We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new manager and you can tell he is getting it right! thank you motel 6” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 South Padre Island

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 South Padre Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 South Padre Island
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4013 Padre Boulevard, Island Causeway at Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 32 hotels in South Padre Island
Laredo, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“new manager and you can tell he is getting it right! thank you motel 6”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

well they got a new manager and you can tell he care's ! he has got rid of the bugs and truly cleaned up the place i was very happy to see it! i didnt want to stay there but i was told they were working on it so i gave it a shot and i was happy! you can look and see i gave very bad feed back here bt it is a great deal now! i was there over thanks giving and was very happy! if they got new beds it would help they are very hard

Room Tip: stay on the north side there is no road on that side so you don't here car's
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    4
    7
    15
See reviews for
7
12
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

You get what you pay for here its not a holiday inn etc, not much to say the rooms are small and I had dead bugs in my bathroom the,1st night then a welcome introduction by the roaches in bathroom the 2nd night. The following next morning I was out of there, and they charge you for.wifi.... Really!!!!! Will never come here again

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at this motel on Sat 24- Sun 25 th check out time. I was pleased to see the rooms looked nice and clean. Eliseo the clerk on duty was pleasant and efficient which made the check in process painless lol check out time also was a breeze, just turned in cc key and that's it. No long waits at all. The pool although small was perfect water depth wise from 3ft to 5 ft- perfect for the kiddos and for those of us adults who don't know how to swim but still like to enjoy some pool time. Although the pool hrs at night closed at 9:30pm :( but I guess I can see if opened later hrs, it could disturb other guests whose rooms by pool. Female clerk on " pool patrol" lol was friendly in enforcing the pool rules ;) one negative not sure if our room was supposed to have shampoo also for us, we only had 1 little face soap but we brought our own stuff so didn't think about calling the front desk . All in all we would definately recommend to other ppl. Funny thing how this motel seems to get low reviews yet this motel always booked solid. :) great value

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

on my trip to south padre island. I ended up staying at this motel 6 at south padre island on Aug 10 checking out on August 11. The room was very small. alot of sand on floor. the beds were super hard , the blankets were very thin. they felt like table clothes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 South Padre Island, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear rmor - Thanks for sharing your review. We apologize for the unpleasant stay you had as a result of the cleanliness and comfort issues you experienced. These issues are not consistent with Motel 6 standards for quality, and we encourage you to contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide our guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a no frills affordable SPI stay. We had three rooms each with two beds slightly smaller than doubles and a wall mounted flat screen. They varied slightly in size. There was just enough room for our luggage and my son's playpen but not much else. The shower and water worked well and the rooms were clean and looked like they had a recent cheap and simplistic renovation. The pool area in the back was tiny and clean.The air conditioner worked really well.
The service was average. It took a little coaxing to be moved into a non smoking room at first but it was resolved. On the third day one of our beds was not made but it was probably because we accidentally left a tote bag on the bed. We had to request to be moved from one of the rooms after the first day because we saw at 3 roaches within the first 12 hours. The room was on the first floor on the left side of the hotel. Neither of the other two rooms nor the replacement room had that problem.
The location was great. We walked 5 minutes to the beach the first day and were just 10 minutes driving distance from most places(the island is small).
Overall, if you are on a budget and are looking for a place to sleep after long days out, this is an option. If you're traveling and are expecting anything more than that then you need to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

iv stayed here a few times and i never had anything but good to say! well this trip it was bad! roaches in the room! what more has to be said? how ever the staff was great! very nice folks upon check in !

Room Tip: i would not stay there till they take care of the bugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location, room is great and outstanding service. Have paid more and got less. The rooms are Clean and very well kept. I like the TV mounted on the wall. This location has on site washer and dryer available. Walking distance to the shore. Next door is an excellent restaurant - good food and service there!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 South Padre Island

Address: 4013 Padre Boulevard, Island Causeway at Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 South Padre Island 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island
Motel Six South Padre Island
South Padre Island Motel Six
South Padre Island Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 South Padre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.