We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick get away” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 South Padre Island to your Saves list
Super 8 South Padre Island
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4205 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    84
    36
    29
    29
See reviews for
82
91
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel was horrible. The management and desk people were incredibly rude and did not want to help at all. They checked us into one room where the sinks were filthy and the pillows had multiple hairs all over them. We asked for a room change and they put us in another dirty room. We asked if a maid could go through the room and clean it up a bit and they told us she was too busy and had a lot of other stuff to do then told us we had to stay in one of the two because they couldn't switch us to anything else unless we paid an upgrade fee. A wallet was taken from our room while we were at the beach and the manager would not check the cameras to see who went in our room. He would not even discuss it. He would only keep repeating "file a police report."

The worst part was EVERY MORNING at 730AM 6-8 maid carts go through the halls and start cleaning. The maid are constantly slamming doors and hollering to each other all morning. On top of that the rooms are dark and dingy. This hotel should not be rated 2 stars. It was filthy, had the worst customer service I have every received at a hotel and the managers should not be managing anything.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharyland, Owner at Super 8 South Padre Island, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks for your review. Sorry that the maids began cleaning so early. I told the GM that the earliest time they can start is 9:00. Looks like you stayed during spring break which as you know can be crazy but that is no excuse. Some front desk clerks do not treat college aged guest with the respect they deserve which again is no excuse and if I see it happen they will be fired. Any problems in the future my cell is 214 448 8080. Thanks, Mike Klement Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Super 8 for a week because it was on of the cheaper hotels on the island. On our last day, we woke up and our room was flooded. All of our clothes were soaking wet, and mostly ruined. They provdided us no accomidations for us to allow them to dry before leaving. They said we needed to leave immediately and were not allowed to use the washer and dryer they have for guest. Their reasoning they said was because we didn't resport the flooding immediately, which we did right when we woke up and noticed it. They got an attitude with us, were extremely rude, and blamed us for somthing that was their fault because of outdated plumbing. They even went as far to threaten to charge us for damages.

I know this hotel charges one of the lower rates on the island but it simply isn't worth putting with the managment staff. There are pleanty of other hotels that offer similar rates, will treat you with respect, and will accomidate you when damages occur because of their outdated facilities.

I would not reccomend anyone stay here. They are likely to ruin your relaxing vacation to the island.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharyland, Owner at Super 8 South Padre Island, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
What the General Manager said was the room was intentionally flooded. The reason we originally discovered it was the room opposite your room began flooding. We realized that the water was coming from your room. When we discovered that around 9:00 AM your room was filled with over one inch of water. The GM offered for you to use the dryers on property but you refused. Perhaps you mixed prescription drugs with alcohol and do not remember what happened.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is one of the best deals we have found in a location that is usually much higher priced. We paid very little for a clean and spacious room with all the amenities, friendly service and advice from the staff, and a more than adequate breakfast. Having a sink and vanity apart from the tub and toilet area is always a plus for us. Breakfast is the usual waffles etc., and in spite of a large number of guests, everything was still available for late eaters.There is lots of parking but no elevator so book a ground floor room if you don't like stairs or have lots of luggage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharyland, Owner at Super 8 South Padre Island, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks for your review. None of our direct competition have elevators. There are seven hotel properties that have elevators out of the 33 listed on tripadvisor. In any event thanks for the other kind words and we hope to serve you again in the future. Thanks, MK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 South Padre Island

Address: 4205 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 South Padre Island 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island
Super Eight South Padre Island
South Padre Island Super Eight
South Padre Island Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 South Padre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.