We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pearl is showing its age and lack of finances” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl South Padre

Save Saved
You added Pearl South Padre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pearl South Padre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly Sheraton South Padre Island Beach Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Pearl is showing its age and lack of finances”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed the last week of June at Pearl, it really is showing the lack of finances since ownership change and the condo project next door (same owners) is taking all the cash. If you enjoy making three or four trips to try to get towels because they don't have enough. If you don't mind not cleaning the pool each night. If you don't mind your room being cleaned every day around four or five in the afternoon. This place is for you. Make a week trip to South Padre each year will try something different next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa C, Director of Sales at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I have shared your comments with our senior management staff in all areas you have mentioned. We have since purchased pool towels to ensure that everyone is able to enjoy the amenity of fresh towels when requested.

The Pearl is not affiliated with the Sapphire Condos they are privately owned and rented through various rental agencies on the Island. Our Sapphire Spa is on the ground floor of that building, which is a great location for our guests.

Again, thank you for your comments and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    160
    141
    95
    71
See reviews for
276
223
9
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We rented a condo here on the 10th floor that overlooked the beach. Our bathroom sink was broken (it leaked whenever we used it). The maintenance man said he couldn't fix it, so we had to move to another condo on the 8th floor. This condo was cleaner and better maintained. Later that night we found a massive roach crawling around the floor. After these initial setbacks, the rest of the trip was fine. The service was good, and the stay was comfortable. To sum it up, this place is nice, but certain aspects are lacking. I would say the biggest problem is upkeep on the rooms themselves.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa C, Director of Sales at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We truly apologize the experience during your stay. We have taken all of your points very seriously and will research the maintenance issues further. We have devised a care program which will maintain and detail each room on a rotation basis. This will catch all major and minor issues prior to check-in and prevent incidences such as this. Again, thank you so much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, Texas
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I should have read the terrible reviews before staying here. It was a last minute trip and didnt have time to look at reviews. Everything that people complained about was true. Water didnt drain so I didn't take a shower. I would have felt more dirty. The hotel smelled like mildew. The room service wasn't bad. The beds were old that you sank in. The only thing good is that its on the beach and the pool was nice. We checked out at midnight and went to the resort next door.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We rented the presidential suite on July 2, 2013 - July 6, 2013. When we arrived we had to wait in the lobby for over an hour because they needed to get "approval" before they could rent the suite. We ended up calling maintenance about 7pm due to the AC not working in 2 of the rooms. We were informed that there was nothing they could do until the morning. 2 of our teens as well as 2 members of the other family had to pile up on both couches and sleep because the rooms were so hot. My husband and I were in the master bedroom and discovered that the only water that came out of the faucet was scalding hot. When we turned the water on cold no water at all came out. We could not even take a bath in that room so we were down to 2 bathrooms for 5 adults and 4 children. The Jacuzzi was sitting on the balcony broken. There wasn't even water in it so it had apparently been broken for some time. When we asked for towels at the pool we were told that there would not be any towels available for over an hour. On the day of the 3rd while my 14 yr old was walking back to the room she was assaulted by a drunk belligerent 21 yr old woman who was later arrested. Not one person at that hotel even went to check on our daughter after being viciously attacked by a grown woman!!!! Their only concern was to get us out of the hotel so that we could not tell other guests what happened. PLEASE BE CAUTIONED!!!! This is not the place for a family. Their guests are drunk, classless, violent criminals and your children are at risk for violence if you take them to this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

So I just came back from South Padre Island, Texas. I was there to relax and meet up with family and traveled with my brothers and parents. Value is good. We had a condo on the 12th floor overlooking the pool, and beach with 2 bed rooms, a kitchen, a living room (w/pullout couch bed) and a large balcony. Overall you can fit up to 8 people. The rooms were very clean.
Pool was nice and spacious and had a swim up bar. The water was a perfect temperature. It's not deep going 4 1/2 ft the deepest and up to like 2 1/2 feet the shallowest. There's a separate pool for the little ones with a frog slide. Towels have to be rented at the pool and returned in order to get fresh towels. Plenty of things to do around the area and steps from the beach.
My mom who is an avid gym goer did not like the gym. She thought it was very cheaply done and there were not enough machines to work out in.
The staff was extremely nice but there always seemed to be a shortage of pool towels so in some cases we had to reuse our wet towels. I don't know what it was but my guess is is that they had an extreme shortage of towels than there were guests. In some cases it took an hour to get new towels.

