We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Super 8 we've stayed in.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 South Padre Island to your Saves list
Super 8 South Padre Island
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4205 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Winnipeg MB
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Super 8 we've stayed in.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

As any advertiser knows, positive "word of mouth" comments are what any business strives for. Word of mouth keeps this motel full of Winter Texans every January and February. The winter rates are reasonable, the staff is friendly and efficient, and the management works very hard to keep everyone happy. This is the 10th or 11th year my wife and I have stayed here and the same people are here year after year. Given the many choices on the island, the very high return rate is proof positive of how enjoyable a stay one can have at this Super 8. If only the chain would hold other Super 8's to the same standard, Super 8 as a chain would have a far better reputation. This is not a Hilton or a Marriott but within its class (2-3 star) it is one of the best.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    84
    36
    29
    29
See reviews for
82
91
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breezy Point
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

As we have for the past 11 years we continue to come to the Super 8. The staff and management are the best. We always have a delightful time. There are many activities and there is a good breakfast and a happy hour every day. Friendly people and staff are very helpful. The rates are great and the rooms are clean. I would recommend this motel if you are coming to the island.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel was clean and comfortable. We had a nice room complete with table and chairs, couch, queen beds , fridge and microwave. Staff were friendly and helpful. The super continental breakfast was fairly standard. They also hosted a happy hour at 5:00 p.m. with popcorn, nachos, pop and wine. Our only issue was the morning noise. Luckily we planned to get up early anyway but the winter texans gather for their coffee by 6:30 and start talking then (if not before). The manager did apologize to us for the noise. We were located right next to the breakfast room.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in you might ask the front desk what is the best room for that
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregturcotte
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed over the MLK holiday. The property was very well kept. This may be the nicest hotel we've stayed at in this price range. The $25 per night pet fee almost knocked our rating down a notch. There was no protein on the free breakfast menu. In the wintertime, the hotel is full of snowbirds. The only difficulty with that is we had the room next to the breakfast area, which was full at 6:30 am. If you want to sleep in during the winter weekends, don't take an inside room. But the staff was very nice and everything looked great.

Room Tip: Room 300 is right by the front desk and breakfast room. It's very convenient, but also very loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great value for a stay on the Island. Room was clean, staff were friendly and helpful. Shower and bath tub we good. Bed was comfortable. Noise was minimal. Only down side was the hot tub was cold. Washer and dryer also functioned well. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 South Padre Island

Address: 4205 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 South Padre Island 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island
Super Eight South Padre Island
South Padre Island Super Eight
South Padre Island Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 South Padre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.