We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude front desk girls” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl South Padre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pearl South Padre to your Saves list
Pearl South Padre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly Sheraton South Padre Island Beach Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rude front desk girls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel lost our reservation. When I gave the front desk my confirmation number, they still couldn't find it. The girl at the front desk was rude to my husband and gave him attitude when he was asking simple questions. She seemed condescending and not customer service oriented. Not worth the money. Our housekeeper was friendly, but she was the only one.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa C, Director of Sales at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments, and we apologize for your experience. I have shared this with our Front Desk Manager and Director of Rooms, and we will be revisiting our standards to ensure the best customer service possible. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    181
    152
    105
    77
See reviews for
298
266
14
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I had stopped going here when this place was the Sheraton. We thought the Pearl as a new company would be better. The Sheraton had failed to use proper paint to control mold on the ceilings and apparently The Pearl has failed to do that as well as our room had visible mold on the ceiling. I waited for 2 hours to get a chirping smoke alarm replaced and never got it done. My wife just said it went off again the next day. Tile in our bathroom needed to be replaced and it looked moldy. The sink was was old and chipped. The beds down the hall were getting replaced down the hall but they never replaced ours even after we discovered urine stains on our mattress. We learned this when we were curious who made the bed. It just had a Made in China tag. I had called ahead to have a room on the north side that would allow my young son to see the fireworks Friday evening. I also blocked a room the morning of my stay telling them I wanted to see the fireworkds. When I checked in and went to the room I was concerned because the hotel across the way would have likely blocked our view of the fireworks I suspected. When I told the front desk this they were sure I would be able to see the fireworks. Sure enough, all we could see was a hue of fireworks around the hotel next door. Something I had gone to great lengths for my son to see from our balcony. When I informed the front desk about this after we had been disappointed they said you should have been able to see the fireworks. Same pathetic response. When I asked to see a manager. I spoke with Raul who seemed to listen but ultimately tried to say everything was subject to availability. I had made this special request to be on a side that people usually don't want to be on because they want to see the pool. Room availability was not an issue because I made this request before many people had arrived for a seminar that took up many of the rooms. I quickly reminded Raul that this was not at all a room availability issue but a management issue. These fireworks have been going on on Fridays for a long time. They should know that rooms on the east half of the building cannot see the Friday night fireworks and should not tell their staff to just give nonsense answers to guest in an attempt to placate them and send them on their way. This foolishness seems to continue out onto the pool where they hosed the sand into the pool and didn't vacuum it. Where the didn't wash pool towels until they ran out leaving long periods of time with no pool towels. These were the same type of complaints that came when this was the Sheraton. My phone would also not dial the front desk. When I told this to a butch looking maintenance worker in our hallway, she cut me off and told me I would have to tell that concern to the front desk. So I had to go down there and wait in line to do it. Their pool drink and food prices are ridiculously overpriced. I should have not thought a company name change would have changed the look and service of such an overpriced and tired hotel with awful service. Do yourself a favor and stay any place but this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa C, Director of Sales at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We truly apologize for the great inconvenience and experience during your stay. We have taken all of your points very seriously and will research the maintenance issues further. We have devised a care program which will maintain and detail each room on a rotation basis. This will catch all major and minor issues prior to check-in and prevent incidences such as this. Again, thank you so much for your comments. We will share with all of our department heads, and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had to wait half the day to check in.... no towels for the pool.... room was HORRIBLE... bathtub didn't drain..was given a double bed room when I booked a king months in advance.. and no one working there seemed happy to help anyone! checked out asap.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa C, Director of Sales at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your response. We are working to correct the issues you have mentioned as pool towels have been purchased, and a care program is in place for preventative maintenance. I have also shared your comments with our Front Desk Manager regarding the room type. Again, thank you for your feed back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed the last week of June at Pearl, it really is showing the lack of finances since ownership change and the condo project next door (same owners) is taking all the cash. If you enjoy making three or four trips to try to get towels because they don't have enough. If you don't mind not cleaning the pool each night. If you don't mind your room being cleaned every day around four or five in the afternoon. This place is for you. Make a week trip to South Padre each year will try something different next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa C, Director of Sales at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I have shared your comments with our senior management staff in all areas you have mentioned. We have since purchased pool towels to ensure that everyone is able to enjoy the amenity of fresh towels when requested.

The Pearl is not affiliated with the Sapphire Condos they are privately owned and rented through various rental agencies on the Island. Our Sapphire Spa is on the ground floor of that building, which is a great location for our guests.

Again, thank you for your comments and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We rented a condo here on the 10th floor that overlooked the beach. Our bathroom sink was broken (it leaked whenever we used it). The maintenance man said he couldn't fix it, so we had to move to another condo on the 8th floor. This condo was cleaner and better maintained. Later that night we found a massive roach crawling around the floor. After these initial setbacks, the rest of the trip was fine. The service was good, and the stay was comfortable. To sum it up, this place is nice, but certain aspects are lacking. I would say the biggest problem is upkeep on the rooms themselves.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa C, Director of Sales at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We truly apologize the experience during your stay. We have taken all of your points very seriously and will research the maintenance issues further. We have devised a care program which will maintain and detail each room on a rotation basis. This will catch all major and minor issues prior to check-in and prevent incidences such as this. Again, thank you so much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, Texas
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I should have read the terrible reviews before staying here. It was a last minute trip and didnt have time to look at reviews. Everything that people complained about was true. Water didnt drain so I didn't take a shower. I would have felt more dirty. The hotel smelled like mildew. The room service wasn't bad. The beds were old that you sank in. The only thing good is that its on the beach and the pool was nice. We checked out at midnight and went to the resort next door.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We rented the presidential suite on July 2, 2013 - July 6, 2013. When we arrived we had to wait in the lobby for over an hour because they needed to get "approval" before they could rent the suite. We ended up calling maintenance about 7pm due to the AC not working in 2 of the rooms. We were informed that there was nothing they could do until the morning. 2 of our teens as well as 2 members of the other family had to pile up on both couches and sleep because the rooms were so hot. My husband and I were in the master bedroom and discovered that the only water that came out of the faucet was scalding hot. When we turned the water on cold no water at all came out. We could not even take a bath in that room so we were down to 2 bathrooms for 5 adults and 4 children. The Jacuzzi was sitting on the balcony broken. There wasn't even water in it so it had apparently been broken for some time. When we asked for towels at the pool we were told that there would not be any towels available for over an hour. On the day of the 3rd while my 14 yr old was walking back to the room she was assaulted by a drunk belligerent 21 yr old woman who was later arrested. Not one person at that hotel even went to check on our daughter after being viciously attacked by a grown woman!!!! Their only concern was to get us out of the hotel so that we could not tell other guests what happened. PLEASE BE CAUTIONED!!!! This is not the place for a family. Their guests are drunk, classless, violent criminals and your children are at risk for violence if you take them to this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pearl South Padre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl South Padre

Address: 310 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly Sheraton South Padre Island Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pearl South Padre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the island's southern tip, the Pearl South Padre is a premier oceanfront resort for families and couples who want to experience tranquil views and soft sand beaches in South Texas. Warm rays of sunshine and tropical breezes await your arrival. From the moment you drive down the palm tree lined brick road and discover our lush landscaping and pristine beaches, you'll know why the Pearl South Padre is South Texas' "Best on the Beach" resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Pearl South Padre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
South Padre Island Sheraton
Sheraton South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl South Padre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.