We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We reccomend it!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Save Saved
You added Travelodge South Padre Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Travelodge South Padre Island
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6200 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We reccomend it!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

We picked this place since it was fairly cheap for a thursday/friday. Sonia let us check in early (room 240). The rooms are nice with tile floors. They were a little sandy but what do you expect being a beach hotel. The private access is a little narrow walkway but it is a cool feature. Our only complaint is the bathroom door didnt close all the way and there is no a/c in the bathroom and the exhaust fan didnt work in the bathroom. That wasnt a major issue since it was just me and my wife. Unfortunately we slept through breakfast cause we were looking forward to the waffles we read about on so many reviews. All in all we will probably stay here again if we can get away again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jedman, Owner at Travelodge South Padre Island, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thanks for your review. We hope to see you again soon but next time if there are any issues with your room please contact the front desk so we can solve the problem so you do not have to be inconvenienced during your stay. Thanks for being a positive person. One of the few things we can control is our attitude and you Sir have a great one. Thanks, MK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    287
    238
    140
    64
    43
See reviews for
299
236
32
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigonish
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is the ideal place to spend a week or more in South Padre. The rooms are huge and very clean. Access to the beach is good. The included breakfasts are excellent and happy hour is happy! Top value!

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelodgespi, Manager at Travelodge South Padre Island, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for your nice review of our property. We have just added new bedspreads in all of our rooms. We have also opened up a snack bar that will be open all summer. Look forward to seeing you again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Don't have a lot to say except that the motel was fine, clean rooms, very reasonable price.

A few suggestions:

The rooms need shears in addition to the blackout curtains. You either had to have the curtains closed and have the room pitch black or open so there's any sort of natural light, then everybody walking by can look right in.

The free breakfast is in serious need of a protein! Not even hard boiled eggs. There were however waffles, toast, cereal, bagels, pastries, apples, oranges plus juice and coffee.

The pool area could use some small tables to sit drinks on while seated in the lounge chairs.

And our biggest compliant, the snack bar at the pool area had a sign that said, "closed, will reopen at 11am". Only problem is that the sign was there for 8 days straight. There was even a board posted with the food specials! Finally on the third day we asked an employee when the snack bar would be open. "oh, that doesn't open until the summer and spring break". YEP, thanks for nothing!

FYI: NO, the motel is not "on the beach" and YES it does have a private walkway to the beach OR you can drive around the block and save the 100-200 yard stroll.

Would we stay here again? For the price, yes. The clean rooms and price made the accommodations acceptable.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We just stayed over this pass weekend A/C wasnt working.Front staff needs help in customer service no friendly welcome. BS on private beach acces
s, beds have wires coming out from sides.

Room Tip: Don't do it :/
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jedman, Owner at Travelodge South Padre Island, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Chris We would not rent a room without the ac working. We keep 10-20 brand new in the box ac units on property in the event one is not working properly we can switch it out quickly. We do have private beach access that statement is not BS. Our mattresses are in very good condition. Once again you should have brought any problems to our attention upon check in. Please stay at our competitors and write a review about their property. Our maintenance team and staff are the best on South Padre Island, MK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

While at the Travelodge everyone on the staff was super helpful, gave us a ton of suggestions and also would go out of their way to be helpful! Luis, in particular, gave us a ton of recommendations for places to visit and things to do on the island! He was a ton of help and super funny =) Overall, great value, great location and terrific pool/beach area too!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

My friends and I stayed here for spring break. First of all, book and pay when you reserve it! We reserved it and then when we got there, and had no other options, they jacked the price up so incredibly much and claimed we had only booked it for two when there was actually 4 of us. So then we had to pay an extra $30 PER NIGHT for the two extra people. It was an awful start. What you should do, is say you have two then just have the other people stay anyway. They give you bracelets and say that if anyone doesnt have them they will be kicked out, but this is hardly the case. Most of the security guards are hitting on girls and dont pay any attention to bracelets.

This is definitely a party hotel during spring break. I WOULD NOT BRING KIDS.

The breakfast was good, the rooms were fine and clean.

This hotel is pretty much the last hotel in Padre, the only restaurant in walking distance is Black Beards (which is so awesome and delicous) but that is still about a twenty minute walk. As far as distance from Louies and other clubs, its not walking distance! Its not really in walking distance to anything BUT there is a free shuttle during the day that stops right in front of the hotel and can take you to Coca Cola beach and shopping.Also cabs are cheap and just a small fee per person (somewhere between $3-9 per person per ride).

There is access to the beach that is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel, it was really easy and nice to use.

Also, there is this one guy who runs the hotel in the morning, he is absolutely wonderful and friendly and bends over backwards. The rest of the staff though were rude and always annoyed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are nice because you are right there, but they are also extremely loud beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, mn
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The hotel was okay, but we were not told in advance that the pool would be closed for 3 days. Had we known this we would have booked elsewhere. The water pressure in the shower was great and the water was hot. That was a plus. We also asked if there was a shuttle for transportation and were told no. However, there is a bus (the wave) that will transport you around for free on the island. We would not have rented a car had we known this. Waffles were good for breakfast, I thought it would be good to offer hard boiled eggs or some type of protein as well.

Room Tip: It was nice to have the patio right outside our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge South Padre Island

Also Known As:
Travelodge South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island
Travelodge South Padre Island Hotel
Travelodge South Padre
Travel Lodge South Padre Island
South Padre Island Travelodge
South Padre Island Travel Lodge
Address: 6200 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge South Padre Island 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge South Padre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.