We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very small” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 South Padre Island

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 South Padre Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Motel 6 South Padre Island
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4013 Padre Boulevard, Island Causeway at Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“very small”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

on my trip to south padre island. I ended up staying at this motel 6 at south padre island on Aug 10 checking out on August 11. The room was very small. alot of sand on floor. the beds were super hard , the blankets were very thin. they felt like table clothes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 South Padre Island, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear rmor - Thanks for sharing your review. We apologize for the unpleasant stay you had as a result of the cleanliness and comfort issues you experienced. These issues are not consistent with Motel 6 standards for quality, and we encourage you to contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide our guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    4
    5
    12
See reviews for
5
10
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a no frills affordable SPI stay. We had three rooms each with two beds slightly smaller than doubles and a wall mounted flat screen. They varied slightly in size. There was just enough room for our luggage and my son's playpen but not much else. The shower and water worked well and the rooms were clean and looked like they had a recent cheap and simplistic renovation. The pool area in the back was tiny and clean.The air conditioner worked really well.
The service was average. It took a little coaxing to be moved into a non smoking room at first but it was resolved. On the third day one of our beds was not made but it was probably because we accidentally left a tote bag on the bed. We had to request to be moved from one of the rooms after the first day because we saw at 3 roaches within the first 12 hours. The room was on the first floor on the left side of the hotel. Neither of the other two rooms nor the replacement room had that problem.
The location was great. We walked 5 minutes to the beach the first day and were just 10 minutes driving distance from most places(the island is small).
Overall, if you are on a budget and are looking for a place to sleep after long days out, this is an option. If you're traveling and are expecting anything more than that then you need to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

iv stayed here a few times and i never had anything but good to say! well this trip it was bad! roaches in the room! what more has to be said? how ever the staff was great! very nice folks upon check in !

Room Tip: i would not stay there till they take care of the bugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location, room is great and outstanding service. Have paid more and got less. The rooms are Clean and very well kept. I like the TV mounted on the wall. This location has on site washer and dryer available. Walking distance to the shore. Next door is an excellent restaurant - good food and service there!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearsall
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The staff was nice. However the room that we were put in smelled wet, there was an AC problem. We had to switch rooms at 3AM because the AC was not cooling. Apparently none of the AC's work because even the second room did not get cool, we all slept with no covers. The AC was not as a bad of a problem as all the roaches that were crawling around. I would not recommend that anyone give a single dollar to this place. Do not be fooled by the "renovations"

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was attacked by vicious bed bugs after taking a 2 hour nap when we first arrived. I was itching the rest of the day! A/C did not work and the room stayed at around 85 degrees in mid July. The woman at the desk couldn't care less when I asked her about it. Had to go to walmart and buy a fan at midnight just to be able to sleep. ONLY 5 channels worked on the TV and it was super slow with bad reception. Had to cancel our second day and check out and then our vacation went MUCH better! Trust me, just spend a bit more on a better place! This place truly sucks. Oh yeah, TINY SHOWER AND ROOM!! Shower was literally like like 1 ft by 1 ft. Not close to the beach unless you wanna cross heavy traffic and walk a few blocks.. Only good thing is that the morning we checked out a new manager seemed to actually care and gave us a $50 credit along with a refund for the second day... I've never been the type to complain, but this motel thoroughly sucked! Take my warning if you are wise and don't want your girl to be pissed at you...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

we stayed there twice now and will keep going there! great price clean and the staff care's if you need something just ask!! good parking and just about a 1 min walk to the gulf ! for the price i was very happy

Room Tip: we where there over xmas and it was a great deal under $40,00 a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 South Padre Island

Also Known As:
Motel 6 South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island
Motel 6 South Padre Island Hotel
Motel Six South Padre Island
South Padre Island Motel Six
South Padre Island Motel 6
Address: 4013 Padre Boulevard, Island Causeway at Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 South Padre Island 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Motel 6 South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 South Padre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.