We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok value for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Save Saved
You added Travelodge South Padre Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge South Padre Island
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6200 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Birding Tickets
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Houston
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An ok value for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Did not appreciate paying for the "in-room safe" which amounted to a strong-box perched on the waste paper basket. We did not request it, did not use it, but were charged for it at check out. BIG thumbs down on that! Final charge was 25$ more than stated at booking due to "safe" and "TV Package", again not requested. I don;t like that nickel-and-diming tactic . Makes them cheesy.

The heater for the hot tub was also not reliable so at times you were very hot and others it was luke-warm. For two days the water in the hot tub was was cloudy and murky - did not get in the hot tub then.

Internet service not dependable-- in four days I had 2-4 interruptions daily - up to 30 -45 minutes delay at times.

The staff however was GREAT. Hector at check -in could not have welcomed us better made us feel so welcome and at home. and big thanks to Luis for his constant smiles and always cheerful good-mornings, hugs, and for the BEST waffles this side of the Mississippi.

Also hats-off to the housekeeping staff on second floor - these gals were great - efficient, pleasant and always kept the room spotless.

A lot of snow-birds this time of year - they sort of take the hotel over. They are all friendly and nice, but they monopolize the breakfast and meeting room. They said some of them have booked rooms for generations, so you get the feeling that you are not "one of them" and that you are sort of crashing their party. That's not a negative, but if you are just passing through, you get it.

This is a good deal for an off-beach hotel - but just on the edge of calling it within walking distance despite "private walkway" to the beach. You cannot hear or see the ocean from the hotel. The terrace and pool areas wonderful for sunning. Outdoor furniture well used but clean. Overall a good deal for the price paid - Note: not a luxury stay but very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    264
    156
    73
    50
See reviews for
349
261
35
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great place. Great room, Except that the room next to us sounded like there were 20 people staying in it. Couldnt sleep because of all the noise. I asked the person at the front desk what the limit occupany per room was and was told it was 5 per room. Well that one didnt sound like 5. Sounded more like 20, mostly children. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a great stay while we were there. We needed linens for the couch bed and front desk got them to us right away. We will definitely stay there again! Luis was great! He is so friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharyland, Owner at Travelodge South Padre Island, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for acknowleding Luis's efforts. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon. Please shop the internet for pricing but always book direct - we will match any internet site for prices at our property. Thanks, MK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have stayed at this place several times and have had no complaints. Prices are great and the staff are very friendly. Each time I go there the front desk staff remembers me and makes me feel very welcome. Oh sure it's not right on the beach but there is a cute little path from the hotel to the beach. There is a nice breakfast spread each morning that I enjoy and so did my daughter. The room was clean & comfortable. Air conditioned and ceiling fan which is great because I have sinus issues.

The only thing I didn't like was that I had to walk all the way from my room to the front desk in order to get pillows and blankets.

They will also price match.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharyland, Owner at Travelodge South Padre Island, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thanks for your review. We are glad to have you as a loyal guest. In the future please call the front desk and we can have linens or what ever else you need delivered to your room. Thanks for mentioning our price match guarantee. Here are the main reasons to book direct: (1) we have 24 hour cancelation policy they do not. (2) You have control of the type and location of your room. If you book on a third party site you may be placed in the worst location on the property and if we are sold out we can not help you. (3) We can not offer a refund as the money is being held by the third party site. Thanks for the oppportunity to share this point with other guests and potential guests. We appreciate your business. Travel Safe Thanks, MK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge South Padre Island

Address: 6200 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
#13 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#13 Best Value Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge South Padre Island 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Travelodge South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island
Travel Lodge South Padre Island
South Padre Island Travelodge
South Padre Island Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge South Padre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.