We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few things did not work.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Save Saved
You added Travelodge South Padre Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge South Padre Island
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6200 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Write a Review

944 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    280
    159
    78
    53
See reviews for
370
261
36
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is by far the best value for money and customer service of any hotel we've stayed in. The service was phenomenal, thanks to Luis who made us a waffle and chatted with us over breakfast, recommended a place to eat for lunch, and even put on music while we were swimming! Our room was very clean and spacious, the pool is amazing with a real HOT tub, and the beach access is great. We'll stay here every time we come to visit SPI in the future and give it two thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharyland, Owner at Travelodge South Padre Island, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks for your review. We hope to continue to earn your business. Luis is really a special person. We appreciate your business. Please let us know how we can better serve you. Thanks, MK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed here two nights on a birding trip. It is nearby the Convention center birding walk, and within walking distance of the beach on the other side of the island. We were skeptical about it really having a hot tub - it does! It's a bit noisy but still a wonderful relaxant after a long day looking at birds. Great location to get to Laguna Atascosa and also the Sabal Palms Audubon Center. Comfortable beds, quiet, clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharyland, Owner at Travelodge South Padre Island, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thanks for your review. Yes we are very close to the birding center and we are on the beach side with private beach access. Thanks again for the kind words and we appreciate your business. MIke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Ridge, TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is our 3rd year staying at this Travelodge, always just before Thanksgiving. It was nice to see that they are continuing to put money into the property, rennovating rooms, huge sand sculpture out front, nice wood carvings by the entrance, and more TX shaped waffle makers! We enjoyed the use of 2 rooms, although not adjoining, they were right next to each other. Luis always does an awesome job with the morning breakfast crowd, and we were glad to hear that the company has treated him to some travel rewards.....that's awesome! All in all - a great visit. It was awesome seeing Luis again! The rest of the staff is friendly and helpful too!

Room Tip: Were were 2nd floor South side, about midway back from the main road. This was a nice location! Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharyland, Owner at Travelodge South Padre Island, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Mr. Karl: Thanks for your review and updating our recent improvements to the property. Luis is a very special person. The last time I was down we held an employee appreciation party and I had the opportunity to meet his wife who was most gracious. My wife and I hope to attend Thanksgiving at the Travelodge next year I hear the food is really good. We appreciate your business. Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge South Padre Island

Address: 6200 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge South Padre Island 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Travelodge South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island
Travel Lodge South Padre Island
South Padre Island Travelodge
South Padre Island Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge South Padre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.