We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge South Padre Island to your Saves list
Travelodge South Padre Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6200 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Oklahoma City, OK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best hotel for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I said best hotel for the price, but have stayed in much worse..for more. The room was clean, bedding was nice and bed was comfortable. The room is big enough to where you don't feel too cramped on a long stay. (We had the King with big tub) It had everything we needed, everything worked great. Having the ceiling fan was nice, as well has the fridge and microwave. The guy at the front desk was so friendly and helpful when checking in and getting info on the discounts they offer on different local activities (we went parasailing and saved some money through Travelodge) The cleaning staff was very friendly and efficient. The pool was great. Beach access is great. Breakfast was waffles along with the normal continental items..muffins, bagels, cereal, juice, fruit, etc. Luis who made the waffles was very sweet and helpful each morning getting everyone through the waffle line. We are already planning our trip for next year and plan to stay here again...I totally recommend..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    315
    176
    79
    53
See reviews for
398
312
45
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I usually stay here when I come to SPI, but thought I would try a couple of other hotels the last two times I came down. I don't know why I did, because for the price, there is no comparison. Travelodge is the best bang for your buck. I was even more pleased this time to find new wall photos of local things, plus nice lightweight bedspreads. I won't be tempted to try other hotels in the future. I'm happy with my stays at Travelodge! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Staying at this location was worth the stay. Reasonable price. Front desk friendly. The one thing was, it is pet friendly, but there is a fee per night , I didn't know about. Not much, 10.00 a night per pet. The location is close to everything. Beach access is ok. Front desk was very helpful with area activites and offer a discount on some of them. So ask. We arrived late to check in and was given a room next to the laundry room, which upon waking up very early to the noisy machines running and the staff talking loudly outside our room. Not a good location.The room was clean, Everything worked and the beds were good. I do like that the floors were not carpet, ceremic tile, since it is a beach location with sand. I would recomend to stay here, just not next to laundry room.We did enjoy the place well.

Room Tip: ask for a room close to the back, closer to the pool area and closer to beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed at the Travelodge in South Padre at the end of May 2012. I went during the week before Memorial Day weekend so I beat the crowd but it was by far one of the most nicest hotels I have stayed at. Everything from the nice rooms to the private beach access made my stay wonderful. We had 2 nice patios upstairs and the pool was awesome. There was a pool, hot tub, and children's pool. The breakfast could have been a little better but that was the only thing that I would improve at this hotel. i am actually planning another vacation down there at the end of the summer and I will definetly be staying there again!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Good value for the money. Nothing too fancy but clean large room and direct access to beach (although not ON the beach).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

They were very helpful, the staff was nice, rooms were clean. Definetly liked the private beach access. Pool gets a little crowded at times but overall it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jedman, Owner at Travelodge South Padre Island, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you had a great time and we appreciate your business. Please book direct and let us know if there is anything we can do for you after you check in. Thanks, MK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We were here the day after memorial day and stayed a night. Since it was not the holiday weekend and the season really starts next week the rate was very good. They are doing a lot of work around the property fixing it up, cleaning and they were even putting up a new net for the basket ball and starting to do some stuff around the grills they provide. The motel is on the main road and not on the beach, but they have a private walkway that goes between a neighborhood and a highrise so you can walk to the beach. There is an outdoor shower to rinse off so you don't have to track sand in with you. The pool was small, but clean and at night had lights that would change colors. There is a liquor store that is a very short walk, but do not walk on the lot between it and the motel. There are trucks bringing in fill dirt on that lot and you will just get squashed if you try it. Ask for extra pool towels and they will give them to you. The pool towels had a blue stripe so you would not have to use the bath towels at the pool. Will definetly consider this motel again for our next stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side seem to shorten the walk to the pool and had a little more parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jedman, Owner at Travelodge South Padre Island, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thanks for your review. You mentioned some helpful hints. We appreciate your business. Thanks again, MK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge South Padre Island

Address: 6200 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge South Padre Island 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Travelodge South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island
Travel Lodge South Padre Island
South Padre Island Travelodge
South Padre Island Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge South Padre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.