We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, nice hotel and happy hour too!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Save Saved
You added Super 8 South Padre Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 South Padre Island
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4205 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good price, nice hotel and happy hour too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel was clean and comfortable. We had a nice room complete with table and chairs, couch, queen beds , fridge and microwave. Staff were friendly and helpful. The super continental breakfast was fairly standard. They also hosted a happy hour at 5:00 p.m. with popcorn, nachos, pop and wine. Our only issue was the morning noise. Luckily we planned to get up early anyway but the winter texans gather for their coffee by 6:30 and start talking then (if not before). The manager did apologize to us for the noise. We were located right next to the breakfast room.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in you might ask the front desk what is the best room for that
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    83
    37
    28
    30
See reviews for
79
89
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gregturcotte
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed over the MLK holiday. The property was very well kept. This may be the nicest hotel we've stayed at in this price range. The $25 per night pet fee almost knocked our rating down a notch. There was no protein on the free breakfast menu. In the wintertime, the hotel is full of snowbirds. The only difficulty with that is we had the room next to the breakfast area, which was full at 6:30 am. If you want to sleep in during the winter weekends, don't take an inside room. But the staff was very nice and everything looked great.

Room Tip: Room 300 is right by the front desk and breakfast room. It's very convenient, but also very loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great value for a stay on the Island. Room was clean, staff were friendly and helpful. Shower and bath tub we good. Bed was comfortable. Noise was minimal. Only down side was the hot tub was cold. Washer and dryer also functioned well. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

South Padre Island is a possible winter retreat over Xmas vacation. Though cold snaps occur frequently, usually there are enough warm days to make a good Xmas vacation. By closely monitoring weather forecasts one can determine when to go. However, there are usually strong and unpleasant winds and the surf is too cold for swimming. Because of the weather liabilities winter is the off-season and hotel rates are attractive. Over the last decade I have vacationed 6 times at South Padre Island during Xmas vacation and the Super 8 is the only hotel I have returned to.
The Super 8 is an older hotel. It is typical of most lower priced properties in that it does not have much curb appeal. The hotel is non-smoking ( a real plus), and another plus is that this have a large number of cable channels. The rooms are all tile rather than carpet and with the problems with sand and mold this is another plus. Mainteance of the hotel is fair and the rooms are fairly clean.
The breakfast is better than in the past, but still below average. Occasionly a smoker is out in front of the room smoking so this fouls the air of nearby rooms. The management of the hotel gives the impression of trying to grub a few extra dollar from each guest. In my case I found that the reserving the room through the Super 8 number was cheaper than calling the hotel directly. Then they slip an extra $1.50 safe charge on my bill for a safe I never used. If I return to South Padre next Xmas I will consider this hotel, but there is a lot of competition on the island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blind River, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We were there this November and were very happy with the stay.
The property was well maintained. The room and breakfast area were clean.The included breakfast was great. Hot waffles were very tasty.
The bathtub drain pugged and was fixed almost immediately when we mentioned it.
Nice room and accomodating staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 South Padre Island

Address: 4205 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 South Padre Island 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island
Super Eight South Padre Island
South Padre Island Super 8
South Padre Island Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 South Padre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.