We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 South Padre Island to your Saves list
Super 8 South Padre Island
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4205 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Super value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed one night on night after Thanksgiving. Couldn't believe the off-season rate (twenty-seven dollars after taxes & everything - no joke)! Booked same day through Trip Advisor which was quick and easy. Check-in only took 3-4 minutes. Staff was friendly and efficient. There is only one coffee packet at the coffee pot (and it's decaf), but can't find any more negatives. Everything is neat & clean. Refrigerator, microwave, 2 double beds, flat-screen TV, wi-fi, free continental breakfast, work table (or dining table) with 2 chairs. AC and ceiling fan. Plenty of towels, clean linens. Signs of wear in sink area, but very minimal. Easy walking distance to beach, restaurants, and shopping. Easy free parking, washers & dryers easily available. We are very pleased!

Room Tip: 2 floors, no elevator. If you can't do stairs, get a 1st floor room and park right by your door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    84
    36
    29
    29
See reviews for
82
91
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We were planning on staying only one night, but that turned into 3 nights after we saw the room and the fact that there was also a kitchen there. The room was clean and the staff was very accommodating when we needed any extra supplies. The hotel is located in a great spot on the island allowing you to walk to the beach and do some shopping. It was quiet and we also used the washer and dryer there, which was most convenient. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good place to stay for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

The family suite is very nice. I like the 2 bedrooms and the full kitchen. I really think the super 8 owner has a potential gem here. However there are some things that need some attention.

1. The ice maker does not work. One of the main reasons we got this room was for the full kitchen with full residential fridge and stove. This is because with a full family we want to be able to cook and provide "home like" amenities to our family. Well the fridge ice maker did not work. This was frustrating as we assumed that if we have a modern full fridge it would work. But no ice.

2. Kitchen was not stocked. What good is a full kitchen if there is not essential items like pots, pans, and cooking utensils? If you are going to offer a full kitchen you should stock it with the basics. And no one is expecting anything fancy from a super 8 but at least have the basics. A pan, pot, and maybe some spatulas is all it needs.

3. This is minor but there were some shortcommings with some items in the room. For exmaple, the restroom door took some wiggling to get open. This is easily fixed and should be by the management. Also, some light switches did not work. Not sure what is going on here but it should be looked at by the owners. Also, there was no "stopper" in the tub. So when we attempted to bath our 3 month old, we had to use a bath towel to stop the tub drain which is not a big deal but why not have a tub stopper?

Overall this room is great value for families. My family of 5 is very comfortable and we are having a great time. These little improvements could really make this room a must stay for the budget conscious buyer.

If you are family that wants a full kitchen for a great price do not hesitate for this room. I just hope the super 8 management addresses these issues before you come to make this a must destination!

Room Tip: Family suite is nice. Like a little apartment! However, you must drag all you stuff to the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

This is the first hotel that ever asked to make a copy of my Drivers License. This made me nervous in light of the fraud going on now days. The room was clean, but we had a problem with roaches in the bathroom The water in the shower was just a trickle. Both Friday and Saturday nights we were kept awake by parties going on in the adjacent rooms. When we contacted the Front Desk they did take care of the problem.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rota, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Great Location however the Hotel really needs some TLC! Room had a distinctively bad smell like dirty water. The first 5 channels on the cable TV did not work.((Not good when they are the prime channels for Sunday Football) One bed had a hard mattress and one bed was soft?! Neither comfortable. Towels looked liked they were dirty grey colored and needed some bleach. Exhaust fan was filthy and breakfast just passable and no better. Sink drain stopped up to a drip. Stayed for Multiple days but could not get room fixed up. Not worth the trade for the great location in the middle of town. Although the room offered no amenities for sale they took our credit card even though we prepaid for the room online....not a good sign. Not a good stay. Golfdude.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get the last room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 South Padre Island

Address: 4205 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 South Padre Island 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island
Super Eight South Padre Island
South Padre Island Super Eight
South Padre Island Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 South Padre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.