Pros: close proximity to the beach, pool, staff, rooms, close proximity to Schlitterbahn Water Park and the only causeway on and off the island.

Cons: Always a shortage of pool and gym towels, replacements of low shampoo, gym

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was our first time to visit South Padre and we visited Pearl in the middle of June. It was not crowded at all. The first thing I noticed when we pulled up was the valet service. They were very helpful and always courteous. The lobby was very clean and mopped numerous times a day. Overall, it was a very clean hotel.
We were upgraded to the one bedroom condo. If I would have known how awesome it was, I would have rented it outright in the first place! It was on the very top floor with amazing views of the ocean and the bay. We had a huge balcony and a separate bedroom There were two bathrooms which helped out immensely since we had two kids. The condo also included a pull out sofa. Our room had a full kitchen and separate dining area also.
We used the pools a lot. Our little ones didn't enjoy the salt water taste so we were there majority of the time. There is a hot tub, a separate kiddie pool, and a swim up bar that had nice temperate water. Not to mention, a big boardwalk down to the ocean equipped with a shower at the end to wash sand off. I would highly recommend bringing a little net and flashlight with you on your trip. The kids had so much fun catching the little ghost crabs at night scuttling around on the beach. Its the perfect thing to do to wear them out at the end of the night.
The hotel did offer babysitting services and also a day camp for the kids if you wanted to have time to yourself. There is also a spa next door which was a 10 second walk from the boardwalk. The restaurant food was awesome and the prices were reasonable.
I will say that you need to really research where you go to eat outside of the hotel restaurant. We went to Big Daddys Cajun Restaurant, and our food was all sorts of awful. My crawfish was rubber and our cheese fries also came across as plastic-like. Even the kids mac and cheese was gross.
On the bright side, we found this little gem of a restaurant right across the causeway. It is called Joes Oyster Bar. Everything is SO FRESH and the service is great. They had the best oysters I have ever eaten in my life. No joke. Another good restaurant was Louie's. It is in Padre on the bayside. It was a neat little spot with an all-you-can-eat seafood feast. )(*** On certain nights, the hotel has all you can eat seafood feasts as well.)We had lots of crablegs. For breakfast if you choose not to do room service (which is so convenient), please please go eat at Yummies. It is a half mile down the street and it is wonderful! We went multiple times. The specialty coffee was amazing and so was all the cooked to order pancakes and biscuits. It makes IHOP look like Dennys.
Anyway, I would highly recommend anyone to stay here. I was beyond impressed. There was one night where we wanted a late night snack but it was right at 11 when room service stopped. An employee was walking down the hall and said that he would put an order in real quick for us. We were completely catered to the whole stay and saw nothing but endearing friendly employees. Awesome hotel, awesome people and I cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have been traveling to this property for 20+ years and I am sad to say that it has not improved for the better since changing over to the Pearl. The location is great and property is fairly well maintained but the service, food and staff are below what it should be for this price level. You are better off renting a condo or house on the island.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pearl South Padre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl South Padre

Address: 310 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly Sheraton South Padre Island Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pearl South Padre 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the island's southern tip, the Pearl South Padre is a premier oceanfront resort for families and couples who want to experience tranquil views and soft sand beaches in South Texas. Warm rays of sunshine and tropical breezes await your arrival. From the moment you drive down the palm tree lined brick road and discover our lush landscaping and pristine beaches, you'll know why the Pearl South Padre is South Texas' "Best on the Beach" resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Pearl South Padre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
South Padre Island Sheraton
Sheraton South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl South Padre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.