We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best vacation ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge South Padre Island to your Saves list
Travelodge South Padre Island
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6200 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Birding Tickets
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
san antonio tx
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best vacation ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

my first vacation at south padre island, and i stayed at travelodge
good place to stay. rooms are clean, staff very helpful, very friendly
i will go back to the island again and stay at travelodge
they have good rates compare to othe places

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    290
    165
    73
    51
See reviews for
367
285
40
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

We're very pleased with this Travelodge! It's been completely remodeled since our last stay here (about 7 years ago).
Our room is very clean, nicely decorated, comfortable bed, staff is courteous, nice breakfast, pleasant happy hour, no problems with wifi, nice selection of cable channels, microwave, fridge, terrific rates! We don't spend alot of time at the room, doing more sight-seeing, beach lounging and shopping.
We would, without a doubt, recommend this Travelodge to friends (and have).
Unfortunately, there will always be some people complaining, but consider if you invited hundreds of people into your home... could you keep everyone happy all the time? It may have more to do with the guest, than the accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jedman, Owner at Travelodge South Padre Island, responded to this review, February 16, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I can tell that this is an authentic review and your know the property well. Thanks again we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

My husband and I just got back from SPI, and stayed at the Travel Lodge while there. Nothing about the hotel is "fancy", but for the money we were satisfied. The room was very clean, the bed had a better-than-average mattress, the wi-fi was great, the staff wasn't particularly friendly but not rude either. DO NOT look for an on-the-beach-gulf-view, because there isn't one. There is "beach access" which means you walk in between the other hotels until you get to the beach. If I could name one thing that we weren't happy with, it would be that our non-smoking room smelled strongly like smoke from the room that backed up to ours. It was STRONG, so we slept with our window open. The room was very spacious and the tile floors were great~~hate carpet in beach hotel rooms.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2009

My room was satisfactory. The room was large with a tiled floor. Because of the sand and humidity I find the tile to be preferable to carpet. The WIFI was marginal at best. The continental breakfast was adequate. My room was reasonably clean and the bed was satisfactory.

The problem is that the management rented the hotel to two large groups of most marginal characters. My room had an interior door to the room next door and the occupants next door started to smoke pot in their non-smoking room. I tried to complain to the managment who would answer the phone. When I went outside I find the plic breaking up a fight. The police returned a second time nad eventually arrested several of these individuals. Blood was on the walkway from the fights.
Because of the condition of the hotel I cannot believe that this is an ordinary occurence. Simply, the management should have removed these occupants after the first night.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

I am staying at the Travel Lodge on S. Padre Island right now. The room is very clean, the beds are so comfortable, and the staff is very courteous and polite. Employee Sonya is so polite and friendly, she took the time to show me how the waffle iron works (I'm a terrible cook), she was also very informative upon check-in. After spending over $300 a night at a total dump on Waikiki Beach last month (where employees were either too rude or too busy), I have to say that the economical Travel Lodge here is well worth the money and makes the expensive places look sick.

Access to the beach is easy and safe (compared to the Days Inn, Motel 6 and others where one must walk across busy Padre Blvd. to get to the beach). Sleeping at night is so peaceful and quiet here, you can almost hear the gentle waves on the beach. The breakfast is full with cereals, waffles, muffins, o.j., coffee, and all the compliments. And for those of us travelling with pets (yes, they're allowed here), no worries about them making a mess in the room: the floors are tiled for easy clean-up if they do so happen to piddle.

Would I return here? Absolutely.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

arrived at the start of september and stayed til october as i was working in Port Isabel and preferred to stay on the Island.

my only complaint is that its too far away from the shops, but thats it!

the room was big and clean, the facilities were all that was required, ie. a fridge, microwave etc....

when i had dealings with the staff they were very polite and more than helpful, my only dealing was with resetting my television remote, hardly a big deal.

for the price you pay you won't get a better bargain in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

I chose this hotel because we got into town late and could not check into our room at the La Quinta until the next day. I was surprised at what we got for the price. $39.95. 2 queen beds, one couch, table and chairs. Nice TV, A/C, big bathroom. Everything was clean and oh so comfortable. The beds were perfect with lots of pillows. The desk staff were friendly. There was even breaksfast in the lobby. There was a nice pool, hot tub and access to the beach. As an FYI, I asked the clerk how much these room go for during spring break and she quoted $199.00-$250.00. Still not bad if you get 5-6 people in the room. SPI is a great place to visit in the fall because the island is quiet, beaches nice and the price is right no matter where you stay. Us northern people travel here for sunshine and I just love this place. It a quick, in expensive get away. The area has many great places to eat and you can take a day trip down to Mexico.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge South Padre Island

Address: 6200 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge South Padre Island 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island
Travel Lodge South Padre Island
South Padre Island Travelodge
South Padre Island Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge South Padre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.