We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our jacuzzi room was not available so so we were given a...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Travelodge South Padre Island to your Saves list
Travelodge South Padre Island
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6200 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Birding Tickets
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    281
    160
    73
    51
See reviews for
364
274
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Falls
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were disappointed to come back & find problems with our room. Dust ruffle torn (worse than it was last year) There were no hand towels in the room for two days, the TV remote would not change channels, the bath tub handle is a challenge to use, just occasional cold water in the bathroom sink--it is usually just warm water, we repaired the stool lid ourselves for fear that we would fall off of it because it was so loose. Suggestion?? Perhaps a review of each room would be in order instead of the various painting projects that have been done. We understand that exterior views are important to the visitors, but once you nab them, take care of their room in order to have them willing to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharyland, Owner at Travelodge South Padre Island, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We are sorry to have disappointed you. We do inspect all rooms at check outs. In addition to exterior painting since your last visit a year ago we have installed new love seat sleeper sofas, new night stands, and desks. We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you. Where ever you stay please let the front desk know of a problem as soon as you encounter it. My appologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My family and I took a quick trip to this hotel for a weekend over christmas break. Check in went fine. The initial room inspection was as expected. This hotel is for sleeping and changing clothes after a day on the beach. Nothing more. Good enough for its intended purpose, or so I thought. We laid down about 9 pm with our 3 year old son. About an hour later, the parties on the same floor started. People were yelling and music was loud, easily pouring through the paper thin walls. The worst part, an adjacent room, also non smoking, was smoking. This sent the fumes directly into our room, and to our asthmatic son. We put him in the bathroom with the fan on to see if maybe the smoke was just someone passing by, but it did not stop. Complaints to staff were met with an indifference. We had no choice but to leave around 11 PM and make the 5 hour trip home.

Oh and FYI, the "private beach access" leads to about a 1 foot width of beach, completely unusable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharyland, Owner at Travelodge South Padre Island, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Chances were the people were smoking outside their room next to you and we're probably drinking and talking and laughing loudly. If you left at 11 you probably called earlier and the front desk and security guard thought the guest were not making "excessive noise". My apologies but I would recommend renting a single family house on the island because condos and hotels are too dense to avoid all noise and outside smoking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge South Padre Island

Address: 6200 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge South Padre Island 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island
Travel Lodge South Padre Island
South Padre Island Travelodge
South Padre Island Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge South Padre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.