We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“low quality and dirty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Blue Bay Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 33 hotels in South Padre Island
boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“low quality and dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night, and found the hotel in a bad shape and dirty. I checked in, went to the bathroom, and found out the toilet seat and inside of toilet was dirty (with obvious signs of dirt, like excrement or maybe blood!). I opened the cooler provided in the room, and found it rusted and dirty beyond believable. I went to complain to the front desk, and the employee said he would send someone right away to fix the problems; true: a guy showed up within a minute carrying a new fridge (which was in a nice shape but with dirt and one hair inside, and he did not clean it for me) and a girl showed up to clean my toilet with no rubber gloves on, so she could only clean the seat (not the inside) and she has a rug that smelled like alcohol (so no real detergent). At that point, I asked the FD to be moved to a decent room, but all they had was on a higher floor and the elevator was broken which means we would have had to walk up to the 4th floor with children and everything! And no discount even if my room was dirty!! The carpeting on the floor was horrible, the walls were broken, and the spring box to say the least gross with humidity or dirt signs (they could have covered it at least!). I was grossed out but there was no other available hotel in the island so there was no choice. At night a fight broke in into the hotel, a woman and a man were screaming loud and fighting and when we called the front desk they said they were not even going to call the police (to which my husband replied, then i am going to call them myself!). The employees were courteous, but they always acted like 'what do you expect from a place like this?" and I paid $125 for the night! Breakfast is a joke, they only have some cereals and coffee/juice and some packaged stuff that is almost not edible because terribly sweet (and the cheap stuff). The pool seemed cleaned, and they decorated it nicely with some modern lovely paintings, but I think the hygiene there was horrible, and somehow the employees did not care. They did not have a microwave in the room which I thought it was bad also. The other people staying at the hotel seemed the kind of people whom you would find in a bad neighborhood, and did not feel safe at all. The lock behind the door was also broken, so we could not lock the door at night, I did not complain because they made me feel like I was somehow bothering them. I would not recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    9
    5
    24
See reviews for
14
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

They ruined my vacations got my credit card num and all my info but never find my name when I showed up. the front desk service girl was wearing a shirt that said Gloria and she dint want to give me a ritten notice to prove that I showed up ....cause u cant cancel a room cause u will get charged for it if u dont show up ...... so u can imagen it was bike fest and I had no other place to stay

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferris, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

The very first day of our arrival,I got on the elevator to go down from the 4th floor,when the elevator stops,nothing happens, and than I started freaking out.It was a tiny elevator, no one knew I was on it, no cell phone,and the hotel was fairly empty.I started pushing buttons,and the emergency button,and nothing.Just quiet,nothing worked,I started screaming for help and banging on the door,and I cannot begin to put my fear into words,I am claustrophobic,but anyone would have lost it.I began shaking,and was trying to keep my head together,but couldnt.I was screaming,and hitting the door,and nearly out of my mind when a hotel maintenance man heard me.He yelled I will get you out.Minutes seemed like an eternity,before he pried open the door with a crowbar,and he did apologize.I was trembling and in tears,at the front desk,and they said sorry,and that they would put me in another room on the first floor.I just felt like after the tramatic event I just went thru,they should have done a little more.
Not physically hurt,but the mental part was unbelievable.To be alone,with no communication,knowing no one knew you were trapped,and the emergency button,did not even work.This experience left me drained and mentally exhausted, but I went on with our vacation,and tried to forget this awful experience.My advice,if you get on the elevator,dont be by yourself,and have a cell phone.The beds were very hard,very uncomfortable.Every one who worked there was very nice and polite .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Room was not at all what we expected. Looked like something out of the 80's, No coffee pot, microwave out in hallway, bed hard and pillows very flat. Hole in ceiling above commode. Elevator slow and out of order one day - two elevators but only one working. Outside stairwell very dirty.
Went there for an anniversary weekend and was very disappointed. Will not be staying there again. It's fine for the Spring Breakers, but not for a special event.

Room Tip: Make sure you are getting exactly what your expecting - ask questions re: view from room, is there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011 via mobile

This hotel was a nightmare! The lobby,hallways, and rooms smelled so very dingy. The elevators did not work. The stairs were full of trash and smelled of urine. We had to ask for clean towels. The bedsheets were stained. Tried going the economic route and got even less than what we paid for. Maybe a good stay for college spring breakers but definitely not for family with kids. Oh forgot to mention the so called breakfast is just a loaf of bread and reused coffee. No joke. Also pool was yellow. Guess they figure you are here for the beach anyway. Just disappointing .

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Everything was so awful from the front desk to the room service. The breakfast was horrible coffee and gross sugar donuts. The elevator was always not working properly. i will never stay here again and warn friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

This hotel just has too many problems. For example, the elevators always get stuck, and when you need to talk to a manager there is never one available. If you ever stay make sure the price is right because you get what you pay for. The deluxe continental they advertise all it consist of is coffee and cheap sugar donuts. The jacuzzi outside doesn't even have a control for bubbles. It was my worst hotel stay ever.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Bay Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Address: 901 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Bay Inn & Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Blue Bay Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel South Padre Island
Blue Bay Inn And Suites
Knights Inn South Padre Island
Bayview Hotel South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bay Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.