they always acted like 'what do you expect from a place like this?" and I paid $125 for the night! Breakfast is a joke, they only have some cereals and coffee/juice and some packaged stuff that is almost not edible because terribly sweet (and the cheap stuff). The pool seemed cleaned, and they decorated it nicely with some modern lovely paintings, but I think the hygiene there was horrible, and somehow the employees did not care. They did not have a microwave in the room which I thought it was bad also. The other people staying at the hotel seemed the kind of people whom you would find in a bad neighborhood, and did not feel safe at all. The lock behind the door was also broken, so we could not lock the door at night, I did not complain because they made me feel like I was somehow bothering them. I would not recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Bay Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Address: 901 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Bay Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Bay Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Inn And Suites
Blue Bay Hotel South Padre Island
Knights Inn South Padre Island
Bayview Hotel South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bay Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.