We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Save Saved
You added Super 8 South Padre Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 South Padre Island
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4205 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Write a Review

324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    90
    42
    28
    33
See reviews for
97
93
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I want the winner for the tree days in the island is the perfect place for my and my little family. I never go to the park and i want to go.In muy vacations i dont have the opportunity for go to the island. And i know is the perfect moment. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a nasty hotel, trash and wads of hair everywhere. Then our last night there were loud people partying on both sides of our room. We had to go the the front desk 3 times and they were addressed and still continued to be loud. The maids would replace our towels, but not or washcloths. There is not sufficient parking at this hotel either. The beds were very uncomfortable too. My back hurt after the first night. Then we were locked in our room and couldn't get out where the lock broke, and it took hours to get it fixed, during the middle of the night. While being kept awake by loud partiers.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcallen, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in a lot of Super 8's, but this one is the best of all!! 3rd time staying here!! A/C is ALWAYS on when you arrive. Room is nice and cold. Room is very spacious. Very well lit. Great ceiling fan. Staff is very friendly and courteous. If all Super 8's were like this one, I would always stay at a Super 8.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place was the nicest hotel for the most affordable price when I searched through American Express Travel and Trivago. First thing you need to know about SPI is that nearly all the hotels on the island are old so you aren't going to find a beautiful resort unless you pay a HUGE sum of money.

Super 8 was the perfect size, 2 Queen beds. They weren't super comfy by any means but they were beds. The comforters were scratchy and no matter how many times we showered, cleaned, and no matter how hard the housekeepers worked, sand was everywhere. All over the tile floor, in the bed, on the small table, on the TV...it's just everywhere.

Aside from that, the A/C worked great and we really had no problems at all with staying there.

Except for the family a few doors down who always seemed to have their kids just sitting outside on the walkway for some reason. I'm pretty sure they were the ones who peeled stickers off our Jeep. But that's not the hotel's issue. lol
Oh and there's no beach access but you can drive across the street and Wanna Wanna's access is pretty close by.

We were too lazy to get up early enough to try the free breakfast in the morning so I can't comment on that but it's hard to go wrong with waffles.

Room Tip: We chose a first floor room just because climbing stairs with luggage and ice chests in 90%+ humidit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This facility is in a good location, reasonably priced, clean rooms and the staff is friendly. It is located just north of Coconuts and Lagoona Bob's. Senior Donkey ' restaurant is next to it. Excellent Mexican food. Seconds from the bay and walking distance to the beach.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 South Padre Island

Address: 4205 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 South Padre Island 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Super 8 South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island
Super Eight South Padre Island
South Padre Island Super 8
South Padre Island Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 South Padre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.